We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meli Melo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Meli Melo
Ranked #3 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Meli melo hotel is a nice, quiet place in Santa Teresa, close to the beach, supermarket and restaurants. The owners are nice and they really care about their customers. Melanie was very helpful and you should absolutely get at least one surf lesson with Frédéric! The room was clean, spacious. Comfortable bed, hot water and A/C. You can also use the kitchen anytime. We would have liked to stay there for the whole week. Highly recommanded!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genevieve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    17
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
85
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Yup, they are... :-)
Like all reviews, we also like the place, service, accommodation and the owners.

The rooms are well sealed with A.C, so it's cool and quite at night

The kitchen is well equipped and they provide coffee daily.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank softeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Meli Melo Surf Hotel is a lovely little oasis in Santa Teresa. The hotel is a bit more expensive than others in town but our bedroom was really big, the bed was very comfortable, the shower and internet both worked perfectly and there's air-conditioning, which is a real breath of fresh air from the heat! There's also a well-equipped kitchen (but you need to b. The beach is a 2 minute walk away, a great supermarket is a block away and there are free bicycles to use if you want to explore town further Melanie is so helpful and her husband is a fantastic surf teacher, he was really encouraging even for someone like me with two left feet! I highly recommend taking a lesson with him. All in all, it was a perfect stay and we would have liked to stay longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiasanat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely rooms, thoughtfully designed, nice to have aircon, hot showers, nice to have surf racks inside the room. Great location - across the road from the main Santa Teresa surf break & close to good food. Also had well-equipped communal kitchen & well-used but free bicycles. Wifi only works in sitting area near kitchen.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amaanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Laid back place in a great location in Santa Teresa. We stayed here 3 nights and had an excellent time. Only two minutes from the beach and the grocery store. Plenty of restaurants near by as well. A huge plus for Santa Teresa in general is that the road is being paved soon (sometime in April 2013, I believe). Quite, friendly and relaxed. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMcM217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The beach of Santa Teresa is amazing, and this hotel is right on there!
2 minutes walk from the beach, in a quiet place! The owners are adorable and very helpful!
Everything is 'Pura Vida' in this place!
I recommend!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magali V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Picked Meli Melo because of Melanie's informative and quick email responses, and the reviews on Tripadvisor. This might be the best place to stay in the area due to its rates, amenities, and access, but what really sets it apart from other places is Melanie and Fred. They go above and beyond what is expected to make you feel welcome and comfortable. It is evident to anyone who spends time here, and that is why they stay booked. Make reservations well in advance if possible. The guests here are casual and diverse, from surfers to traveling families, and the kitchen is a great place to share a story or brush up on Spanish with Angela, who keeps the place spotless, with a smile. The gardens are beautiful and something new is always blooming, the family pets take time out to nap under your hammock, even Mirza abandons her iguana herding for an occasional hello. Quick walk to beach for surf checks and sunsets, with Playa Carmen to the south and Hermosa to the north, you can find surf everyday. If you get a chance go with Fred, his stories of life, surf, and travel will keep you entertained and inspired. Often accommodations can affect the nature of your trip, my experience at Meli Melo enhanced my vacation, and I, along with many other guests, will be back. Thanks for everything Melanie and Frederic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agrothyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#10 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#23 of 27 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canaima Chill House
Canaima Chill House
#4 of 31 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Surf Sanctuary
Blue Surf Sanctuary
#1 of 31 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meli Melo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meli Melo

Property: Hotel Meli Melo
Address: | 400m North of the Soccer Field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Meli Melo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Meli Melo is located in Santa Teresa, 2 min walk to the beach and few steps to groceries, restaurants...Our confortable rooms has AC, safety box, private bathroom with hot shower, private terrace and garden. We also offer to our guests a fully equipped kitchen.We have tour desk, surfboard rentals, surf lessons, bycicles free of charge...The hotel Meli Melo is the perfect place for beach and jungle lovers who wants to enjoy the Pura Vida in a cozy and comfortable place !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Meli Melo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Meli Melo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing