We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Meli Melo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Meli Melo
Ranked #5 of 32 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We loved our time at Meli Melo! Santa Teresa in general has such a chilled feel to it, and so did Meli Melo. Melanie and Fred were super friendly and really laid back about everything, which made us chill out and enjoy too! Unfortunately they didn't have a room available for our final night in Santa Teresa, but they called around a few friends and found us another place which really helped us out. They also gave us great tips on where to eat. Surf lessons with Fred were heaps of fun and he is a really good teacher! I was initially surprised by the proximity of everything in Santa Teresa to the (dusty) main street, but the gardens/shared area and the rooms of the house are nicely sheltered. The house itself is really cute and the rooms are nice and crisp, clean and colourful. Loved the outdoor bathroom too! Merci, Melanie, Fred and Angela for your kindness and your hospitality - we really felt a part of the place for our few days! A une prochaine j'espere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mirijane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
87
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nicok
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Wow, just came back from a truly amazing stay in Santa Teresa...
My fourth time there, mainly for surfing, tried a new hotel every time, but i'm so glad i found this one! It's just the perfect mix of nice rooms with AC/safe/modern look (but not too much of them, like they have 6 rooms), nice grounds (little garden with lot's of trees), far enough from the road so you don't hear noise at night or get dust from the road, free bikes....and a kitchen for common use, always a nice place to hook up with other travellers... And it just seems like this hotel attracts super nice and relax people, just like the owners!
It's really close to one of the best surfing spots (in front of Brunella) around, and you can walk to the right and have access to other breaks...
And that's one of the best thing about the place, really warm and helping hosts, Fred and Mélanie...so nice to have a little chat while drinking coffee or catch some waves with Fred and his noserides!!! The cleaning lady Angela is funny, and does a terrific job every day...super fun chating and refreshing my spanish with her!
Highly recommanded! Will be back next year for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt am Main, Deutschland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Thats an lovely little hotel and the owners Melanie and Frederic are such nice people that it was not easy to leave their place. We had an awesome time there and wanna go there again! Highly recommendable :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juls610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuerth, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We loved this place so much. The rooms are very nice. The kitchen is well equipped. The beach is just a few meters away and the owners are so nice (even during an earthquake).
Also Angela the cleaning lady is so friendly. We do not have anything bad to say about this place. The room has AC, hot shower, safe and WIFI. We also took a surf lesson from the hotel owner Frederic which was worth every penny. Melanie was also really nice to us.
We were there during the big earthquake 2012 and even during this time the owner helped us really much. The also took care about their customers during this earthquake.

Room Tip: The front room was perfect and you can hear the ocean while you sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I cannot speak highly enough of Frederic and Melanie. My time at this place was very special and the accommodation fantastic, so clean, comfortable and well priced. It was great having a full kitchen, free bikes to use in the village and the surf so close.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We arrived laaaate one night after driving for 7 hours. We were greeted after ringing the bell and were quickly shown the fast tour and our beds.

In the morning we get the overview of the city and there is plenty to do here.

We appreciate the hospitality of a place like Meli Melo, it is why we love to travel.

Thank you for the great place to stay!

Room Tip: Just message them ahead of time and ask for what you are looking for. They are willing to accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Was a great stay, clean room, confortable bed, a full kitchen for cooking, cofee maker as well, they have bicycles and it's free to use them. The place is beautiful, it's like a big garden with little trail to go the the rooms! In all our three (3) and a half trip in CR, it was the first time someone made the bed for us (it's a detail, but little details always make the difference!). Mélanie and is husband are great host, advise us about getting around, like nice place to eat, and more! Thanks, we loved our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guyl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fuego Lodge
Fuego Lodge
#1 of 32 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canaima Chill House
Canaima Chill House
#3 of 32 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meli Melo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meli Melo

Property: Hotel Meli Melo
Address: | 400m North of the Soccer Field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Meli Melo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Meli Melo is located in Santa Teresa, 2 min walk to the beach and few steps to groceries, restaurants...Our confortable rooms has AC, safety box, private bathroom with hot shower, private terrace and garden. We also offer to our guests a fully equipped kitchen.We have tour desk, surfboard rentals, surf lessons, bycicles free of charge...The hotel Meli Melo is the perfect place for beach and jungle lovers who wants to enjoy the Pura Vida in a cozy and comfortable place !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Meli Melo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Meli Melo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing