We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going to Santa Teresa? This is where you should stay...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Playa Cielo
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Going to Santa Teresa? This is where you should stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was the second stop for my wife and I on our honeymoon. Despite the rough ride in to Santa Teresa, Playa Cielo made it worthwhile. Our casita was amazing! The windows looked out towards the beach...we could easily leave the doors open and listen to the sound of the waves crashing along the shore. The casita was quite romantic. I was a huge fan of the open air shower, as well as the large patio area with 2 hammocks. The beach directly in front was a little rocky...but you could easily walk for miles in both directions. At times, it was like my wife and I had the beach to ourselves (granted it was the start of the low season, but still). The grounds were well kept. And it was really cool seeing two of the owners (Adele and Ety - sorry if I misspell the names) while we were out and about each day. They always made sure to ask how everything was and if we needed anything. I read about other places in Santa Teresa and guests complained about the difficulty with just being able to talk to someone on staff. That was not the case here! If you are looking for a romantic getaway, I highly recommend staying at Playa Cielo.

The restaurant onsite (Habanero) served some delicious dishes...but I'll be reviewing that separately =)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    15
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
61
124
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week in November and had a wonderful and relaxing time. The casitas are beautiful and the one we stayed in (Mariposa) had a great view of the ocean. I loved spending time on the patio relaxing and gazing at the ocean and beautifully landscaped garden. This was our second time in the area and we opted to take the plane ride from San Jose to Tambor rather than the 6 hour drive we took the first time. If it is your first time in the area the car ride lets you see the country side, but we much preferred the quick plane ride. I would definitely recommend taking surfing lessons, renting quads, and going to Montezuma to hike the water fall and do the canopy tour. All of the food in the area is fantastic as well, including the onsite restaurant. I feel this place is a very good value for being right on the ocean. We hope to be back some day!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We flew to Tambor (close to Santa Teresa) from the Arenal Airstrip after staying at The Four Seasons. It was the perfect end to our vacation! You will not be disappointed if you decide to stay here. We felt so lucky when we arrived at Playa Cielo. The grounds are beautiful, the people are kind, the food is delicious, the ocean is fierce, the beach is soft, the drinks are tasty, the rooms are relaxing, the outdoor shower is fun. Obviously, we enjoyed our stay and were truly able to relax in paradise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtenay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I can't say enough great things about Playa Cielo, the owners and employees! We stayed for a week in April and enjoyed every minute. The villas are awesome (El Tucan has the best view/location), very comfortable, and we loved having the mini kitchen. We loved relaxing in the hammocks on the porch. The staff (especially Etti - sp?) are amazing! She checked in with us everyday and booked anything we needed and gave advice on restaurants, etc.The owners, Sol and Adele, are SO friendly and kind and were there everyday. They also helped on recommendations. The restaurant, Habaneros, was the best food we had and the location can't be beat. Their food and drinks (margaritas were the best!) were wonderful and so nice to be able to charge to our room. The restaurant employees were great as well!
We had such a great time, we didn't want to leave. Don't think twice, book Playa Cielo!

Room Tip: El Tucan has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAH_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I reviewed all of the accommodations (at length) in Santa Teresa, and Playa Cielo was definitely the best choice. What makes Playa Cielo special is a combination of several elements, any one of which would be a highlight at most properties. Quaint, nice villas, good vibes, gracious hospitality, love the location, fabulous laid-back restaurant on the beach.. just our style. Each villa is it's own private retreat. The grounds are covered with flora and fauna the likes of which you seldom see. They have a great beach front restaurant with an exquisite menu and top shelf bar (get the tuna appetizer!). The restaurant is perfect in either your bathing suit or getting dressed up. And the beach front has an amazing rock formation that transforms with the tides, hiding and revealing tidal pools. We will absolutely return to Playa Cielo!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mich_ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days in April and we loved it! All of the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and generally very welcoming. Adele and Sol are lovely people who always have time to stop and chat. We stayed with 2 young kids (3 and 1) and this place was just perfect - the rooms were spacious and had a little kitchenette with fridge and hob, there was a table and chairs outside as well as a lovely sofa to sit and watch the waves, the little playground kept the kids entertained and they loved the pool. The hotel has direct access to a beautiful beach where they could play in the rock pools at low tide. Habanero, the hotel restaurant, is a great asset - food is good, drinks are great and its a lovely place to just chill at the end of the day while the kids watch the crabs on the beach! I also had a massage in the spa which was just amazing! We cant wait to visit here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Toucan which has a direct view of the beach - amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynsey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We arrived in Santa Teresa at night, cleaned up and headed over to Habanero's (restaurant at Playa Cielo) upon a recommendation. We immediatly fell in love Playa Cielo! Dinner was fantastic (tons of food!) and we ended up stopping by Habanero's the next day for drinks and ceviche while walking the beach around lunch time.

As great as our first hotel was, we wanted to be right on the beach, not across the street, for my girlfriend's birthday. There is just something special about walking out of your door and being on the beach instead gathering all your stuff up and walking it across the street and down a dusty alley to be on the beach. You dont have to worry about your stuff being stolen and you have chairs and drinks and a pool all right at Playa Cielo.

We got lucky and they had one spot open, a 2 bed/ 2 bath villa that Sol and Adelle (owners) were gracious enought to rent to us on short notice. The place was AMAZING!! Super clean, a/c was fantastic, bed felt like heaven, outdoor showers were awesome. We were very happy with our choice to move over to Playa Cielo.

Sol and Adelle gave us free drinks on my girlfriend's birthday and they made ceviche from a fish we caught while on a trip with Alvero's Tours that morning, and we got a couple's massage on the beach, that we both thought was the best massage we've ever had.

Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend Playa Cielo. great price for being on the beach! Take note that other hotels claim to be "on the beach" or "steps away from beach" and are not on the beach at all. Playa Cielo is on the playa, my friends!

Room Tip: Two villas are the closest to the ocean and you can see straight out the doors to the waves. The tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.0 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Cielo

Property: Playa Cielo
Address: Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning, luxurious private villas, each with an open sky shower, a kitchenette and outdoor sitting area, tucked in a lush tropic garden. Outdoor, beachfront chemical-free swimming pool with lounge chairs and hammocks on the beach, for the utmost relaxing atmosphere and the best sunset view. Restaurant onsite. Centrally located to supermarkets and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Playa Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Cielo Hotel Santa Teresa
Playa Cielo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing