We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Santa Teresa
Post
Inbox
Search

“My go to place for delicious chicken in ST!”
Review of Chicken Joe's

Chicken Joe's
Ranked #10 of 122 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Relaxed beach food restaurant serving rotisserie chicken ,tacos ,ceviche and other items with a Peruvian flare .
Reviewed January 26, 2019 via mobile

The 2 piece meal with an extra side and sauce is what we enjoy. It's delicious for our family of 3 to share as a lunch and have leftovers too. The sauces are tasty and the potato salad is my husband's favorite ever! My daughter eats the rice and beans from here for days! Always friendly people with a smile! Thanks!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank froggy2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 408 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2019

We never would have stopped at Chicken Joe's if it hadn't been recommended by a local. After all--Chicken Joe's ??-- in Costa Rica? The chicken was amazing and the yucca fries were just as amazing. They also have wonderful sauces. We ate there one night and called for take-out another night. What is just as amazing as the taste is the price. It costs almost as much to buy chicken at the grocery store--and it's raw--you still have to cook it. Don't fall for the "best tacos" sign--just order the chicken.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank illrepute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2019

Milo was always cheerful and friendly and took the time to chat with us. Loved the loma saltado and the 1/4 chicken. They advertise the best fish tacos but the jury is out on that one.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Zac F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019

Pretty good roasted chicken, the best we have had in town so far, and the best ceviche ever. Ceviche has a really nice spicy ness to it since they use ginger, and the chicken is reallly tender. Picnic table seating outdoors. They dont take credit cards, and will only give your 570 colones the dollar, so plan ahead. Chicken dinner for 4 comes with two sides and soda, we chose rice and beans which were giant portions and also added fries which was a regular size portion. That plus four beers cost about $65 US, and we left with enough rice, beans and chicken for a small lunch the next day. Staff was really friendly. Costa Rica is no longer any kind of a value play, as all meal, hotels and activities cost as much or more than they would in the US.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Denver1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2019 via mobile

Nando’s of Santa Teresa! Half or quarter chicken? Which aides and which sauces? Great selection of sides and sauces and fantastically succulent chicken. Quick and friendly service.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 307TomL307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicken Joe's also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Chicken Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing