We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place!! Amazing Hospitality!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Meli Melo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Meli Melo
Ranked #4 of 33 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Place!! Amazing Hospitality!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed three nights at Meli Melo, the owners Melanie and Fred were awesome and Angela was amazing!! The room was nice and clean and the shower was very big in the room, the outdoor shower was very nice too!! The breakfast hit the spot every morning!! We ran into some friends from home on the beach(how crazy), they were unhappy with their hotel and wound up staying at Hotel Meli Melo!! Also very close to surf spots!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kel506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
90
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed for two nights in Meli Melo, and the owners are awesome! The hotel is really new, the rooms are super clean and simple. It has the basic comodities, and A/C, bathrooms are super clean. But what makes a difference are the owners. Even the cleaning lady Angela, is super nice, and always making sure, you already had brakfast. I felt like at home.

3 minute walk to the beach!

Also Fred, is an example to the community, although he is not a Tico, he acts like one, and he is son involved with the community, the school, surfing and development of Santa Teresa. To me it seems that he loves this country more than many locals do!

Thumbs up for Meli Melo!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia_vm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Don't be fooled by the lower prices. There is nothing wrong with this place.The units are new, clean and everything works well. It is as close to the best part of the surf beach as any other (more expensive) hotel. Melanie and Frederick are very friendly and helpful, and they make sure the place does not get carried away with noise and partying. Having access to the open kitchen area and outdoor sitting areas is a bonus for those of us that like to have a few food items and cold drinks available. Definitely a great b and b with the advantages of a backpacker.

Room Tip: There are options for an extra bed or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Hotel Meli Melo was more than we could have ever hoped for! The rooms were very clean, spacious, and quiet. Every morning Angela made us a wonderful freshly prepared breakfast in the beautiful garden. The entire hotel spaces was gorgeous and simple....just what you want on a beach vacation. The location of the hotel was perfect-less than a 2 minute walk to the best beach in the area for walking, sunbathing, or surfing. Santa Teresa is the perfect location with awesome beaches, great surfing, several good restaurants, and very relaxing and peaceful.

Melanie and Frederic were always incredibly helpful, pleasant, and very knowledgeable about the area. They made everything so easy for us and always went above and beyond with anything we needed from surf lessons to arranging a zip line tour or just to chat. I can't think of a more wonderful place to stay and would absolutely visit again. Thanks for such a special trip. It surpassed all of our expectations!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Meli Melo for one week. We got in late at night and Melanie was there to meet us. We woke up the next morning and the surf was great and only had to walk 100m to the beach. Amazing. Throughout the week we were treated great and the cook made us breakfast every morning. Melanie and Fred are really sweet and very welcoming, they were also very generous with information and patient. Melanie even did our laundry one night. I've been to Mal Pais/Santa Teresa 5 times, stayed at a number of different types of accommodations, and this was the best I've ever stayed for surfing. Convenient, outdoor shower, clean rooms, good breakfast, and quiet and relaxing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aust675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

I spent a whole month in this hotel and I still miss every second of it! Melanie has been very helpful from the first time I contacted her to check out the location and prices... Her responses were always quick and her information were reliable... It takes you only 2 minutes by walking to get to the next surfspot which was awesome... Also, I can highly recommend Fred as a surf instructor... I never surfed before I came to Costa Rica and this guy made me stand on the board on the first day already (not only on the beach;-))... He can always tell you how to do better with paddling, taking off, where to put your weight on the board etc... The room was cleaned every morning, the air condition was working properly and there was always hot water in the shower although that wasn't really needed at those temperatures... Melanie and Fred were always lovely and fun to chat and be with and also very helpful with any kind of trip arrangement. The kitchen was good enough to cook simple dishes, but the hotel itself is also well surrounded by different kind of nice restaurants.

Location: 2 min away from the next surfspot, surrounded by nice restaurants
Melanie / Fred: Lovely people and parents
Marius / Alais: great kids :)
Pets: dogs, cats and iguanas... :)

Meli Melo would definitely be my first choice again when going back to Santa Teresa. :)

Miss you guys!

Ivo

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

What an incredible experience at Meli Melo!! My stay at this quaint, tropical little oasis was the icing on the cake to my experience in Costa Rica. The rooms are so spacious and well equiped, the common spaces are lush and tranquil, yet you are just steps from the beach, restaurants and nightlife.
Melanie and Frederic ensured that everyone had what they needed to complete their experience. From surf lessons to lending me a bike for the week they went above and beyond. Angela is there to greet you every morning with a delicious breakfast and a warmth that sets this place apart from other accomodation options. You really become part of the family at Meli Melo. I would highly reccomend to all :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canaima Chill House
Canaima Chill House
#1 of 33 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
#15 of 33 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meli Melo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meli Melo

Property: Hotel Meli Melo
Address: | 400m North of the Soccer Field, Santa Teresa 5810, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Meli Melo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Meli Melo is located in Santa Teresa, 2 min walk to the beach and few steps to groceries, restaurants...Our confortable rooms has AC, safety box, private bathroom with hot shower, private terrace and garden. We also offer to our guests a fully equipped kitchen.We have tour desk, surfboard rentals, surf lessons, bycicles free of charge...The hotel Meli Melo is the perfect place for beach and jungle lovers who wants to enjoy the Pura Vida in a cozy and comfortable place !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Meli Melo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Meli Melo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing