We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Hotel Meli Melo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Meli Melo
Ranked #3 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently visited Costa Rica on an 8 day trip. The last half of our trip was spent at more resort type locations and we wanted the first have to be spent in a smaller beach town with a little less crowd. Santa Theresa hit the spot perfectly. The drive is a little more rough but worth the trip especially if you are looking for a CR beach town before commercialization. Hotel Meli Melo was the perfect compliment to our visit and I was very impressed with the hospitality of Melanie and her family. They where very gracious hosts and we would have been fine staying the whole trip there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericriewerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 216 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

Meli melo hotel is a nice, quiet place in Santa Teresa, close to the beach, supermarket and restaurants. The owners are nice and they really care about their customers. Melanie was very helpful and you should absolutely get at least one surf lesson with Frédéric! The room was clean, spacious. Comfortable bed, hot water and A/C. You can also use the kitchen anytime. We would have liked to stay there for the whole week. Highly recommanded!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genevieve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Yup, they are... :-)
Like all reviews, we also like the place, service, accommodation and the owners.

The rooms are well sealed with A.C, so it's cool and quite at night

The kitchen is well equipped and they provide coffee daily.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank softeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Meli Melo Surf Hotel is a lovely little oasis in Santa Teresa. The hotel is a bit more expensive than others in town but our bedroom was really big, the bed was very comfortable, the shower and internet both worked perfectly and there's air-conditioning, which is a real breath of fresh air from the heat! There's also a well-equipped kitchen (but you need to b. The beach is a 2 minute walk away, a great supermarket is a block away and there are free bicycles to use if you want to explore town further Melanie is so helpful and her husband is a fantastic surf teacher, he was really encouraging even for someone like me with two left feet! I highly recommend taking a lesson with him. All in all, it was a perfect stay and we would have liked to stay longer!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiasanat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely rooms, thoughtfully designed, nice to have aircon, hot showers, nice to have surf racks inside the room. Great location - across the road from the main Santa Teresa surf break & close to good food. Also had well-equipped communal kitchen & well-used but free bicycles. Wifi only works in sitting area near kitchen.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Laid back place in a great location in Santa Teresa. We stayed here 3 nights and had an excellent time. Only two minutes from the beach and the grocery store. Plenty of restaurants near by as well. A huge plus for Santa Teresa in general is that the road is being paved soon (sometime in April 2013, I believe). Quite, friendly and relaxed. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMcM217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The beach of Santa Teresa is amazing, and this hotel is right on there!
2 minutes walk from the beach, in a quiet place! The owners are adorable and very helpful!
Everything is 'Pura Vida' in this place!
I recommend!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magali V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fuego Lodge
Fuego Lodge
#2 of 30 in Santa Teresa
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Boutique Hotel
Nautilus Boutique Hotel
#4 of 30 in Santa Teresa
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canaima Chill House
Canaima Chill House
#1 of 30 in Santa Teresa
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meli Melo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meli Melo

Address: | 400m North of the Soccer Field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $60 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Meli Melo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Meli Melo is located in Santa Teresa, 2 min walk to the beach and few steps to groceries, restaurants...Our confortable rooms has AC, safety box, private bathroom with hot shower, private terrace and garden. We also offer to our guests a fully equipped kitchen.We have tour desk, surfboard rentals, surf lessons, bycicles free of charge...The hotel Meli Melo is the perfect place for beach and jungle lovers who wants to enjoy the Pura Vida in a cozy and comfortable place !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Meli Melo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Meli Melo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing