We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Vibe, Great Spot, Awesome Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meli Melo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Meli Melo
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   | 400m North of the Soccer Field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Good Vibe, Great Spot, Awesome Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Picked Meli Melo because of Melanie's informative and quick email responses, and the reviews on Tripadvisor. This might be the best place to stay in the area due to its rates, amenities, and access, but what really sets it apart from other places is Melanie and Fred. They go above and beyond what is expected to make you feel welcome and comfortable. It is evident to anyone who spends time here, and that is why they stay booked. Make reservations well in advance if possible. The guests here are casual and diverse, from surfers to traveling families, and the kitchen is a great place to share a story or brush up on Spanish with Angela, who keeps the place spotless, with a smile. The gardens are beautiful and something new is always blooming, the family pets take time out to nap under your hammock, even Mirza abandons her iguana herding for an occasional hello. Quick walk to beach for surf checks and sunsets, with Playa Carmen to the south and Hermosa to the north, you can find surf everyday. If you get a chance go with Fred, his stories of life, surf, and travel will keep you entertained and inspired. Often accommodations can affect the nature of your trip, my experience at Meli Melo enhanced my vacation, and I, along with many other guests, will be back. Thanks for everything Melanie and Frederic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agrothyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    17
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
85
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Meli Melo for a week, and we loved it. The gardens were beautiful and our room was clean, cool, and very nice. The maid, Angela, kept it perfectly clean and even left flowers in our room a few times. It was nice having delicious coffee in the morning and the kitchen to cook food if we wanted to. The market was a short walk away as well as many shops and restaurants. We were in Santa Teresa in the dry season, so it was pretty dusty out on the road, but we loved it. It was a short walk from the hotel to the beautiful beach. My husband took a surf lesson from Frederic and was able to finally have success with surfing. He said Frederic was a great teacher. Melanie and Frederic both were very friendly and helpful, always ready to answer questions and give us tips. We are planning to come back next January and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this place. While the main road in Santa Teresa is dusty and not very pleasing to the eye (at least in high season), Hotel Meli Melo offers a calm, peaceful place to stay. Our room was bare-bones with not a lot of sunlight, but that doesn't really matter since you shouldn't be inside if you're in Costa Rica. The air-conditioning was great to have and the bed was VERY comfortable. There were no bugs in the room...it was amazing...very clean. Frederic told us that they purposely invested in high quality mattresses, because obviously all you really do at a hotel is sleep. Much appreciated! The property is full of shade, flowers, good smells, and sweet dogs and cats. I love Chico!

My boyfriend took a surf lesson from Frederic and he had a great time and learned everything he needed to for his first time surfing. Melanie was incredibly helpful in regards to telling us where to eat, helping us get cabs, and suggesting great spots to check out. She made me feel like asking her for help was her pleasure.

The location is perfect...far enough down the road from the loud-ish bars, but an easy walk from all of the restaurants. The beach is a 5 minute walk away...perfect. The kitchen was fully stocked and we used it on occasion. The Super Ronny #2 isn't the best for fresh produce, so we opted to eat out instead of making meals (you can't beat a heaping plate of casados for $6). There were a lot of noisy motorcycles and cars during the day, but at night I couldn't hear anything...such people sleeps!

We loved being able to interact with the other people staying at the hotel. Everyone was so nice and laid back. The hotel has a great social atmosphere.

I highly recommend this place! Thank you Melanie and Frederic!

Room Tip: Not all of the rooms have "private" gardens...I'd say 3 of them do. So ask about that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cronmoax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

While staying for an couple week surf trip in Santa Theresa with a friend who goes there often we got a room at Meli Melo. I couldn't have had a better experience, the owners, Melanie and Frederico, were accommodating and helpful with everything from how to heal a cut to surfboard rentals. The rooms are clean and nicely air conditioned and the price is very reasonable. There is a common outdoor kitchen to share with the other guests which I found to be a great experience. The hotel attracts great people and the meal times were a great time to share experiences and get to know the other guests. The place felt very safe and secure as well. It's right across the street to the beach access where there is a great break out front. This place is hard to get a room since it books up fast, so book it if it's available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel has beautiful grounds and is a few minutes walk to the beach and restaurants. The owners are very welcoming, relaxed and had some great suggestions on what to do in the area. They were frequently available to answer questions and seemed happy to help.

The kitchenette is handy for preparing breakfast and fresh coffee is available each morning. The room we had was spacious and clean.

A word of advice; back into the parking spaces because we had our spare tire stolen off the back of the car...as did the other patrons of the hotel.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay and Frederic was a lot of fun to take surf lessons with!! The beaches were definitely the best part of this area, as they were not busy and incredibly beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiihula2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

If we hadn't stayed at or looked at other places in Santa Teresa during our 6 week stay we would have rated this higher. The premises and rooms are kept impeccably clean by Angela and the bathrooms are nice bright and airy.

Melanie and Frederick were nice hosts and very nice. Lovely and helpful.

Strangely 4 days into our 8 night stay breakfast all of a sudden was not being served. No explanation at all? First we thought it was a weekend thing then maybe something else but no. Unsure if it is advertised as the no1 bed and breakfast I would expect breakfast.

We did get a reduced rate for the days there was no breakfast but still no explanation.

It is a nice place to stay but we will be choosing not to stay here again as there are other very reasonably priced clean and comfortable accommodations with private kitchens and lovely hosts as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teitirua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Spent Christmas in Santa Teresa, one of the best holidays ever. Hotel Meli Melo is an amazing place, run by a french family. They really made our trip, they have such a good knowledge about the area and help out a lot.

The rooms has AC and are fresh and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#10 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#23 of 27 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canaima Chill House
Canaima Chill House
#4 of 31 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Surf Sanctuary
Blue Surf Sanctuary
#1 of 31 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meli Melo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meli Melo

Property: Hotel Meli Melo
Address: | 400m North of the Soccer Field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Meli Melo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Meli Melo is located in Santa Teresa, 2 min walk to the beach and few steps to groceries, restaurants...Our confortable rooms has AC, safety box, private bathroom with hot shower, private terrace and garden. We also offer to our guests a fully equipped kitchen.We have tour desk, surfboard rentals, surf lessons, bycicles free of charge...The hotel Meli Melo is the perfect place for beach and jungle lovers who wants to enjoy the Pura Vida in a cozy and comfortable place !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Meli Melo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Meli Melo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing