We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful, romantic, idyllic.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manala Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manala Hotel
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Capbreton, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful, romantic, idyllic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The bungalows are simply stunning. So beautifully decorated, spacious and extremely romantic. The staff are welcoming, friendly and very helpful. The pool area is lovely, although with such close proximity to the beach, we didn't spend any time by the pool.

The beach across the street, is down a jungle path that leads straight on to a fantastic surf spot. The perfect location, although it is a little bit of a walk down the main street to get to some good restaurants (one of which is the Red Snapper - fantastic seafood and lovely staff). We didn't mind this at all, but it's worth pointing out. Of course, you can easily drive places - it's just one long road!

The breakfast was delicious fruit, tea (or coffee) and some toast with jams. Certainly enough to fill you up, but if needed you can buy additional breakfast - eggs, pancakes, etc.

Can't rate this place highly enough. If your budget stretches to this place, it is absolutely worth it.

Room Tip: We were told that wi-fi didn't extend inside the rooms (which isn't a problem as you have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, reception at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your words. You discribe perfectly what its staying at Manala Hotel. We´re really happy you enjoy your vacations. We´re sure that you are going to come back one day. We will be waiting for you!! Thanks again for taking your time in this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    54
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
186
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thisted, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at Manalá for 8 nights. We had a wonderful time there. The surroundings could not have been better and the staff were very friendly and eager to make our stay as pleasant as possible. In the morning we were surrounded by lots of strange noises from birds, squirrels and other animals, it was really something special from what we know in Denmark. In the twilight we experienced the same. The Bungalows were very comfortable and clean, not that we spent a lot of time there, most of the time we sat in front of the Bungalow sucking all the impressions. We made some tours in the surroundings, and thanks to Peche Rapso at the Reception, we really explored this beautiful part of Costa Rica. Even though it takes 25 hours to get there we hope to be able to return to Manalá Hotel next year

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisbet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Lovely room with natural surroundings. I had a very peaceful stay here, bar the odd wake up call at 4am by two groups of Howler monkeys in the trees (which I actually secretly really enjoyed hearing). I was in the top casita...I would rather be slightly closer to the restaraunt and pool and reception next time, only because I was lazy walking up and down the hill. But really it was no big effort and the room was lovely.
The restaraunt here EL Pupo was gorgeous. In the top 10 pizzas I have had in the world that is for certain. And a continental breakfast was included each morning, which was a perfect start to the day. The beach is across the road where the BEST surfing is between Mal Pais and Playa Hermosa in the opinions of all the local surfers anyhow.
I would highly recommend Manala. Lovely helpful staff. Clean rooms and comfy beds. Surrounded by a wealth of nature, adn steps from the beautiful Santa Teresa beach.
Loved! Thank you to all the guys there. I miss you! Pura Vida x

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Director de Recepción at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review from your staying. We really appreciate your words and we would be more than happy to have you back. Visit us next time you come to Santa Teresa!! Thanks again for your nice comments!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We left Manalá just two days ago - we stayed for four nights in Bungalow 3. Our stay was absolutely perfect!! We will definitely stay here again if/when in Santa Theresa. The bungalows were perfect for our family of four - they have A/C, a mini fridge, safe, there was a queen bed and twin mattresses, upon our request. The pool was beautiful - the grounds are beautiful, mango trees, banana trees, etc. We especially loved the location. Across the street from the beach but not too much in the middle of town. It was just remote enough for us. You can walk to sodas, surf shops, markets, etc. The complimentary breakfast was great for us though we heard other guests complaining that is was not filling enough. They offer a plate of fruits and toast with jelly or butter; coffee; juice. There are plenty of other options that you can purchase if that's not enough for you.
There is a restaurant on site, open only for dinner this time of year, called El Pulpo - that is known for their pizza. It was ok - but in our experience ( we ate there twice) the kitchen staff was pretty unfriendly - bordering on rude. Enough to keep us from ever going back to El Pulpo.
The staff at the desk were always accessible and happy to help you or answer any questions. They booked a surfing lesson for our two sons and we were very impressed with the professionalism and skill of their recommended surfing instructor! They also helped us book a fishing trip which was reasonably priced and amazing. They gave us countless recommendations on things to do, where to go, where to eat, etc. We were actually a little sad to say goodbye to Fabien and Ronald! They are amazing people and it was a pleasure getting to know them!
Our one "note" not even a complaint - just FYI- the shower in the room is open - meaning no door and no curtain- this made our two teenage sons very uncomfortable to shower if anyone was even inside the bungalow. I would say, definitely for a family with teens, it would be nice to have a shower curtain to give privacy.
Overall, we loved staying at Manalá and cannot wait to go back!!! Beautiful, very clean, great location and impeccable hotel service!

Room Tip: The most private bungalows are seven and eight. But I would stay in any of them- there is not one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snorkelscubamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are absolutely happy that your staying at Manalá Hotel was that nice. We are always glad to give the best recommendations to our visitors. We know the best people, the best places around Mal Pais, Santa Teresa, and all this zone for you to explore and have fun. We were also sad to say goodbye to you guys. Thank you very much for your review, it makes us be better every time. It would be so nice to see you back here.
Pura vida !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We were in this hotel for 2 nights after we moved from another one because we weren't satisfied. It's a good one. Very nice rooms, a good service at the reception, great location. The wifi wasn't good at the rooms, too bad...also the breakfast is pretty poor and if you want to upgrade it's cost capple of dollars. The two last points it's why i don't give the five..

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank erelb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Director de Recepción at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi,
Thanks for your opinion.
We were working for a couple of month to have WiFi inside the rooms and finally we got it. We are sorry you had problems with this.
About the Breakfast, is a Continental Breakfast what is included. Everybody knows that is fruits, toast, coffee and juice. Guests have the option to add more food if they are still hungry or change the breakfast for less than $5, like you wrote.
Its hard to satisfy all of our guest all the time, but we try to.
Thanks again for your comments and we wish you come back to Santa Teresa any moment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This place is a lovely little treasure not to far from the coast and nestled right on the edge of the jungle. My wife and I stayed 2 nights here last week and enjoyed it very much. The staff here is phenomenal, they were so incredibly helpful. Anything you might need while you stay here, they do what they can to help you get it. You can get a taxi from the front desk, and you can also plan any number of trips, they will help you through it all. The rooms are spacious, and air conditioned with a beautiful shower and comfortable bed. The grounds are extremely well kept, I mean they are immaculate, and the pool is lovely and always open. I would suggest this place for anyone who is looking for a nice relaxing getaway, and outstanding hospitality and service. For our two day stay we could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: When choosing a room, if you want the most privacy, choose room 7 or 8. Either way the are all priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWarren1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Director de Recepción at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you very much! Guest like you and your wife are always welcome to come back any time!! Thanks for the nice review of all our place and staff. We really appreciate your words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights in April. We were traveling with a large group, 6 adults and 8 kids. The Manala met all of our needs. The rooms were clean, spacious and offered air conditioning. The grounds were kept clean and the staff was very accommodating. We ate the majority of our meals at their restaurant, the food was delicious. ( I'm sure Mary never wants to make another pancake). What we loved the most was that we could walk right across the street from the Manala to a great surf break.
Laura, the owner and who manages the property was very helpful in planning and recommending things for us to see and do. Easiest trip I've ever taken with 14 people. Thanks to wonderful staff!

Karen

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Director de Recepción at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you very much for the great review! Is nice to know that you and all of your family and friends had a geat time here. We try to do our best with all of our guest. We love this place and we recomend the best. All our team is very helpfull and we work hard to keep for you to have a nice time. Thanks again for the coments and try to Come Back Soon!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#8 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manala Hotel

Property: Manala Hotel
Address: 800 metros norte del campo de | futbol de Santa Teresa,Costa Rica, Santa Teresa 2640, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight mediterranean style Boungalows in a lush tropical setting; private bathrooms, hot water,air conditoner,wifi,tv, minifridge,ceiling fan, laptop safebox, parking area and 24 hrs security, restaurant and pool with jacuzzi. Our incedible location so close to the beach with the best beach break and our facilities, makes Manalà Hotel the perfect destiny for the best holiday ever. Open 2010. 800 meters North from Santa Teresa soccer fieldde fútbol de Santa Teresa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Manala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manala Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing