We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spot, Super Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meli Melo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Meli Melo to your Saves list
Hotel Meli Melo
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   | 400m North of the Soccer Field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Spot, Super Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We arrived laaaate one night after driving for 7 hours. We were greeted after ringing the bell and were quickly shown the fast tour and our beds.

In the morning we get the overview of the city and there is plenty to do here.

We appreciate the hospitality of a place like Meli Melo, it is why we love to travel.

Thank you for the great place to stay!

Room Tip: Just message them ahead of time and ask for what you are looking for. They are willing to accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    17
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
85
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Was a great stay, clean room, confortable bed, a full kitchen for cooking, cofee maker as well, they have bicycles and it's free to use them. The place is beautiful, it's like a big garden with little trail to go the the rooms! In all our three (3) and a half trip in CR, it was the first time someone made the bed for us (it's a detail, but little details always make the difference!). Mélanie and is husband are great host, advise us about getting around, like nice place to eat, and more! Thanks, we loved our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guyl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Melanie and Fred are awesome! This place is a real gem. What a great bargain, and the ability to be 100 yards from the beach and have the comfort of a nice clean room is a great way to spend a vacation. Super relaxing, friendly atmosphere, I stayed here for 12 or so days and could have easily stayed another 2 weeks or so. You'll be taken care of here and the rates are more than fair. Lots of different boards to rent too, so no need to spend a ridiculous amount of money on board bag fees on the plane.

Pura Vida!
Rob

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob61980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Only positive things to say. Owners are very warm, welcoming, and pay attention to detail. The grounds are beautiful and relaxing, very well-located. Our stay in Santa Teresa couldn't have been better thanks to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 633CCC633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel is one of the best in town! Right across the street of Santa Terasa surf break, close to all amenities (grocery, shops, restaurants, bars, etc…). The hotel is brand new and the rooms are very clean, bright and they provide AC, which is a must ;) You can even ask for a room with your own little private garden!
As for the owners, Melanie and Fred are more than welcoming. They make you feel at home and will do everything to make sure your stay is the greatest! Fred provides surf lessons and you can rent boards for reasonable prices right at the hotel. The communal kitchen is very well organize and give you the opportunity to meet people from around the world ;) You can’t’ go wrong with Meli Melo! Enjoy your trip!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie_ElaineMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Meli Melo from July 1st to 12th, and we just didn't want to leave! Frederic and Melanie, the owners, make you feel at home. Our room was spacious, clean and the beds were really confortable. The shower has hot water. The hotel kitchen is well equiped, we almost never went to restaurants and the grocerie store is less than a 5 minutes walk away. It was a great way to meet with the other hotel guests, who were all really friendly, relaxed, and fun to talk to. They also provide bicycles for free. Last but not least, the beautiful beach is right across the street! I can't wait to go back!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Veronique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

my friend and i just stayed here at the meli melo from the 3-7th of july 2012. we are both travelers and both agreed that our stay here was one of the greatest accommodations we have ever experienced on a bed and breakfast level. melanie and frederick who are the owners are extremely relaxed and laid back and will take care of everything and anything that you need/want. the rooms are clean and have everything you need. the establishment has a communal kitchen which is great because you get to meet all your guests and eat meals with them so you feel like its a little family while youre staying. cant recommend it enough. we plan on going back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nlrapaport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#10 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#23 of 27 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canaima Chill House
Canaima Chill House
#4 of 31 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Surf Sanctuary
Blue Surf Sanctuary
#1 of 31 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meli Melo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meli Melo

Property: Hotel Meli Melo
Address: | 400m North of the Soccer Field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Meli Melo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Meli Melo is located in Santa Teresa, 2 min walk to the beach and few steps to groceries, restaurants...Our confortable rooms has AC, safety box, private bathroom with hot shower, private terrace and garden. We also offer to our guests a fully equipped kitchen.We have tour desk, surfboard rentals, surf lessons, bycicles free of charge...The hotel Meli Melo is the perfect place for beach and jungle lovers who wants to enjoy the Pura Vida in a cozy and comfortable place !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Meli Melo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Meli Melo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing