We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Winner”
Review of Hotel Meli Melo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Meli Melo
Ranked #5 of 33 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vermontville, New York
1 review
“A Real Winner”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This little spot is a gem, within a gem of a town. Clean, cozy, close to all your needs for the ideal surf excursion. Melanie and Frederic strike just the right balance between friendly and helpful, yet discreet and relaxed. Melanie was clear and knowledgeable about local connections, and Frederic adds the dimension of experienced waterman with the touch of a surf ninja. Together they set the tone, and the guests the place attracts resonate with the Pura Vida vibe.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank BLane3568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
90
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were supposed to stay at meli melo for 3 days, and we finally stay for 2 weeks !!! This hotel is magical, so close to the best beach in town, very comfy beds, clean room, nice setting. The kitchen is always clean and well equipped. Melanie and Frederic are so nice and helpful, it was a real pleasure to meet such nice people. They also have lovely and adorable animals, the first day Chico the dog, show us the beach access and then follow us every day for a bath. You have on site surfboard rentals, surf lessons, bicycles and melanie can reserved for you all activities you want to do with the special advices..keep the secret with you !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luciafriii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthtowan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Meli Melo is the ideal place to stay for both surf and for experiencing everything the Nicoya Peninsula has to offer. The rooms are nice and always cool and clean, you can lay in a hammock and listen to the Howler monkeys in the surrounding jungle or walk to beach in 2 minutes and score your choice of banks at Playa Santa Teresa. Melanie and Fred will do anything to make your trip the best it can be...... me and my girlfriend stayed for two weeks and Melanie put up with our constant barrage of questions and organised loads of trips, activites, and resturantes for us to go to. Fred will lend you whatever board you need from his huge collection, (which is helpfull if National Express loose your surfboard on the way to Heathrow Airport and deny accountability). They have bikes that you can use anytime which is handy as there are a variety of different beaches nearby that are all stunning and easy to ride too. Its close to the supermarket, surf shops and resturantes which is usefull if your on a budget.

We had an amazing hoIiday there and we were very sad to leave the place. I wish I could have stayed there longer. (I really miss Chico and Mierza too!)

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms at the back which was both quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce City, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently visited Costa Rica on an 8 day trip. The last half of our trip was spent at more resort type locations and we wanted the first have to be spent in a smaller beach town with a little less crowd. Santa Theresa hit the spot perfectly. The drive is a little more rough but worth the trip especially if you are looking for a CR beach town before commercialization. Hotel Meli Melo was the perfect compliment to our visit and I was very impressed with the hospitality of Melanie and her family. They where very gracious hosts and we would have been fine staying the whole trip there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericriewerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Meli melo hotel is a nice, quiet place in Santa Teresa, close to the beach, supermarket and restaurants. The owners are nice and they really care about their customers. Melanie was very helpful and you should absolutely get at least one surf lesson with Frédéric! The room was clean, spacious. Comfortable bed, hot water and A/C. You can also use the kitchen anytime. We would have liked to stay there for the whole week. Highly recommanded!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genevieve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Yup, they are... :-)
Like all reviews, we also like the place, service, accommodation and the owners.

The rooms are well sealed with A.C, so it's cool and quite at night

The kitchen is well equipped and they provide coffee daily.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank softeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Meli Melo Surf Hotel is a lovely little oasis in Santa Teresa. The hotel is a bit more expensive than others in town but our bedroom was really big, the bed was very comfortable, the shower and internet both worked perfectly and there's air-conditioning, which is a real breath of fresh air from the heat! There's also a well-equipped kitchen (but you need to b. The beach is a 2 minute walk away, a great supermarket is a block away and there are free bicycles to use if you want to explore town further Melanie is so helpful and her husband is a fantastic surf teacher, he was really encouraging even for someone like me with two left feet! I highly recommend taking a lesson with him. All in all, it was a perfect stay and we would have liked to stay longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiasanat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canaima Chill House
Canaima Chill House
#2 of 33 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
#16 of 33 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meli Melo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meli Melo

Property: Hotel Meli Melo
Address: | 400m North of the Soccer Field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Meli Melo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Meli Melo is located in Santa Teresa, 2 min walk to the beach and few steps to groceries, restaurants...Our confortable rooms has AC, safety box, private bathroom with hot shower, private terrace and garden. We also offer to our guests a fully equipped kitchen.We have tour desk, surfboard rentals, surf lessons, bycicles free of charge...The hotel Meli Melo is the perfect place for beach and jungle lovers who wants to enjoy the Pura Vida in a cozy and comfortable place !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Meli Melo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Meli Melo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing