We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, quality, value, clean, comfy”
Review of Manala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manala Hotel
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
WPB florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Location, quality, value, clean, comfy”
Reviewed December 10, 2010

I stayed at Manala 3 nights and it was very nice. The quality of the room
is excellent - spacious, comfortable, refrigerator, A/C, clean and priced
way below this level. It appears to be a brand new facility. The location
is exactly centered on the surf beach at Santa Teresa. Several restaurants
within a few minutes walk, but a little farther to the busier areas. The hotel
restaurant was not open for business yet. The room service is a treat for the ladies.
I had a "double" bed (I think) but it was actually two twins side by side.
Didn't matter to me since I was solo, but you might want to check further.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronbonbfhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    59
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
49
198
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemsedal Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Manala four nights. The service was excellent, and the rooms/cabins really really nice! I think Manala have the best housekeeping service in CR. Every time you got home from the beach the housekeeper have done a incredible job making leafs, swans, hearts etc with the towels and put many many good smelling flowers in the cabins, AMAZING!

There is a 2 minutes walk to the beach from the hotel and 3 minutes walk to the supermarket.

We loved the staying and we will be back! :)

Thank you Laura, Leo & Co for a lovely stay at your hotel!

Best regards
Anders & Elin

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Andee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I own a travel agency, Blue Destiny and I visited Manala Hotel this past weekend, the facilities are great, and everything was very good. The rooms are very cozy and you can actually hear the ocean when youre at the pool.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harryshepperd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2010

My partner and I have traveled around quite a bit in Costa Rica to visit new out-of-the-way places and we have experienced a broad range of hotels and lodges all over the country. Manalá was one of the most enjoyable experiences for us up-to-date. I only wish we could have stayed longer!

From the start they make you feel at home with all the little details: flowers all over the room, warm service from the employees, beautiful decorations (including hand-picked sea shells and hand painted sinks), the bungalow’s internal distribution, etc. A lot of care took place in making guests feel as comfortable as possible and it is absolutely evident!

If you want to visit Santa Teresa, please do yourself a favor and stay at Manalá. The Hotel is great and has excellent location. It is only a few hundred meters away from the beach, a few local restaurants and mini markets.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2010

The hotel grounds were BEAUTIFUL. Having recently opened not too long ago, everything appeared to be brand new! The little cabins/bungalows were awesome - like little personal houses. The showers were huge, and the structure/architecture was so pleasing to the eye. Manala is situated in a great location, across from the best beach entrance/surf break in town, as well as the most popular bar. The hotel staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and nice. We were lucky enough to have gotten a great deal on staying there a few nights, which they probably offered because it was rainy season. The pool was huge, and very relaxing! Breakfast being served to us in the morning was also a nice treat. We stayed at two other hotels - the Beija Flor and Moana Lodge - both were okay, but Manala topped them all in service, quality, value, and beauty for sure! I will definitely be recommending this place to everyone and plan on staying here again when I come back to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssayon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Although I was down in Santa Teresa this past July(2010) with friends,I stayed at the Manala solo. Turns out my buddies had there girlfriends come down so I opted for my own place. I could not have been more happy with my choice. I only wish my wife was with me. The Manala is in a GREAT location. Across the street from the popular surf spot "phone booth". There is nothing like being able to wake up and walk across the street to check the surf.
As far as accommodations go... it's a 10 hands down. The 8 or 10 private bungalows are as clean as clean can be(trust me I'm a clean freak). The beds are new,showers are big and hot and the grounds are beautiful with flowers everywhere. I really felt bad staying here and not being able to share it with the wife (i got over it though).
The Manala does have a restaurant but I guess it was closed during the rainy season. Something you may want to look into before booking if you are fixed on having a place to eat on grounds. There are plenty of great places to eat minutes away otherwise. Try to ask the cleaning staff where the Tico(local/costa rican) restaurants are and you will be rewarded. Great food at half the price while giving back to the locals.
The staff are really friendly and helpful. The Cleaning staff(local tico's) are the nicest people you will ever meet. Tip generously, they make very little $. $5 dollars a day goes a long way for these people and your room will be spotless and filled with fresh flowers everywhere.

I will say the internet service/connection is sub par at best! If you take your notebook to the pool you will get a signal but not in your rooms. Leave it home and don't worry about it! Hope this helps, Pura Vida.
.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toddpreble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logroño
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Manalá Hotel is the nicest place to stay on the beaches of Costa Rica.

The hotel is gorgeous, The private bungalows are wonderful, the bathromms are beautiful & spacious and we had our breakfast served in our own large terrace where we admired the surrounding tropical vegetation, humming birds, iguanas, squirrels, congo monkeys, butterflies and any other animals in the area.

The beach in front of the hotel is a hundred feet away, a lovely walk across palms, trees and incredible tropical plants and flowers. An awesome beach, perfect for snorkeling, body surfing, surfing and sunbathing. We enjoyed like kids.

Back to Manalá, we relaxed in the large swimming pool.

We hired horses and quads and had wonderful rides in the beach, and every afternoon we had a spectacular breathtaking sunset we had never seen in any other place.

Our hosts, Fabri and Laura, were incredible, they helped us in anything we needed, recommended lovely spots and places to visit. We felt like home.

We loved it. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
564 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
329 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
198 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manala Hotel

Property: Manala Hotel
Address: | 800 meters north of the soccer field of Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manala Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight mediterranean style Boungalows in a lush tropical setting; private bathrooms, hot water,air conditoner,wifi,tv, minifridge,ceiling fan, laptop safebox, parking area and 24 hrs security, restaurant and pool with jacuzzi. Our incedible location so close to the beach with the best beach break and our facilities, makes Manalà Hotel the perfect destiny for the best holiday ever. Open 2010. 800 meters North from Santa Teresa soccer fieldde fútbol de Santa Teresa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Manala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manala Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing