We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“epic views and great surf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Vista Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Vista Villas
Save
You added Surf Vista Villas to your Saves list
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“epic views and great surf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was looking forward to plush accommodations and good waves and got just that. Located above the best surf spot in Santa Teresa, our super clean unit on the second story had a perfect ocean view, comfortable beds, nice bathroom and a kitchen area with a full size fridge. Andy was a great host, sharing with me and my bro all the best places to shop and eat. Great restaurants in the area.
Huge balcony to enjoy jungle and ocean views during cocktail hour after a day of surfing and swimming.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Koya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
65
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Santa Teresa Surf Villas is a fabulous find. Situated high on a hill overlooking the Pacific, surrounded by lush jungle foilage. You will wake to howler monkeys, parrots & Uracas in the nearby canopy. Andrew is an excellent host; available always...but never in the way. Ridiculously large accomodations, a fabulous outdoor kitchen. The villa is built to take advantage of the breezes. Book early

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have never felt the need to review a property until now.

Just returned from a trip with a total of 6 friends to Santa Teresa CR. Spent 10 days at SVV. Jan - Feb '13.

Overall a GREAT stay at Surf Vista Villas! Rooms are new, clean and have all that is needed for any couple family or group of friends. Andy and his staff were polite and accommodating in regard to all details of our stay. I will be taking the family down next time.

Views are best I have had in CR or any surf trip 20+ years.

Andy is a great host and was able to share information about Santa Teresa and the surrounding areas that made our stay that much more enjoyable. He has taken the time to get to know what, where, and when to recommend activities for any adventure you have on your mind. Reading other reviews I realized I'm as articulate but can simply say:

"Best property in Santa Teresa/Mal Pais!"
G.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Wow! Great location, breathtaking views. Andy is a first rate host. We rented an ATV from him and had one of the best vacations of our lives. Lovely time relaxing on the deck and taking it all in. Central location in Santa Teresa is convenient to everything and up above the bustle and noise of the town. Imagine walking out of your villa in the morning to see toucans in the trees right off the deck. In the evening enjoy the smell of ylang ylang in the cool ocean breeze.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper deck. The restaurant at the bottom of the drive is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyMtnHiball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were a group of two families, 4 adults and 5 children
We stayed in the wonderful Villa Bonita for 7 nights in the middle of November, and we all had a blast. Each couple got their own room with private bathroom and shower, and the kids split the other two rooms, and used the big bath in the shared bathroom. The children loved the pool, and spent hours in it every day. The younger children enjoyed the playground with the swings and jungle gym. The older children took surfing lessons right by the house with an amazing instructor arrainged by Emilya, the owner of the house.
The adults enjoyed sitting in the big porch in the evenings after the children had gone to bed, relaxing and enjoying each others company.

There were many wonderful restaurants in Santa Teresa, and we enjoyed eating out at different ones every night.
We all loved the house, it is big enough to hold everyone, and still give everyone their privacy.
We will definitely be coming back in the future.

Room Tip: talk with emiliya tal-00506-89944947
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I'm challenged to find the exact words to describe our experience at Surf Vista Villas. Not long enough (all cliches aside)...would certainly be an essential start. Allow yourself at least a week to fully appreciate what this little gem has to offer. Andy couldn't have been more welcoming and provided the ultimate 'local experience.' The town is quaint and the beach...well, you can easily see why Santa Teresa is one of the top surf destinations world wide. Armed with a surfboard or simply a towel, the endless stretch of perfect sand and crashing waves promise to keep you lingering for "just one more minute."

This haven has everything you need and nothing you don't. We had just come from the Marriot in San Jose for a few nights and I would stay at Surf Vista Villas ANY DAY over their pretentious counterparts. Don't get me wrong, it was beautiful, but you will NOT beat the down-to-earth hosting, heart stopping ocean views, jungle submersion and beach town bliss!! (and at a fraction of the price, I almost had to pinch myself...)

And the space...oh my...the space...
The Villa was open, airy, high on a cliff and gave rise to the entire fantasy vision of a tropical paradise created in my mind before even arriving. I wanted to cartwheel, pirouette, laugh, cry and sit in quiet reflection all at the same time, when stepping out on the deck for the first morning intake. The vibe already set with the alarm clock of a surrounding jungle brimming with life, radiantly back-lit shades of green with ribbons of sunshine streaming through, suggesting only that the day take you where it may...

Fellow yoga enthusiasts MUST stay here! Having both private and communal wrap around deck space, your practice is sure to be unforgettable...Morning, noon or night!

Just sit and swing while the sun slowly sinks and enjoy the evening symphony of night time jungle buzz as moon-rays dance on the surface of endless ocean...

Seriously folks...are you getting the picture?

Your taste buds will be tantalized with the fine culinary delights of the local fare. Our first night Andy introduced us to an amazing mixed seafood grill at a super-chill restaurant. I still daydream about it...Mmmmm. Followed by a delightful breakfast and a heavenly latte at the bakery (apparently the only place with AC, so it's hoppin')

The end of the rainy season was perfect (November), everything was lush and the air was warm and rich (driving the strip through town is a bit dusty).The Villa proximity ensures a drive to Montezuma is a must!

I can go on and on...but I will save that for my next review when our stay at this 'jewel of the Nicoya' will be far longer than a teasing few days, from which we had to be dragged kicking and screaming :-D

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The photos online of the property don't do it justice. This is paradise. We spent the week prior to Christmas in this amazing location. The view and the sounds of the jungle that surround it were breathtaking and extraordinary. Our room was spacious and absolutely perfect. In our time in Santa Teresa I didn't see another location that compared to Surf Vista. We will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.5 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.8 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Vista Villas

Property: Surf Vista Villas
Address: | meters north of Super la Hacienda in Santa Teresa 150, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Teresa Surf Vista Villas is a new resort consisting of six luxury villas all with panoramic ocean/wave views. Each villa is complete with a fully equipped kitchen, large bathroom with hot water, a/c, new beds with posturpedic mattresses, ceiling fans, wireless capability and a huge deck with breathtaking views. Sunsets can't be seen from a better location and mornings are peaceful and serene with daily visits from exotic birds and howler monkeys. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surf Vista Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing