We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect vacation spot to unwind and reconnect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had the most amazing family vacation at Pranamar over the Christmas holiday this year. All the glowing reviews are true - I cannot say enough about this wonderful place. Here's the scoop:

1. the grounds are beautiful. It's a relatively small property with about 10 villas/bungalows total. Lush vegetation surrounds everything with quaint paths connecting rooms, restaurant, yoga studio and the beach.

2. the villas are spacious, clean and comfortable. We were in #5 right on the pool and near the restaurant. Bedrooms have plenty of space, decks, fans, a/c, screens, etc. downstairs bath has a large outdoor shower area. the living room has room to spreadout and a mini fridge.

3. the restaurant serves terrific food. breakfast is included and you order off the menu - better than a lot breakfast buffets. they are also very accommodating to special requests. One day we went fishing and brought back several large fish - they converted into ceviche for lunch and grilled fish for dinner with homemade tortilla chips. Divine.

4. the pool has two levels - very pretty, water a good temp and perfect for plunging to cool off - it's not a lap pool.

5. yoga is the BEST. 1 class a day is included, either the 9am or 5pm class. Nancy the instructor is a true yogi, with coaching, guidance, support and lots of love. She also offers private yoga classes - which we did once and was worth the money.

6. beach is perfect. Don't be put off by the rocks immediately in front of their beach - they create beautiful tide pools and 'baths' for cooling off and playing with kids. The real beach for surfing and real swimming is 5 mins away at Playa Hermosa.

7. we took surfing lessons and got massages - both were great.

8. the staff and owners were present and delightful but respected guests's need for privacy.

9. if you drive, the hotel is about 15 mins up the road once you turn onto the beach road in Playa Carman. The road is VERY bumpy in the last 5 mins.

10. in addition to the hotel, we ate at Koji for sushi (amazing and 5 min walk from hotel) and Shalamar at Tropico Latino (also amazing).

There is nothing I would change. Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Villas 3,4,5 and 6 are right on the pool. Villas 1 and 2 are on the beach and larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiazInCr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Happy Happy Guest,
Wow! That was a WOW review and I wish I could send a thank you that really could portray how happy you have made us.
I know I repeat myself all the time , but thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review and thank you for your support and trust in us.
What makes a hotel owner rejoice, is when we have happy guests! Hence, you have made my day!
Happy New Year and please come visit us again!
Warmly
Susan Money, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 296 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

One of the best places I have ever been. Amazing yoga retreat with excellent service and serene surroundings. Incredible food served with a smile and friendship the entire time. The accommodations were spacious and had stylish decor. Perfect!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoFo1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Happy Happy folks,
Its the day after Christmas and I just read your review. Thank you so much for making the "day after Christmas" so nice for me. What can I say? Nothing makes me happier than a happy guest. May your new Year be filled with loving and kind relationships and may we be blessed to have you return one day!
From my heart,
Thank you!
Susan Money, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I don't know where to start with how wonderful and special this place is. First, the location. Right on the beach, with some of the most fun, gentle surfing waves you can imagine. Walk out of your bungalow, take a few steps, and you are on a miles long beach that you are sharing with maybe, on a weekend, 20 other people, all spread out. You largely have the beach to yourself -- paradise!! The beach in front of Pranamar is a little rocky for swimming, but fine for wading and meditating among the tidepools. And OMG the sunsets over the water. We watched every night and it filled us with wonder. A 5-6 minute walk gets you to a gorgeous beach with great swimming and surfing. Second, the people. Owners were on site when we visited, and the staff were so friendly, that after only a week we came to think of them as friends. My husband celebrated his birthday here, and the staff asked if we wanted to have a special dinner brought to our cottage. With all honesty, we said, no, we want to be with our new friends. I think the staff genuinely like working there and it shows. Third, the yoga. We had three instructors during our week, all excellent. The yoga is a pretty standard vinyasa practice, nothing too too strenuous (I am used to a Baptiste practice, so keep that in mind -- this isn't Hatha), with a few Bikram and ashtanga poses thrown in. There was also a Yin class. Fourth, the accommodations. We stayed 5 days in Bungalow 2 and then 3 days at one of the White House cottages. Both were lovely, but we preferred the Bungalow at Pranamar. Bungalow 2 was great, an amazing outdoor shower and comfy bed, plenty of space and clean. I honestly don't know where the bad reviews about bugs and cleanliness come from (??). I guess I agree with VascoDG -- if you are into super-lux hotel chain type resorts in touristy areas, I guess this isn't for you. Actually, don't come here -- you might mess up the Zen of this place. But if you want a chill, restful vibe, in peaceful, friendly surroundings, Buddha and other yoga inspired furnishings around you, and not a lot of people, this is for you. The White House is a little more posh, with a full kitchen, and more secluded. Pranamar has the feel of a community and the paths are almost like meditation mazes. The pool at Pranamar was built to look like a river (it meanders, has a green bottom, and is surrounded by a lush tropical garden) and we loved swimming and lolling around in it. I actually thought Bungalow 2 was kind of a deal -- we got breakfast and yoga classes for both of us included, and given that the room was a good value. Oh -- and the food at the restaurant is delicious. Which is good, b/c there's not a lot within walking distance here (there's one tapas place 5 mins walk away which is yummy, but cash only!).
The only thing I'd say is I wish there were screens on the windows and doors -- we love fresh air and don't love a/c, but it is probably not a good idea to throw open the windows without screens, because this is the jungle and yes there are bugs here. But in all honesty they didn't bother us at all. We didn't even use our bug repellent that I anxiously brought after reading the reviews (I'm usually the girl covered in mosquito bites after the camping trip). In any event, I wish I could have slept with fresh air, but I was too chicken to do so without screens.
Basically, one of the nicest places we've ever stayed. A pain to get here (if you are from the NorthEast US) but utterly worth it. A great feeling about the place and so restful and gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. Thank you Pranamar for a great vacation!!

Room Tip: Bungalow 2 was great. Small fridge, open air shower, little sitting area and bedroom. Comfy, feng sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikergirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Pranamar Villas was an oasis where you can come to play, rest, relax, and enjoy the beauty of Costa Rica. The grounds were beautiful, the villas were nice and it was great having pool access right of my porch. The food and restaurant staff was amazing. So friendly, helpful, and served the most delicious fresh food! Yoga with Nancy is a must and I don't know that I have ever had a better massage then the one that I got there from Gaia! Great place to stay. Can't wait to visit again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Amazing Place reviewers!!
Wow, what a wonderful and amazing review! Thank you for taking the time to write. Nothing pleases me more than to have a happy guests.
Tomorrow is Thanksgiving; I am filled with Grace because of the wonderful guests and friends that I have the incredible experience of meeting at Pranamar! Really, at age 65, what matters most in life is to be surrounded by loving folks.
Thanks thanks thanks. Hope you have a wonderful holiday!
Namaste
Susan Money, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Bugs, bumpy roads, undeveloped area, no shopping malls and noisy animals. That pretty much sums it up.....for someone who should better stay at home.

If you are a person who prefer to steer clear of mass tourism and like to get off the beaten track, if you think that the regular 5* hotel chains lack personality , if you value eco-thinking, if you like the staff of a hotel to have big hearts & an excellent service level, if you like exquisite cuisine, if you like yoga, long walks on the beach, surfing, horseback riding, trekking, interacting with the locals etc....and oh, if you don't mind if a flock of parrots happen to make a close flyby - then you will probably find Santa Teresa in general and Pranamar in particular to be Heaven on Earth!

I can not recommend Pranamar and the area of Santa Seresa high enough, go and you will create a spectacular memory that will be with you forever (and this comes from someone who has tasted everything from Las Vegas to the Maldives)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VascoDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Guests of Heaven on Earth,
Its the Christmas Season and I can not think of a better gift to receive than the gift of your kind and loving words! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other readers and for taking the time to really write a detailed report.
I have noticed in life, that people always take the time to gossip or report bad news, so it is especially wonderful to have folks like you sit down and report good news.
May you have a wonderful Holiday season and may 2014 find you on our doorstep again.
Much love
Susan Money, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

so i stayed there in january of 2012, the grounds were astonishing as were the staff, i ended up renting an entire villa(oops) so it was mostly quiet other than the pool rats (noisy children) my villa was poolside. the yoga was a fe wlevels above my abilities and gave me good cause to try harder to level up, perfect!!! i needed the challenge the room was clean and tidy i couldn't have asked for more, the massage was one of the best I've experienced, the wifi was iffy in most places other than my villa

Room Tip: if you like your sleep don't get a poolside villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Friend
I read your review three times, trying to figure out when you were here. Seems it was january almost one year ago. Im delighted you had such a good time and it was so nice of you to send the review, My two grandchildren live next door to the hotel. Yeek!, I hope it wasnt me playing with them in the pool one day. I'm usually very tuned into any guests that might be around, but I have gotten caught "up in the moment " on occasion!
But sounds like we found you a front villa, and I know that had to have worked well!
Future visitors, do not worry, our pool closes early to kids and we rarely have kids. The ones who do come are usually surfing, doing zip lines, on the beach, just not hanging much in the pool.
Most important thing is you had a good time and I sure thank you for your comments and for your appreciation for Pranamar!
May our paths cross again one day...
Susan Money, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We came just at the end of the wet season and the weather was amazing. We got the lovely fortune of being able to book our 8-day stay at the off-peak season price of $305 per night which is DRASTICALLY less expensive than peak season at $620 per night and it still felt like an expensive vacation.

Pros:
Neat, clean and spacious with modern amenities.
Very easy access to beach.
Amazing views and sunsets.
Amazing spa and massage treatment.
Included daily yoga.
Warm water and good waves.
Wonderful villas (ours was beach-facing).
Very friendly staff.
Pretty quiet and secluded.
Loved Suntrails canopy zip-lining in Montezuma.

Cons:
Cannot really walk to much.

SUPER EXPENSIVE TAXI service that the hotel organizes for you and you must use it to go to and from airport as well as to go anywhere or do any excursions. Examples:
$30 round trip to go into Santa Teresa which is a couple miles away.
$60 one way to airport which is 40ish mins away.
$100 round trip to Montezuma which is 30ish mins away (where the good canopy zip-lining is located).

Food and drink is expensive with the 13% tax and 10% service added on the back end of every meal.

Beach directly in front of villas is rocky and you must walk down the beach a ways to swim...something to note but not a big deal.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Garrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pranamar, Owner at Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Friends
So glad you liked our villas and found the spa and grounds wonderful! Thank you for all the nice comments.
On the other hand, I'm a little surprised you thought that you couldnt walk much. I walk four hours a day on the beach, I'm training for the El Camino de Santiago de Compostela and if you start at low tide, you can walk at least two hours or more north and then return. So I find the walking spectacular! The beach where we all swim takes about 5 minutes to walk so im sorry you found that not very convenient!
As for the expense of the taxis, I am sorry, they are not cheap. But I must let the reader know, we do not own any taxi service, we use all the local guys and yes, their fees are high. I agree! But, do you remember the condition of the roads? They are dreadful on cars, dreadful and even after living here 26 years, I am staggered at the amount of money we all have to pour into our cars to keep them running. I suspect that is why the taxis cost so much. But I would like all readers to know that these prices are set by all the drivers and we do not own the cars or the service. Also cars in Costa Rica are heavily taxed so cars and parts here are around 70% more expensive than they are in the U.S.
The taxes in the restaurant are mandatory taxes and again, are set by the government and out of our control. But we make every effort to serve you good size portions, fresh organic produce, fish only caught that morning and using only local foods. I am glad you liked the quality of the meals and the food, but again, the taxes are not revenues we create nor particularly enjoy!

Thank you for sharing your vacation with us and your thoughts. Sounds like you had a good time and I'm delighted to hear from you!
Many thanks
Susan Money, owner Pranamar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 27 in Santa Teresa
207 reviews
1 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
159 reviews
1.7 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
1.7 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat

Address: Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa 154, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $286 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Rica’s Premier Ocean Front HotelPranamar Ocean Front Villas and Yoga Retreat, an intimate, consciously designed oceanfront hotel recently built on the spectacular beach of Playa Santa Teresa, offers guests tropical beauty and nature in an exotic and friendly ambience. Along with world-class surfing and our top-quality Yoga classes, numerous activities and adventures await you.Immerse yourself in the beauty and ease into nature’s rhythm as Pranamar’s experienced and caring staff take care of all the details, making sure your vacation is perfect.Our hotel offers a variety of accommodations to fit your needs and desires: our luxurious two-storey villas built around a free-form saltwater pool have private lounging areas, tropical gardens and boast spectacular views, while the ecologically-constructed bungalows offer tropical simplicity with sea breezes, spacious decks and views of the ocean.Pranamar’s beautifully designed open-air restaurant and tea lounge specializes in healthy, delicious cuisine using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and organic meats.We invite you to step into the rhythm of nature, breath in the energy of the sea and discover... PRANAMAR!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pranamar Villas And Yoga Retreat Hotel Santa Teresa
Pranamar Villas And Yoga Retreat Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing