We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a low maintenance getaway.”
Review of Villas Solar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villas Solar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I stayed at Villas Solar with my boyfriend for a relaxing, resort-free vacation, but yet the amenities of a true vacation. We didn't want to have to work for anything, but we didn't want to be on a resort with annoying games in the pools, etc. etc. We had an amazing time at Villas Solar. The owner was an amazingly gracious host and easily accessible. He had tons of advice to offer on the area and loads of connections. He even set me up with an amazing massage, where the therapist came to the Villa and gave me a massage in the privacy of the back patio of the Villa. All I could hear were the noises of nature. The Villa was so close to the beach, just a 3 minute walk across the street, so you could go early in the morning before it got too hot to be on the beach. Renting Quads to explore the areas around Santa Teresa would be ideal, because it is kind of hard to walk everywhere, but it IS possible. The caretakers of the home were gracious and stayed out of your way, so you had so much privacy. When we stayed there, we were the only people at Villas Solar. We felt completely safe, and taken care of. The place was immaculate, totally clean and had a really beachy feel to it. It was spacious and cool (the AC ran really well whenever you would want it to). The property was beautifully landscaped in the back with a view of the jungle like you would never see anywhere else.

I would 100% recommend this property to anyone else, knowing that you are not going into a resort. There are tons of restaurants in town nearby and activities to do. We rented quads and took a trip to the waterfall at Montezuma which was easily the best part of the trip. Watching the sunset from the beach with a bottle of wine was also a great part of being so close to the beach.

Between the gorgeous Villas, the gracious owner and caretakers, the amount of security, the close proximity to town and activities, it was the best place I've ever stayed on vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dfigurito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 142 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2011

The villas are very nice and comfortable, also have a great location close to the beach and best surf spots.
I definitly recomended!
Pura Vida, Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lans09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

"We are a family of four and are well traveled. I read reviews myself and value them when making my travel plans so I hope you will too when reading this. Villa Solar is an extraordinary find. The owner (Greg) has taken great pride in his place. Right across the street from arguably one of the best surfing spots in the world (Brunella) Villa Solar was a really good find for us. His property is new and pristine (very unlike most all the other places we looked at). The grounds butt right up next to a beautiful jungle view while drop dead gorgeous Playa Carmen is right across the street. Yes the air conditioning was wonderful, yes the place was spacious very nicely done, but more than that, it's not just another great rental property. Every single suggestion Greg made was spot on for our family. From perfect surf breaks, to excellent restaurant choices (with views to die for and at a good price), to some of the best fishing I have ever had in my life. My son and I caught 230lbs of Tuna thanks to Greg's contacts with one of the seasoned local fisherman...(steering us away from the rediculous prices trourists get gnabbed for when going sports fishing). Greg was there helping us with any questions we had making our Costa Rica experience a lifetime memory. We give Villa Solar two stongs thumbs way up. Thanks Greg, -The Tamplins"

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennyT29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Christa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Fabiana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villassolarst, Owner at Villas Solar, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Buenos Aires
Hotel Buenos Aires
#4 of 27 in Santa Teresa
280 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#17 of 27 in Santa Teresa
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fuego Lodge
Fuego Lodge
#2 of 30 in Santa Teresa
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Solar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Solar

Address: Behind Plaza Solar, Across From Brunellas, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $78 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Solar 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Solar is a collection of 4 rentals just steps away from the fantastic surf of Santa Teresa beach. Located in the heart of ST, these rentals are close to restaurants and shops, everything in walking distance. All with AC, hotwater, wifi, secure parking, onsite caretaker, queen sized beds, full kitchen, safe boxes, and private patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Villas Solar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Solar Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing