We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best place in Santa Teresa!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manala Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manala Hotel
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Winkler
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best place in Santa Teresa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here 2 years ago and knew from when we got there the first time we would be back again! From when you get there you feel like you have entered your own magical world. This is a quiet location where you can relax during the day and sleep at night. The villas are the perfect size, the property is so beautiful and green. The people working on the grounds do an excellent job maintaining the grounds and keeping the pool clean. I love the huge showers! The cleaning ladies are great too, we had swans and flowers on our bed the one morning. We left our money out one day and when we got back our money was still there. This place has very honest workers and friendly, you can trust each one! Laura did an awesome job on hiring her staff!
There is a great restaurant by the pool, in fact it was so great that when we left and stayed at Hermosas we had to order their pizza delivery service. All the villas are the same so you can't go wrong. Breakfasts are great, toast and fruit with juice. You can order different breakfast items at a very small fee. The beach is just across the road (1 min walk). The beach is amazing and Manala is at just the perfect location. When you get to the beach you can either walk left and join the young surfers or you can go right and have beaches to yourself. What could be better? The beach is beautiful, make sure to watch the sunset every night. The beach goes on for miles, so you can have great walks either way.
The Manala location is perfect with great restaurants near by. We did Ginger Cafe quite a few times for lunch (they had great sandwiches with warm fresh bread at great prices), Kika is almost across the street with amazing food. We never needed a taxi to go to any of the restaurants from this location which was great.
The pool was clean at all times and oh so beautiful. We saw over 30 monkeys above the pool and surrounding villas the one day. It was amazing! This place truly feels magical!
As for the owner of Manala, Laura. She was great! We loved her! She was always around at the right time when we wanted to talk to her (and we loved talking to her). She knows how to make you feel like you are her close friends.
Since there are only 8 villas, I would reserve as early as you can. We booked over 8 months in advance. There is no other place in the area that is this nice at this price. I know I would pay more for this place (but maybe I should keep that a secret, so prices don't get raised too much). Thank you for making our second trip to Manala as great as the first! When we come back to Costa Rica, we will come back to Manala!

Room Tip: Every room is the same. Some like to be near the road so they are closer to the beach, some like the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn3031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi, Thanks for letting everyone know about your second expirience in Manala. We are impress with this nice and lovely review. Me and the staff are really greatfull for your honest comments and we will love you to come visit us every year, if it´s posible. Thanks again for choosing us and see you next year! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    55
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
188
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

From the moment we arrived for our five night stay at Manala Hotel we new we would enjoy our stay. Laura and her delightful staff are ever attentive and charming, the bungalows are spotless and comfortable, the pool ideal and the pizza and Mojitos at "Il Pulpa" definitely worth exploring. With beach access directly across the main road one could not ask for more of a visit to Santa Teresa.

Room Tip: Bungalows further from the dusty road are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you very much for this nice comment. We treat people like we would like to be treat every time we go to vacations. It´s great to know that you really enjoy your stay with us and you are more than welcome to come back! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

What a beautiful oasis just off the dusty main drag of Santa Teresa! A large, comfortable, and clean bungalow was our home for 4 nights. The huge shower was amazing. Beach access is directly across the road. The breakfast (included in the price) is a continental breakfast, but my husband enjoyed the banana pancakes more than once! One afternoon we returned to our room to find flowers sprinkled across our freshly made bed! I highly recommend Manala!

Room Tip: We stayed in the first bungalow. It was most convenient to the parking area. It was also closest t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyNebraska_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Is great that you like our Hotel and enjoy of the restaurant. We appreciate your comments and reviews and we will be more than happy to have you again in Santa Teresa. Thanks for motivating us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Best experience! Very good location, and nice staff.
Väldigt fint, bra läge! Bra personal och trevligt intryck
Very good, nice pool and a nice breakfast. Closse to the beach and very uch information about other acktivitic and other stuff doinjg it in st. steresa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidklara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Rooms:
Very beautiful rooms, huge showers, higher class interior design...
The Staff:
Helpful, nice people!
The Breakfast:
In comparison to the rest, a little poor.
But the quality is okay

I can recommend this hotel, it's a really nice place at a really beautiful place.
The only problem about this area are the dusty streets.... After every car the is a huge dust-cloud... But this is problem to all hotels and hostels around there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gapsplit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thanks for your nice review. We have 8 mediterranean style bungalows in a lush tropical garden. We are located in the best white sand beach in Costa Rica, but with a dusty road. Manalá Hotel offers you a continental breakfast (toasts with butter and jelly, three kinds of fruits, orange juice, coffee, tea, milk). It is Manalá´s cortesy. There are many other options in our restaurant for a competitive price.
Thanks again for your comment, we hope to see you in your next trip to Santa Teresa.
Bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a great hotel in a great little town. As we took the dirt road from tambor at the start of our trip my wife and I were a little nervous as the road isn't paved and A LOT of dust. When we got to the hotel we felt somewhat relaxed. We spent a day and a half adjusting from the NYC lifestyle and alas we felt the magic of santa Teresa.

An improtant note- if this is your first time to santa Teresa, the road is very dusty and not paved. My wife and I are very clean and the hotel served as a haven for us. For us a major downfall is the dusty roads but with such good surf and and great beach we simply got used to the dusty roads. There are hotels on the main road with a few up the side of the mountain to get an ocean view, but Hotel Manala is by far the nicest hotel on the main strip in our price range. We looked at some of the other more expensive hotels and didnt see anything worth paying more for. The value is Definitely in Hotel Manala.

The staff at Manala are so helpful we don't even know what else they can do for us. The owner definitely shows how much she cares for the hotel. With a warm smile and greeting she makes you feel at home. Fabian and Ronald in the office definitely make great recommendations and help with any other info you might need. The cleaning in the room is so quick that the room is cleaned before were back from breakfast. The continental breakfast is included- fruit, juice, and coffee. Banana pancakes are a must. The extras at breakfast are very reasonably priced.

We rented an ATV from the hotel and it was very competitively priced to the rental shops on the strip. I would recommend renting an ATV to see more of the town and to go to the neighboring beaches.

The location of the hotel is perfect- far enough from all the commotion but close enough to walk to restaurants and super markets. The beach access is right in front of the hotel and access to great surf spots. The hotel also has a pool but with the beach so close we didn't sit there at all. This would be very good for a family.

My wife and I had a great time and would 1000% recommend this place to anybody- Single, couples, and families.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonostern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Santa Teresa is a really nice beach with white sand, good waves every time of the year, a beautiful nature, and a dusty road in dry season. There are supermarkets, restaurants, hotels, and different establishments around.
We enjoy when we help our clients, it is a pleasure all the time. From the reception we can do reservations in restaurants or hotels, tour information, activities to do in the zone, call taxis. What you may need, we will find a solution. We clean the bungalows every day. The best pizza in town is in our restaurant, "Pulpo Pizza", and reasonable prices.
Renting an ATV is the best way to move in this place, we have some here, and if some one else already rented them, we will find another ATV for you. There are other good places to go while staying with us.
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, it will be a pleasure to assist you again in your next trip to Santa Teresa.
See you....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The attention to detail by the owner (Laura) made this a remarkable trip. Everything is clean, breakfast is healthy, pool and accommodations were spotless.

She was looking out for guests in case they needed something.

Look no further, stay at this one!

Room Tip: Ask for 5 if you have kids, 8 if on a honeymoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xmorera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANALAHOTEL, Propietario at Manala Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are here to help everyone of our guests. We feel happy to see travelers enjoying their days at Manalá Hotel. We do daily room cleaning, our rates always inluides continental breakfast.
Thanks a lot for your good comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manala Hotel

Property: Manala Hotel
Address: 800 metros norte del campo de | futbol de Santa Teresa,Costa Rica, Santa Teresa 2640, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Manala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight mediterranean style Boungalows in a lush tropical setting; private bathrooms, hot water,air conditoner,wifi,tv, minifridge,ceiling fan, laptop safebox, parking area and 24 hrs security, restaurant and pool with jacuzzi. Our incedible location so close to the beach with the best beach break and our facilities, makes Manalà Hotel the perfect destiny for the best holiday ever. Open 2010. 800 meters North from Santa Teresa soccer fieldde fútbol de Santa Teresa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Manala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manala Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing