We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location”
Review of Villas Solar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Solar
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome location”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at Villa Almendro and were super happy with the place. It is clean, safe and centrally located. It is right across from the beach, close to great restaurants and surf shops. We were able to cook a lot of our meals. It has a nice inner courtyard for parking and just hanging out. Santa Teresa was one of our favorite places on our two week trip through Costa Rica and Villa Solar added to our delight.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
35
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Villas Solar for 2 weeks in villa Almendro. It was definitely a trip to remember in a good way! The villas are excellent, close to everything including beach with epic waves, coffee shops, restaurants, supermarket, and yoga! Secure parking and and very friendly caretakers. Greg the owner is awesome and was very helpful in recommending restaurants even helping us plan our trip back to the city. The rooms were super clean and were even cleaned during our stay. There are AC units in the bedrooms and living room, free wifi, and everything you would need in the kitchen to cook a great meal. We really enjoyed hanging out on the patio after a long day at the beach relaxing in the hammocks. All in all I don't think there is a better place to stay than Villa Solar and we will definitely go back there. Would love to move there some day!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KariPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Islip, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Our stay at the Villars Solar was a fantastic experience.The place is bright,clean and very comfortable.Located at the center of Santa Teresa the Villas were near the beach,cafes and shops.The owners and caretakers became like family by the end of our stay.I am already recommending it to people. We will definitly be back!!!!

Steve & Crystal
Long Island, NY

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Me and 5 girlfriends stayed in Villa almedro for a week and it was simply amazing!! Villa solar is in a perfect location, and within a really small walking distance to supermarket, restaurants and the beach. Everything was clean and in great conditions, they even clean our apartment twice in the week. Also the communication is awesome with the owner, before during and after the stay. I will definitely come back to villa solar!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naniaguero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

In the best location one minute awey from the great surfing beach in santa teresa the owner will give you full attention to all you will need or ask the rooms got everything you might need from kitchen and wi fi to surfboard holder its all there really nice and cleen one of the better one in costa ...

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Villa Alemendro and Villas Solar was a great for our family vacation. Great communication before, during, and after our stay. Newly constructed and in great shape. Great AC in all rooms when you need a break from the heat. Right next to the beach. Also, some additional conveniences within walking distance. I recommend staying here and would stay again if I come back to Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylarmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I stayed at Villas Solar with my boyfriend for a relaxing, resort-free vacation, but yet the amenities of a true vacation. We didn't want to have to work for anything, but we didn't want to be on a resort with annoying games in the pools, etc. etc. We had an amazing time at Villas Solar. The owner was an amazingly gracious host and easily accessible. He had tons of advice to offer on the area and loads of connections. He even set me up with an amazing massage, where the therapist came to the Villa and gave me a massage in the privacy of the back patio of the Villa. All I could hear were the noises of nature. The Villa was so close to the beach, just a 3 minute walk across the street, so you could go early in the morning before it got too hot to be on the beach. Renting Quads to explore the areas around Santa Teresa would be ideal, because it is kind of hard to walk everywhere, but it IS possible. The caretakers of the home were gracious and stayed out of your way, so you had so much privacy. When we stayed there, we were the only people at Villas Solar. We felt completely safe, and taken care of. The place was immaculate, totally clean and had a really beachy feel to it. It was spacious and cool (the AC ran really well whenever you would want it to). The property was beautifully landscaped in the back with a view of the jungle like you would never see anywhere else.

I would 100% recommend this property to anyone else, knowing that you are not going into a resort. There are tons of restaurants in town nearby and activities to do. We rented quads and took a trip to the waterfall at Montezuma which was easily the best part of the trip. Watching the sunset from the beach with a bottle of wine was also a great part of being so close to the beach.

Between the gorgeous Villas, the gracious owner and caretakers, the amount of security, the close proximity to town and activities, it was the best place I've ever stayed on vacation.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dfigurito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
565 reviews
0.0 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 26 in Santa Teresa
506 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nautilus Boutique Hotel
Nautilus Boutique Hotel
#4 of 27 in Santa Teresa
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Solar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Solar

Property: Villas Solar
Address: Behind Plaza Solar, Across From Brunellas, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Solar is a collection of 4 rentals just steps away from the fantastic surf of Santa Teresa beach. Located in the heart of ST, these rentals are close to restaurants and shops, everything in walking distance. All with AC, hotwater, wifi, secure parking, onsite caretaker, queen sized beds, full kitchen, safe boxes, and private patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Villas Solar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Solar Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing