We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tremendous honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2010

My new husband and I just returned from our honeymoon, which was spent partly at Pranamar. I'm going to sound like a broken record after reading the other reviews, but we had a marvelous time and loved this resort. We can't agree more that the people contribute, in large part, to the experience. There is not an unfriendly person in the place and the warmth is genuine. We owe special thanks to Marianne, Mario, Joselyn, Sebastian, Eva, Melissa, and Susan. In addition, Nancy is a wonderful yoga instructor, and Andy was able to make my husband feel like maybe he can learn yoga after all (no small feat). I've never written a review on trip advisor, but felt I had to this time. The yoga studio is fabulous, the food is divine, the recommendations on other restaurants are spot on, and so on and so on.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Manager at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2010

Dear Honeymooners,
Thank you!!!! It does not sound like a broken record, it sounds lovely! This is the best way for us to learn how we are doing. Serving our guests, providing them with an exceptional service is why we are here, and your comments help us work harder and happier. I hope, and we all, the Pranamar Family, wish you and your husband a life full of love and peace, and we hope you to have you back, whenever, just contact us, we will all be here waiting!
From sunny Santa Teresa we send you both a huge hug!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 293 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2010

I went to Pranamar Villas for a weekend getaway with a couple of friends and it turned out to be a one of a kind weekend!
The beach and natural environment surrounding the villas are breath taking, not to mention the surfing...but what really made the difference was the incredible energy that you feel staying at Pranamar. The staff (or family as they call themselves) is lovely, I am a real pain when it comes to food (no animals, all raw, specific food combinig) and I have to say I ate like a princess!!!!
Yoga shala = AMAZING as well as the instructor, we had private classes in which we all could practice and deepen our knowledge.
ALL IN ALL LOVED IT, DEFINETELY A WORLD FAVORITE!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaDe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

The Pranamar Villas are a dream! The accommodations are luxurious and exotic, while comfortable, clean, and stocked with every modern amenity you'd need (including free wifi!). Located just a few feet away from the beach, the location is beautiful and exactly what you'd imagine paradise would be. The best part about the resort, however, is the totally unparalleled staff. Office managers Marianne, Sebastian, and Mario are fantastic - helpful, friendly and they instantly made us feel at home. They were quick to suggest and plan several fun adventures for us, including ziplining and horseback riding. The restaurant staff - Chef Devin and bartenders and waiters Alvara, Venezio, and Kenneth - were the absolute best. And the food is AMAZING. Be sure to take yoga classes with Nancy - the best yoga teacher I've ever had. One might suspect that this is all hyperbole, but everything about Pranamar far exceeded expectations and is truly the most wonderful place I've ever been. My friend and I fully intend to make a Pranamar visit an annual tradition. Thank you, thank you, thank you to everyone there for making our vacation so incredibly special!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Manager at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2010

It brings a smile to all of our faces to read such great comments! Thank you so much, it makes us realize this is why we work here, to make our guests and visitors happy, to provide a service like no other and to read your review... it is just so rewarding!!! So thank you.. in a few words...!!! We all hope to see you back!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

From the second we pulled into the drive we were welcomed like family. The accommodations, staff and location to the beach were top notch. Chef Davin and the rest of the kitchen staff created the best meals that we experienced while in country. The wait staff and bar tenders were great. We felt like we had personalized service the entire stay.
I cannot say enough about this place. I would recommend Pranamar to all of my friends and family and I plan on going back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denver5279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Manager at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2010

Dear Friend,

It was our pleasure having you here with us. You are like family to us! It is our goal that every guest at Pranamar feels like family! Please invite your friends as well, the more the merrier!
Wish to see you back! Fun, sun, food and drinks await you!

Warm regards,
The Pranamar Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We attended a wedding and stayed at Pranamar this year! I don't really know where to start, but the wedding was beautiful and perfectly executed with surprise entertainment and delicious food and gorgeous views, in addition the rooms/villas surround a flowing pool that is perfect for relaxing and you are just steps from the beach. I only was able to attend 1-yoga class, but it was a challenging and good one and I felt like a new person after it! If you are looking for Yoga, Relaxation, Great food, Romance and Hospitality go here....

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rensarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We began our Costa Rica excursion at this hotel in Santa Teresa. When we entered the hotel room we were both speechless. The entire room is open air with sliding glass doors facing the beach. The master bathroom was all open air as well with a romantic outdoor shower. The beach is three steps outside your villa with great waves and amazing sea shells waiting to be collected.

We ate every meal at the hotel restaurant and the food was amazing! Fresh, healthy and filling with amazing service. Spending the day swimming in the pool, re-centering ourselves with amazing yoga taught by Nancy (co-owner of the hotel), watching the sunset from our balcony and having a romantic dinner at the restaurant allowed us to find simplistic romance... It was like falling in love all over again. You will not find anything like this outside of Pranamar. We spent four nights at this hotel and wished we had stayed longer! Thank you Susan and staff!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Manager at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2010

What a wonderful thing love is....! It fills our hearts with joy to know that you guys rekindled your love in our little piece of paradise.
We are still up and going with yoga, now we have added more classes in the afternoon, including pilates, and afro-cuban dance lessons...! So, for next time we be sure you can enjoy more yoga and more classes.
Wish to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

What an incredible stylish feel good luxury hideaway . Amazing food , great casual service and spectacular rooms . I can't wait to visit again .

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UlrikN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
199 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#8 of 26 in Santa Teresa
254 reviews
2.1 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
254 reviews
2.8 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat

Address: Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa 154, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $191 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Rica’s Premier Ocean Front HotelPranamar Ocean Front Villas and Yoga Retreat, an intimate, consciously designed oceanfront hotel recently built on the spectacular beach of Playa Santa Teresa, offers guests tropical beauty and nature in an exotic and friendly ambience. Along with world-class surfing and our top-quality Yoga classes, numerous activities and adventures await you.Immerse yourself in the beauty and ease into nature’s rhythm as Pranamar’s experienced and caring staff take care of all the details, making sure your vacation is perfect.Our hotel offers a variety of accommodations to fit your needs and desires: our luxurious two-storey villas built around a free-form saltwater pool have private lounging areas, tropical gardens and boast spectacular views, while the ecologically-constructed bungalows offer tropical simplicity with sea breezes, spacious decks and views of the ocean.Pranamar’s beautifully designed open-air restaurant and tea lounge specializes in healthy, delicious cuisine using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and organic meats.We invite you to step into the rhythm of nature, breath in the energy of the sea and discover... PRANAMAR!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pranamar Villas And Yoga Retreat Hotel Santa Teresa
Pranamar Villas And Yoga Retreat Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing