We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best place to relax and for a destination wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ranchos Itauna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranchos Itauna
Ranked #14 of 32 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to relax and for a destination wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have been to Mal Pais/Santa Theresa 4 times last 6 years. This is by far one of the best places to visit and stay. Always loved the Brazilian food in Rancho Itauna and best services in town. Didn't stay there until our last trip in Dec 2012 (hard to get a reservation as it's always booked!), which we decided to have our destination wedding on the beach at Rancho Itauna. Peter, the host, was wonderful who was the DJ for the receiption, built and set the arbor on the beach, and referred us great chef (Glenn) and photographer (Diana) for the wedding ceremony and reception. We had the beach ourselves for the entire afternoon/night! I was nervous how it would turn out as I am organizing everything remotely; however, it turned out so perfect and definitley my dream wedding that I won't change a bit of it. The beach is so relaxing and facing the sunset. The food was excellent and the bartenders just won't stop serving us drinks. The bills are very reasonable (much cheaper in the state) and the rooms are comfortable. My guests all gave thumbs up and some of them went to surfing the next morning or just stayed on the beach for the rest of day. We all had a great time. Can't say enough about this place. Oh, forgot to mention that this is the place to go during New Year's Eve where it has the biggest bonfire in town as it's Peter's birthday. Always a big celebration. The entire town people will be there dancing, drinking, and celebrating. Thank you, Rancho Itauna, for a great memory. We for sure will be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    11
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
29
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

What a nice way to end our trip in Costa Rica in that clean, big and comfortable cabina. And with our own kitchen, we were able to prepare great food and eat facing the beautiful beach.

Not too far from the surf spots, the waves were great (late August), and the temperature perfect. And after the surf, yoga time on that great platform facing the sea!

Great place for a couple, but for friends too for sure.
Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mysteryoussef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We could not have asked for a better location - Ranchos Itauna is THE bargain stay on the beach!

Our four nights in Peter's cabina were unforgettable! The room was clean and secure with thoughtfully equipped kitchenette to make our stay even more at home. It also has air-conditioning and a nice mattress which was great for me since my back was hurting, but I slept so soundly and woke up refreshed, ready to take my coffee to the beach. Every morning we woke up in paradise with birds singing overhead and the soothing waves from the ocean off in the distance. The high-speed IT access in our room worked great which made it easy for us to stay in touch with home. There is also parking on the property which is secured by the giant gate at night. I also liked the rancho for yoga or evening meditation, or the hammocks on the beach for just reading and lounging during the day. We had a car, but everything was literally an easy five minute walk from the property, including groceries. Peter and family are lovely and great hosts with helpful staff always there in case you need anything...but really, with the setting at Itauna, the amazing sunsets on the beach and easy access to everything we needed, we were quite content and could have easily stayed for another week! A definite for anyone looking for a perfect stay on the beach in Santa Teresa!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maitri50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

One of the most laid-back places around for sure! Definetly the best deal ON THE BEACH, We´ve been there many times and hope to get there again as soon as possible. hard to choose the best spot hammocks, yoga ranchos and so on...love to just walk to go surfing and don´t need the car for all! Peter and family see you soon!!

Room Tip: I like the ground floor rooms with kitchen and maybe they have more water pressure....but the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukas_fernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Ranchos Itauna WITHOUT DOUBT is the best deal on the beach. The property is beautiful, nice shady beachfront, awesome sunsets, a little "private" bay with low-tide rock pools, near the main surf points....excellent food, excellent attention. Peter and Fatima the owners will certainly look after you. The Cabinas are clean, well equipped and spacious...great stay for families and individuals alike. Forget the rest and head straight here.

Room Tip: all the cabins can sleep up to 4/5 people. Some even equipped for self-catering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChillDixon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at Ranchos Itauna during the month of March for almost two weeks. We loved the location - perfectly situated between two great surf breaks with private beach access. We loved the sunset sessions to chill out after surfing, have a drink, and order great food. Foley was AWESOME! Always a big smile and very helpful regarding the best times for surf, and where to go! I took a lesson from him and he was extremely encouraging and respectful of my limits in the water. The room itself was very comfortable and clean. The air conditioning was very appreciated and quiet. The property was usually pretty quiet and relaxing during the day with nice hammocks to chill out in. Very relaxing vacation. I would highly recommend a Stay at Ranchos Itauna.

While we were there we accidentally left my husband's wedding ring in the safe and Peter graciously couriered it to us. Thanks Peter!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 6mmcowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I really appreciated that we were right on the beach. Any time you want, you can wander a few steps from your villa to the sand and water - no need to walk down the road trying to find a public pathway that will give you access to the beach. And, as alluded to in other reviews, Peter and the crew at Rancho create a fantastic sunset vibe.... down near the beach they have a tiki bar, a DJ spinning relaxed house beats, mats and pillows and good eats to order at your pleasing. Again, so nice to have this after a day of surfing or exploring.... just come home and not have to go out searching for a place to chill at sunset.

In regards to the surf, again, perfect location.... head right and you have the santa teresa breaks and head left and you have the playa carmen breaks... out front is one of the few places along the beach that has a nice tidal pool so that you can swim without getting hit by breaking waves.

The surf instructor Foley was awesome, he knows the beaches well and puts effort into choosing the right location and time of day so that the waves best match your level of ability. He's very encouraging, always got a big smile, and clearly an experienced instructor.

All round it was a great place to chill out, swing in a hammock... play with the resident pooches.... Luna and Ghandi... ( the dogs ) eat some good food and catch some waves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6mmCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zula Inn Aparthotel
Zula Inn Aparthotel
#8 of 32 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranchos Itauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranchos Itauna

Property: Ranchos Itauna
Address: Meters North Super Costa 100, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run business on one of the most beautiful beachfront properties in St,Teresa. The property is inbetween the 2 main surfing beaches situated on a 5000sqmtr big property. The property has lush tropical vegetation and infront of the property we have the best natural pool in whole St.Teresa. Just walk out to the beach and jump into the Pacific Ocean. we also offer 4 comfortable , clean and secure rooms. 2 are equiped with kitchens. all rooms have wifi. We have a restaurant which serves breakfast all year round . From nov. to april we also offer restaurant service from 3 pm , specially for sunsets on on our ocean front.there is also free parking, a chill rancho with sofas and dvd player and a beautiful yoga and massage rancho out on the front.we offer all kind of excursions, massage, yoga classes and we offer NSSSIA certified surf instructors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ranchos Itauna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranchos Itauna Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing