We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pranamar Buddha Eyes

Pranamar Buddha Eyes
Ranked #45 of 90 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Healthy, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Imagine sitting under beautiful high bamboo ceilings and gazing out over a serene lagoon pool while enjoying delicious, lovingly prepared food …welcome to Pranamar’s restaurant. A dining experience of unforgettable quality, Pranamar's restaurant will most likely linger in your mind long after your vacation ends. Our restaurant, with spectacular views and an exotic, relaxed atmosphere, not only serves delicious food, but also is committed to creating dishes that nourish the body and enliven the senses.Taste some of Costa Rica's local fruits and vegetables, explore creative vegetarian cooking or experience fish and seafood bought from local fishermen of the Peninsula. We offer something for every palate and are more than happy to accommodate special dietary needs or lifestyle choices. Pranamar’s restaurant sources the freshest ingredients for our menu with a strong emphasis on using organic and locally produced products whenever possible. Our food is simple yet enticing. Our belief is that nature knows best. Our Costa Rican chef rejoices in using fruits and vegetables as natural as possible, trying to use the least amount of procedures as possible and taking advantage of their natural qualities. The menu coincides with the North Pacific seasons of Costa Rica in order to maintain the highest standard of food and beverages quality throughout the year. Our style combines Pacific Rim cuisine with Asian and native influences. The casual yet refined dining experience derives from our passion for food, combined with high standards of quality and our friendly service. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served seven days a week and the restaurant is open to the public. Dinner reservations are recommended.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Loved the smoothies and fresh juices after Nancy's yoga classes. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner here on multiple occasions and always thought everything was delicious and service was very personal and friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seabird37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    18
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jericho, Vermont, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have eaten at Buddha Eyes many times, both when on retreat at Pranamar Villas-when the meals were served buffet, family-style - and also as guests not on retreat, eating from the menu. The chefs and staff never fail to impress - food is fresh, delicious, excellent in every way. The bar and waitstaff are friendly and helpful, service excellent. Fantastic! Thank you!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

The salads were amazing. Fresh juices. Dinner was great. Lots of vegan options. High quality, gourmet food. Really a treat! Kids loved it too!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tambor, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bummer.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Disclaimer. I have food allergies (soy and seafood). So it can be difficult to find places to accommodate these things. I had heard mixed reviews, some grim and others blown away, so decided to investigate. The menu was heavy (almost exclusively soy & seafood, and when I explained this, they very kindly offered to create a chicken dish for me. As we settled in, they brought out the complimentary bread and cream cheese in a pool of soy sauce, which granted is a nice touch, but considering I had just explained my allergy was disappointing. I was never offered a drink refill (NOT ONCE!) and when my entrée came there was soy on the plate. TOO BAD. The restaurant is also a shoes off establishment, which isn't so bad except there are mischievous kitties and crabs cruising around, and so not entirely comfortable.

Overall. Disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elleintrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel we stayed at recommended this restaurant and we were excited to try it because it was one of two restaurants within walking distance of our accommodations.

We were the only couple in the dining room and they sat another single woman directly beside us. Awkward! I guess it was more convenient for the waitress to seat and serve the only two tables in the restaurant within a couple of feet of each other.

The service was okay. We didn't really see the waitress much. The food was mediocre at best. My husband's pasta was a very strange texture. We couldn't figure out if it even was pasta. My salad was pedestrian and even the drinks were boring. Ended up being one of our more expensive meals and we regretted the whole evening. Especially the part where the kitchen staff came out and stared in our direction, spoke in Spanish to one another and laughed. We left soon thereafter. It wasn't even worth complaining about after that.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pranamar Buddha Eyes also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Pranamar Buddha Eyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing