We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the hook!”
Review of Manala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manala Hotel
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Although I was down in Santa Teresa this past July(2010) with friends,I stayed at the Manala solo. Turns out my buddies had there girlfriends come down so I opted for my own place. I could not have been more happy with my choice. I only wish my wife was with me. The Manala is in a GREAT location. Across the street from the popular surf spot "phone booth". There is nothing like being able to wake up and walk across the street to check the surf.
As far as accommodations go... it's a 10 hands down. The 8 or 10 private bungalows are as clean as clean can be(trust me I'm a clean freak). The beds are new,showers are big and hot and the grounds are beautiful with flowers everywhere. I really felt bad staying here and not being able to share it with the wife (i got over it though).
The Manala does have a restaurant but I guess it was closed during the rainy season. Something you may want to look into before booking if you are fixed on having a place to eat on grounds. There are plenty of great places to eat minutes away otherwise. Try to ask the cleaning staff where the Tico(local/costa rican) restaurants are and you will be rewarded. Great food at half the price while giving back to the locals.
The staff are really friendly and helpful. The Cleaning staff(local tico's) are the nicest people you will ever meet. Tip generously, they make very little $. $5 dollars a day goes a long way for these people and your room will be spotless and filled with fresh flowers everywhere.

I will say the internet service/connection is sub par at best! If you take your notebook to the pool you will get a signal but not in your rooms. Leave it home and don't worry about it! Hope this helps, Pura Vida.
.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toddpreble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 339 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2010

Manalá Hotel is the nicest place to stay on the beaches of Costa Rica.

The hotel is gorgeous, The private bungalows are wonderful, the bathromms are beautiful & spacious and we had our breakfast served in our own large terrace where we admired the surrounding tropical vegetation, humming birds, iguanas, squirrels, congo monkeys, butterflies and any other animals in the area.

The beach in front of the hotel is a hundred feet away, a lovely walk across palms, trees and incredible tropical plants and flowers. An awesome beach, perfect for snorkeling, body surfing, surfing and sunbathing. We enjoyed like kids.

Back to Manalá, we relaxed in the large swimming pool.

We hired horses and quads and had wonderful rides in the beach, and every afternoon we had a spectacular breathtaking sunset we had never seen in any other place.

Our hosts, Fabri and Laura, were incredible, they helped us in anything we needed, recommended lovely spots and places to visit. We felt like home.

We loved it. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rolocaseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Cristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 23, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Pamela1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabineboulogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pilar7376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 2, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
580 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
157 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 27 in Santa Teresa
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manala Hotel

Address: | 800 meters north of the soccer field of Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $84 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manala Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight mediterranean style Boungalows in a lush tropical setting; private bathrooms, hot water,air conditoner,wifi,tv, minifridge,ceiling fan, laptop safebox, parking area and 24 hrs security, restaurant and pool with jacuzzi. Our incedible location so close to the beach with the best beach break and our facilities, makes Manalà Hotel the perfect destiny for the best holiday ever. Open 2010. 800 meters North from Santa Teresa soccer fieldde fútbol de Santa Teresa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Manala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manala Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing