We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful & relaxing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf Vista Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf Vista Villas
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful & relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband & I stayed at Andy's place for 10 days for our honeymoon - it was perfect! Before we got there I was a bit concerned about privacy since it was our honeymoon but once we arrived all the worries went away once we saw our room (Sunset Reef room on the top floor) with the privacy bamboo wall that separated our balcony area from the shared area & the private hammock, table/chairs, lounge chair, bench & eating bar... overlooking the beautiful trees & greenery teeming with parrots & parakeets, magpie-jays, woodpeckers, hummingbirds, vultures, howler monkeys, iguanas, etc etc.... With views of the ocean swells in the (not too far) distance!
We had a private kitchen in our room which has pretty much everything you could need to live there. If for some reason you feel the need to make a gourmet meal there's also a communal kitchen on the upper level & a BBQ grill!
The villa is very clean & peaceful. There is an awesome waterfall shower outside to use after a day of sweet surfing... which is easy to do since Andy has any surfboard you could dream up ready for use/rental. Also available is are ATV's which we made use of a few of the days that we were there.
If I were to plan the trip again the ONLY thing I would do differently is rent an ATV (or car) for the stay. Like everyone says... the hill is EPIC. Like, long & steep & yes.. a GREAT workout, which is why we didn't mind because we figured walking home was working off all food & alcohol we were consuming, BUT it is a trek. We are very active people & "in shape" so it was fine but you have been warned! HOWEVER, the hill is what makes this place so great! It's in the jungle but it's only a 8 minute walk to the beach (downhill) & it's quiet! Aside from the nature noises, which aren't noise but sweet music to the ear! It's not close to the street or city noise so it's totally worth it. Just get a vehicle or do a 250 squat challenge (which I did) to prepare. :)
Another great perk was having AC in the room. In general we like the heat but some nights were very humid & it was great to just be able to push a button & be cooled down.
ALSO! Bring 3 times as much deet/repellant as you think you'll need - everywhere we went I felt like I need to put more on. Especially in the evening when you want to lounge in the hammock or sit at the bar & stare at the ocean, them mosquitos are quick!
We ate at Soda Tiquicia ALOT which is walking distance from the villa - they have the best Arroz con Pollo EVER & amazing Civiche with fried green bananas... you must get it.
It was very easy to book the reservation at Surf Vista Villas, rent ATV's & surfboards & any tours or taxi service or whatever was easily taken care of by Andy.
The downside to staying here is the depression you have to deal with when you're booking your taxi home.

Room Tip: Sunset Reef was the best for privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
75
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife and I spent a week at the villas for our honeymoon and we couldn't have picked a better place. The setting and location were amazing, set up on a bluff in the forest overlooking Santa Teresa beach. We spent the week beach hopping, which worked out so well as there were numerous beaches within a 20 minute drive. We concur with a lot of the other reviewers, get a car or quad for the climb up the hill and getting around town. We did end up walking up the hill every night, but we put up a sweat. This place is good for couples, family, or friends and we have already recommended it to others. Andy was a great host as he met us after dark on our first night and was full of recommendation for local restaurants and beaches.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanYangguizi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

My boyfriend and I straggled in at around 9pm without a reservation, but was recommended to us by the place we had stayed at in Lake Arenal. We had tried to call earlier on in the day and no one had picked up so we chanced it and decided to try our luck.

At first, it was daunting driving up the steep hill at night, not knowing whether Surf Vista Villas existed or not. It isn't paved and there are no lights. We arrived and there wasn't anyone there, so we made our way up to the top floor of Andy's house. He was having a small get together, but stepped out to show us a room that he had available on short notice. We stayed in the "birdcage" for the first two nights, but the last two, we had stayed on the main floor in the furthest room of the house.

The views and sunsets are absolutely spectacular. We woke up every morning to birds singing and the sounds of waves crashing. There are hammocks galore and it's a great place to relax! Andy keeps the villa in great shape - it is very clean, spacious and comfortable. He also let us use the laundry facilities as well as rent surfboards.

I would absolutely stay at this place again in a heartbeat. His two dogs, Hamoa and Dexter, are the sweetest pups! The only thing I would suggest is that if you do come to Surf Vista Villas, make sure you have a car to get up the hill because its a bit difficult to get back down to the main road otherwise!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the far end of the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
305shorty
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

My 4 girl friends and I decided to do a girls trip to Costa Rica and could not have been happier with Andy's place. Although the drive to St. Teresa was a little tricky in the rainy season, the villa was worth the drive! It was in close proximity to everywhere we wanted to go while still being removed from the noises of the town so that we could really immerse ourselves in nature. We woke up every morning to awesome views of the beach and the jungle and got to enjoy these views on the many hammocks available to us. I would love to go back there one day!

Room Tip: There are multiple rooms available and the website shows pics of all of them, make sure you find out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rodriguez_305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Surf Villa Vista and we had a wonderful time. The house is located on a hill with a beautiful view of the ocean and amazing sunset. The property is clean, spacious and very well maintained.

Andy the host was very helpful and gave us good suggestion on restaurants and assisted us on all our inquiries.

I would definitely stay at the Surf Villa if I again visit Santa Teresa. Pura Vida "pure life "

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nawang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Andy's place was incredible - spacious, comfortable, clean, shower had great water pressure and it had everything we needed. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and Andy was always available for questions and assisted us with everything we needed. We had an amazing stay!

The view from the property was breathtaking - it was hard not to get out of bed each morning to watch the sunrise while monkeys and birds greeted you.

We also rented Andy's ATV for the week to get around town and to head to Montezuma and Playa Hermosa. We highly recommend having a vehicle for the stay as it saves lots of time from getting from one place to another.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angel_andrew_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

This house on the hill, overlooking Santa Teresa Beach was just beautiful!
The apartments were perfectly laid out with a great kitchen and a balcony you could spend hours in.
The price was really reasonable for the standard of this place.
Just a note worth knowing, we stayed 4 nights and the room wasn't serviced once - so don't put your towels on the floor!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.0 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Vista Villas

Property: Surf Vista Villas
Address: 150 Meters North of Super la Hacienda in Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Teresa Surf Vista Villas is a new resort consisting of six luxury villas all with panoramic ocean/wave views. Each villa is complete with a fully equipped kitchen, large bathroom with hot water, a/c, new beds with posturpedic mattresses, ceiling fans, wireless capability and a huge deck with breathtaking views. Sunsets can't be seen from a better location and mornings are peaceful and serene with daily visits from exotic birds and howler monkeys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Surf Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Vista Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing