We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, fantastic restaurant, and wonderful people!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Cielo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Playa Cielo
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location, fantastic restaurant, and wonderful people!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My friends and I found the this restaurant/hotel by accident one day. This seems to be the way the you find the best spots in Costa Rica, forget about your map and ask someone if you get too confused, Pura Vida! We were just trying to find a nice place to hang out on the beach in Santa Teresa. My fiance was hungry so we stopped for lunch and stayed until well after the sun went down. The hotel was booked but I will recommend this place to all of my friends. Go for the sunset but stay for the delicious margaritas and the good people. We tried all of the special margaritas that they offered that day, my favorite was the guanabana (I think that was how it was spelled). . . although the passion fruit was good too . . so was the pineapple-jalepeno!! The food was delicious and made with extra love! The owners and staff were exceptionally nice and outgoing. I highly recommend checking this place out if you are ever in the area!

Room Tip: The rooms are all separate cabinas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryBobo711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
55
105
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This hotel was fantastic!! The staff is amazing, so friendly and welcoming. The room was my favorite part, this was the first hotel where we did not want to leave the room. Each guests has their own villa.....it has full kitchen, king bed, amazing shower, and big porch.. we loved it. The hotel restaurant was soo yummy! It was our favorite food that we ate then entire time in Santa Teresa. The chef and his wife are lovely people. The hotel is right on the beach... sitting in the pool watching the sunset over the ocean and drinking their amazing margarita's was the best places to relax and enjoy. Thanks playa Cielo!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The Habanero restaurant at Playa Ciela is so good and the food, drinks and service top end. The first day we even thought the prices were too good - and yes - the day after the raise the prices, but we went back, and went back. Niki made us feel very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Our stay at Playa Cielo was pretty well perfect from top to bottom. The owners, Adele and Sol have put there hearts and souls into Playa Cielo and it shows in every conceivable way from the staff, the design of the villas, landscaping...etc. Pretty well every morning started out walking on the beach with our favorite dog Bambi, a small german shepherd owned by the grounds keeper Parfiddio. After our walk we would return to find our breakfast waiting for us on our patio, yummy:-) To our surprise Playa Cielo just opened a beach front restaurant, what more could you ask for. Location is very good as you are close to all the local shops including grocery stores which we hit very often to cook some of our own meals. ATV's is the way to go so explore explore explore but wear a bandana for the dusty roads. Thanks Plays Cielo

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The new Habenero is some of the best mexican I have ever had. Had a great special of Lobster with Chipotle cream sauce, to die for. Staff and new Chef Gary and his wife Nikki make it so special as well. A must for great seafood with a fusion Mexican flare!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RP0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My family of four spent Thanksgiving 2011 at Playa Cielo. This property is gorgeous! We stayed in one villa and had plenty of room and felt very safe. We especially loved the outdoor shower, hammocks, fresh fruit and rolls in the morning. Our stay there could not have been better. The owners, Adele and Sol, are so accomodating and helpful with activities and restaurant suggestions. We also loved thier adorable daughters and dogs. Everyone who works there makes you feel welcome. My son surfs and he was able to take a short walk to a great spot. We spent hours exploring the beach, but there are many other activities to keep you busy if you want to do more like zip lines, horseback riding, and surf lessons. We will be back! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina15_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My husband and I recently spent the week before Christmas at Paya Cielo. The bungalows were perfect. We spent a fair amount of time just lounging around on the patio in the hammocks and seating area either before or after the days activities. While there we did zip-lining in Montezuma, horse back riding, surf lessons etc.all arranged by the hotel. We also managed to sample a fair amount of places to eat in town as well as Playa Cielo's new restaurant.

We had a great time and will certainly be back. I am a little bit picky about accommodation but would recommend this without hesitation.

Room Tip: All three looked excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CloverGjertsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
2.0 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#10 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#15 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Cielo

Property: Playa Cielo
Address: Main Street, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning, luxurious private villas, each with an open sky shower, a kitchenette and outdoor sitting area, tucked in a lush tropic garden. Outdoor, beachfront chemical-free swimming pool with lounge chairs and hammocks on the beach, for the utmost relaxing atmosphere and the best sunset view. Restaurant onsite. Centrally located to supermarkets and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Playa Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Cielo Hotel Santa Teresa
Playa Cielo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing