We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Going back as soon as I can!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ranchos Itauna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranchos Itauna
Ranked #15 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Going back as soon as I can!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

One of the most laid-back places around for sure! Definetly the best deal ON THE BEACH, We´ve been there many times and hope to get there again as soon as possible. hard to choose the best spot hammocks, yoga ranchos and so on...love to just walk to go surfing and don´t need the car for all! Peter and family see you soon!!

Room Tip: I like the ground floor rooms with kitchen and maybe they have more water pressure....but the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukas_fernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    10
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
29
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Ranchos Itauna WITHOUT DOUBT is the best deal on the beach. The property is beautiful, nice shady beachfront, awesome sunsets, a little "private" bay with low-tide rock pools, near the main surf points....excellent food, excellent attention. Peter and Fatima the owners will certainly look after you. The Cabinas are clean, well equipped and spacious...great stay for families and individuals alike. Forget the rest and head straight here.

Room Tip: all the cabins can sleep up to 4/5 people. Some even equipped for self-catering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChillDixon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at Ranchos Itauna during the month of March for almost two weeks. We loved the location - perfectly situated between two great surf breaks with private beach access. We loved the sunset sessions to chill out after surfing, have a drink, and order great food. Foley was AWESOME! Always a big smile and very helpful regarding the best times for surf, and where to go! I took a lesson from him and he was extremely encouraging and respectful of my limits in the water. The room itself was very comfortable and clean. The air conditioning was very appreciated and quiet. The property was usually pretty quiet and relaxing during the day with nice hammocks to chill out in. Very relaxing vacation. I would highly recommend a Stay at Ranchos Itauna.

While we were there we accidentally left my husband's wedding ring in the safe and Peter graciously couriered it to us. Thanks Peter!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 6mmcowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I really appreciated that we were right on the beach. Any time you want, you can wander a few steps from your villa to the sand and water - no need to walk down the road trying to find a public pathway that will give you access to the beach. And, as alluded to in other reviews, Peter and the crew at Rancho create a fantastic sunset vibe.... down near the beach they have a tiki bar, a DJ spinning relaxed house beats, mats and pillows and good eats to order at your pleasing. Again, so nice to have this after a day of surfing or exploring.... just come home and not have to go out searching for a place to chill at sunset.

In regards to the surf, again, perfect location.... head right and you have the santa teresa breaks and head left and you have the playa carmen breaks... out front is one of the few places along the beach that has a nice tidal pool so that you can swim without getting hit by breaking waves.

The surf instructor Foley was awesome, he knows the beaches well and puts effort into choosing the right location and time of day so that the waves best match your level of ability. He's very encouraging, always got a big smile, and clearly an experienced instructor.

All round it was a great place to chill out, swing in a hammock... play with the resident pooches.... Luna and Ghandi... ( the dogs ) eat some good food and catch some waves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6mmCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I spent some time at Ranchos Itauna. I stayed in two different rooms while there, both where comfortable, nice beds, hot water, AC, etc... I mostly enjoyed the beach, the hotel is set up just off the sand, so about 100 ft walk from your room and your in a beach combers paradise.
The Hammocks around the property deserve your full attention while there. Also if your a fan of house music or techno beats you need not go anywhere else, they have DJ's playing tunes almost every night, and if your lucky to be around there during the full moon party you will be among one of the largest party crowds in Santa Teresa.

They have a nice little beach bar and restaurant where you can enjoy sunsets and stay into the evening. This place is more about the sunsets, which they call Sunset Sessions, they play downtempo music and serve strong cheap drinks for happy hour, which so happens to coincide with the dropping of the sun.

Be sure to request Foley for any surf lessons you may need, he's not hard to miss seeing as he's the towering 7ft man with the big smile and ALWAYS carrying a balsa surf board on his head :)

For fishing or Fresh FISH look no farther than their local fisherman guru Glen! He can provide everything you need to catch a big one or you can grill up one of Glens catches yourself.

The owners are very accommodating, they speak about 4-5 languages between them, and they are always happy to provide information on where to go eat and play while in town. You get a different feel while staying here, almost like your staying with-in a small community rather than a hotel.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room if you can, the balcony is a nice hang out spot. BTW these rooms can comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onemindspinning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Heads up travelers: don't waste your time here! While this hotel seved it's purpose, we will never return, or recommend this place. There are MUCH better options very close by. We arrived exhausted from traveling for our two day reservation. Against our better judgement we were persuaded to extend our reservation with the promise of a reduced rate for staying three nights or more. We paid in cash and trusted Foley, who claimed he did not have the correct change for us at that time, but would settle up at the end of our stay. Despite the smiles, don't take this man's word! He took all of our cash and had already "paid the bills" with it by the time we checked out. No change, and we ended up paying for almost a whole extra night! Better spent elsewhere. The room was advertised with a secure safe and wifi. The safe was broken, and advertised wifi was only a one bar, available from a certain spot far away from the room. The water pressure was pitiful, and there was no shampoo. The bed was hard. The room was clean enough, but nothing like the other places in town. The beach is beautiful, but you cannot swim here except at low tide because it is very rocky. The worst part was walking out feeling swindled!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie020239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchositauna, Propietario at Ranchos Itauna, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
After talking to Foley there is defenitley a second side of the accusation. First the clients said they wanted to stay 5 nights and Foley gave them a better deal.Then the clients decided to leave after 2 nights but insisted on the rate for 5 nights ! This doesn't work like that. Then the lady wanted a better excange rate then the bank is giving,which doesn't exist in an hotel either. The safe worked but the client never asked for the instuctions and loked her stuff inside ! We never offer shampoo.We offer smal soaps for hotels. As you are in Costa Rica , please don't forget that you are in a 3rd world country and sometimes the internet doesn't have the full 5 bars, specially if it rains.......or the shower might no have the same pressure as at your home........Also we are not a 5 star hotel !!!!!!!!
Foley said he NEVER took a change from you and didn't give it back and said that he paied bills with it. i dodn't think that your change was so big that he could have payed electricity bills with it.
we DON'T work with a policy like that. If some inconveniences happend we are sorry for that and we apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my two-hour beginners surf lesson with Foley, an experienced surfer and longtime Santa Teresa resident. Originally from Holland, Foley fell in love with this surfing spot over ten years ago and surfing and teaching others to surf are clearly his passion! He was so friendly and encouraging - as a slightly skittish person, I was so grateful for his willingness to meet me at my level and only push me as far as I wanted to go in terms of the learning. I left wanting to do more surfing in the future and walked away with the basics!

Room Tip: I didn't spend the night here - just did a surfing lesson, but it looks like a spectacular place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.8 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#10 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#8 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#23 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacifica Surf Studios
Pacifica Surf Studios
#20 of 31 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranchos Itauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranchos Itauna

Property: Ranchos Itauna
Address: Meters North Super Costa 100, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run business on one of the most beautiful beachfront properties in St,Teresa. The property is inbetween the 2 main surfing beaches situated on a 5000sqmtr big property. The property has lush tropical vegetation and infront of the property we have the best natural pool in whole St.Teresa. Just walk out to the beach and jump into the Pacific Ocean. we also offer 4 comfortable , clean and secure rooms. 2 are equiped with kitchens. all rooms have wifi. We have a restaurant which serves breakfast all year round . From nov. to april we also offer restaurant service from 3 pm , specially for sunsets on on our ocean front.there is also free parking, a chill rancho with sofas and dvd player and a beautiful yoga and massage rancho out on the front.we offer all kind of excursions, massage, yoga classes and we offer NSSSIA certified surf instructors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ranchos Itauna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranchos Itauna Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing