We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic vacation”
Review of Playa Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Playa Cielo
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Warren, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Fantastic vacation”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was my second trip to the Santa Teresa area and my first stay at the Playa Cielo. I only wish I had found this place earlier. I traveled with my wife and two daughters (13 and 9) and everyone had a great time. Sol and Adele were wonderful hosts and made sure we had everything we needed. The grounds are beautifully maintained and our villa was always kept clean. The little things they did were nice, like always having clean towels for the shower and beach, a beautiful, fresh fruit plate every morning, and help with whatever we needed. The Habanero restaurant was not only very convenient, but also very tasty. The location of the hotel is perfect. We like to surf and one of the best breaks is a 50 yard walk south on the beach, so it's very easy to get in as many sessions as you can take. The kids had a ball at low tide exploring the many tide pools. All of the restaurants and other beaches are easy to get to, however, I recommend renting an SUV to get around, as you will have a lot more fun this way. I really can't say enough about what a great time we had. I can only look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: villa #4 is only six months old and has 2 master bedroom suites.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mdad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    15
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
64
129
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our whole family found something unique to love about Playa Cielo. The entire staff was always available and helped to organize and make our two weeks perfect. It's very rare that you find a place this special.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCLorenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

There is no doubt that the setting and accommodations at this hotel are among the most beautiful in the world. And since there are only 4 guest houses, the attention you receive from the staff is plentiful. The beach is gorgeous and the pool is pleasant enough. Santa Theresa is what it is....a surfing village. The dust, the heat, and the difficulty driving might be a bummer for those who are not there to surf.
A couple of complaints about the hotel though. The restaurant is mediocre at best. We stayed two nights and had a rather unpleasant experience at the restaurant, which is too bad because it is the ideal setting right on the beach. But the music was too loud, the omnipresence of barking dogs and a table of 7 or 8 six year old girls made us feel like we were intruders at someone's house party rather than guests at a hotel.
A platter of fruit was delivered every morning. Delicious and very welcome! The hammock and porch are perfect for relaxation.
Overall though, a beautiful hotel and a very comfortable and relaxing stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I normally don't write reviews but this place must be notable as a perfect getaway destination.
This is my 3rd consecutive year in Santa Teresa. I couldn't find any reason to choose a different hotel. The proximity to the ocean, one of the best surf point, the rooms, design, landscape, amenities and Habanero restaurant all made me go back every year.
I think the price is reasonable and justified (I have looked in many other places).
Hope to come back again next year!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelegny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I can't begin to describe the beauty and tranquility and service at Playa Cielo. We returned to Costa Rica for our 3rd time, our 2nd stay at Playa Cielo and it exceeded all expectations, even on the perfect last visit. This jungle paradise nestled into the trees yet with the beach at your doorstep is a place not to be missed should you explore Santa Teresa. It is not only homely, classy and chic, it is rustic, real and full of smiles and joy. I can not find a button to recommend PC highly enough. I visited many other hotels in the area, and none come close to the welcoming and comfort I felt with Adele and Shlomi and their gorgeous helpful staff at Playa Cielo! Love you guys and miss you and am returning in June! Besos Babies! xxx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed for five nights at this lovely beach front cabana style accommodation. The other reviewers were quite accurate in describing the grounds and cabanas. The location is perfect - right in the middle of santa Teresa. A small grocery store is within walking distance, however, having a car is suggested for even slightly further distances...it is HOT for walking and that main road is not pleasant! I love this area and have visited several times, but I cannot get used to that dusty road!

But I digress...it was wonderful to be able to walk down to the beach so easily..as others have said, the best swimming is to the left or right...about a 5 to 10 minute walk. The tide pools are fun at low tide though!

The outdoor showers are spectacular! Huge and clean with good water pressure. The large terraces were perfect for getting out of the sun and enjoying a sunset drink.

A few negatives for me; I really hated the plastic mattress protectors! I get their utility, but they are so noisy and sweaty! How about putting a nice, soft mattress pad on top? A good reading light on each side of the bed would be great as well. I do recognize that this is not a 'hotel' type accommodation, but it might be nice to have some info in the rooms ( how to connect to wi fi, list of restaurants, emergency numbers, etc,). While the staff were friendly, it was not always easy to find people or get information quickly. When you only have a short time,you do t want to waste it! Finally, for some reason, I thought this was 'adults only', not so. There were a lot of kids! Children of other guests as well as children of the staff. One day I counted about 6 in the pool! I avoided the pool in general, largely for this reason. I always enjoy the sound of the monkeys and birds while in CR, but this trip the sounds of the jungle were frequently interrupted by a screaming child. No one's fault of course, but my tolerance for this is pretty low...if you want to have a more quiet, adult atmosphere, this may not be the best choice! That said, perhaps it's just luck and timing...sometimes it might be only honeymooners! Overall, this is a great property and would definitely be worth a return visit ( if I could get around the kid thing). ;)

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank hollydaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I recently stayed at Playa Cielo, with two other friends. We had a fantastic time and was blown away by the accommodation and the location close to the beach. The restaurant was equally as good- fresh Mexican seafood and steaks that would melt in your mouth. I have been to Mal Pais and stayed in many Hotels, Playa Cielo is by far the best. I am also booking up for next year!

Room Tip: There all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
557 reviews
2.0 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
235 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Cielo

Property: Playa Cielo
Address: Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning, luxurious private villas, each with an open sky shower, a kitchenette and outdoor sitting area, tucked in a lush tropic garden. Outdoor, beachfront chemical-free swimming pool with lounge chairs and hammocks on the beach, for the utmost relaxing atmosphere and the best sunset view. Restaurant onsite. Centrally located to supermarkets and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Playa Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Cielo Hotel Santa Teresa
Playa Cielo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing