We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing time in an amazing place”
Review of Playa Cielo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Cielo
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We were lucky enough to stumble upon Playa Cielo while going to every hotel and trying to find a room along the beachfront. The driveway was innocuous, but we decided to see what was there. It turned out to be one of the best decisions of our vacation. The property was gorgeous and had immaculately maintained grounds that surrounded it. You felt as if you were somewhere completely different within 50 feet after turning off of the road from Mal Pais.

3 small "villas" flowed down to a gorgeous pool that was steps from the beach. Each of the villas had an amazing view of the garden, pool and all the way down to the coast. Inside of the villas was just as good. The amazingly comfortable 4 poster bed looks out onto a porch that continues to the views. A small kitchenette provides a place for your beers and space to make small meals. The bathroom is beautifully tiled, with the best part - an outdoor shower that "indoors." The porch has a comfortable hammock perfect for viewing the beach and pool, and reading books in the sun. A small table outside provides the perfect place to eat the wonderful bread and fresh croissants you get for breakfast. The pool has comfortable chairs and umbrellas for lounging, and the beach entrance leads you to a surfing beach to the left or a smaller more "swimmable" beach on the right, both with plenty of sun, shells, and shade. This is what my boyfriend and I enjoyed the most - each day, we went to the beach, read, went swimming, took a small break to cool off in the pool, and then came back for the sunset. Truly a relaxing time.

This property was a find, and we were lucky to find it so soon after it had opened. The pictures and descriptions don't give enough of what the property is really like- you should truly see it for yourself. Everything was impeccable and beautiful, from the gorgeous flowers tucked in the towels, to the hammock, the granite in the bathroom, to the feather pillows on the bed. The owner, Sol, was charming and always helpful in his recommendations for something to do or where to eat. Whatever he says, trust him! We had one of our best meals ever on his word. Yum. I hope to go back here sometime, but for now, I'll tell everyone they SHOULD be here because there is no reason not to enjoy it. Perhaps if you're the type that needs a spa, concierge, restaurant, and constant contact with the outside world, maybe you won't be impressed. But vacation is a vacation and it's time to relax and enjoy...and I recommend this property as the place to do that.

Lastly, the Mal Pais area is beautiful, but you don't need to fill your time with expensive activities or tours. Enjoy the beaches, the sunsets, and the food and you can have a great time. I only wish we could have stayed more than 3 days here...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katina02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 256 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank tbrouwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank luisalaemmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: si busca servicio no vaya a este hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RosaDomingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank Macajuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaCieloResort, Manager at Playa Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anais H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaCieloResort, Manager at Playa Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
Thank Alexandre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
598 reviews
2 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 27 in Santa Teresa
207 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#14 of 27 in Santa Teresa
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
344 reviews
1 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Buenos Aires
Hotel Buenos Aires
#4 of 27 in Santa Teresa
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Cielo

Address: Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $150 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning, luxurious private villas, each with an open sky shower, a kitchenette and outdoor sitting area, tucked in a lush tropic garden. Outdoor, beachfront chemical-free swimming pool with lounge chairs and hammocks on the beach, for the utmost relaxing atmosphere and the best sunset view. Restaurant onsite. Centrally located to supermarkets and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Cielo Hotel Santa Teresa
Playa Cielo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing