We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing through and through”
Review of Makanas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Makanas
Ranked #13 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Makanas for a week and we could not have had a better experience. The location is perfect--it is secluded enough to preserve wildlife but is also easily accessible.
The beach is less than a minute walk where you can relax all day and enjoy an amazing sunset by night. The rooms themselves are immaculate. Hot showers (which was super exciting for us!), very comfortable beds, a good-size deck with chairs and a hammock. Aaron and Tatiana go above and beyond to ensure your experience is perfect, while giving you very much personal space all the same. If you're going to Santa Teresa, definitely stay here. If you're not sure about going to Santa Teresa, you should definitely reconsider!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 234Blaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron A, General Manager at Makanas, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for your review! It was our pleasure to have you here, and we enjoyed it as much as you did. It is always great watching people explore and experience Costa Rica for the first time, your excitement rubs off on us! From all of the staff at Makana's, thank you for staying with us. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Makanas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 46 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Amazing trip - wish we could have stayed longer! Accommodations were perfect for the two of us. We were able to charter our own fishing excursion, learned to surf, zip-line through Montezuma, and explore the area in only three days. There was certainly more that we wanted to do and we will definitely be back to experience everything else that Santa Teresa has to offer! The ocean is only steps away and you can hear the surf crashing on the beach when relaxing after a fun-filled day in the area.

Everything was reasonably priced, even though we hadn't made reservations in advance. Aaron was extremely helpful and made the trip fantastic! He had great ideas about the activities we could do and got everything set up for us at a moments notice.

The area is definitely a well kept secret. You will feel as though you have the entire beach to yourself and that you have found your own tropical paradise. we can't wait to go back, it was one of the best trips we have ever taken!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teetor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed in Makanas for a week, had a great time and didn't spend a fortune.
The cabins were ultra clean and felt private. The location is in my opinion perfect, since its secluded enough you get to see the monkeys and the birds while escaping the dust that plagues most everywhere in town, beautiful Florblanca Hotel for yoga, massage, dinner and cocktails is basically next door, secret little tidepools, and just down the beach is another restaurant/sunset cocktail bar Roca Mar as well as a pointbreak and the begining of the beach break. So you get both seclusion and amenities.
Aaron and Tatiana, our hosts, were the best part of it all, making sure I was comfortable, sharing breakfast and coffee with the guests and making us feel so at home. Both of them are 100% knowledgeable about the area, having lived here most of their lives, so anything you need is a phone call away.
They offer surf lessons and fishing trips. I took very fun surf lessons with Aaron, (he's been teaching surfing for years) he set me up with a board and all, and another guest went fishing for tuna. Later we cooked the fish on-site. Aaron is fantastic cook and Tatiana a sweet hostess. Everybody was very happy.
I am coming back here next trip, so i would absolutely recommend.
Good for singles, good for couples and if you have children, the cabanas are safe and have a variety of bed distributions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 481AlS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Review

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for charming, affordable accommodations right by the beach. Cabinas Makanas is located a bit outside the village of Santa Teresa, which makes it secluded and more tranquil. The ocean is only 300 feet away and that stretch of beach is among the most beautiful in the area. It's also not far from the top surfing spots. There are only three bungalows in a nicely landscaped garden so it feels very private.  Each spacious bungalow has teak-wood ceilings with fans and is equipped with fridge and coffee maker. All are very clean and functional and have nice verandas overlooking the garden. I enjoyed spending time in the hammock, watching the iguanas and howler monkeys who love to visit the neighboring trees. This is a great place to hang out and feel the peaceful, jungle vibes. But what makes Cabinas Makanas truly special is the TLC you get from Kari who runs this small hotel and its incredibly delicious restaurant Ambrosia with friendly efficiency. Her passion for creative, flavorful food translates into simple yet superb specialties such as the mango coconut encrusted catch of the day, which is pure delight, or the rich chicken or fish pesto wrap. The burger options are amazing...I loved the exotic taste of the chicken burger served with a slice of grilled pineapple and a feta dressing. All burgers and entrees are available with a choice of French fries or sweet potato fries--both excellent. There are also tasty salads. Everything is made fresh and reasonably priced.
Kari goes out of her way to make everyone feel welcome and she is more than happy to share tips about the area. I highly recommend this place and if you happen to be staying somewhere else in Santa Teresa, make sure to at least try the Ambrosia restaurant. You'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laure108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Makana's was a perfect place for us to stay. As a family of 5 we were able to put the kids in one cabina with a queen bed and bunk beds and we had our own private cabina with queen bed. The price was very reasonable. We were a short walk to the beach with tide pools at low tide and good surfing a short stroll down the beach. Each cabina has a shaded porch, outdoor seating, and a hammock, private bathroom with hot water, 2 fans, and a small refrigerator. Conveniently, there is an excellent and reasonably priced restaurant next door--Ambrosia Restaurante. All extremely comfortable and satisfying for our stay. We will stay here again when we get back to Sta Teresa.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadixX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

This is a lovely property, small, quiet and peaceful, away from the hustle and bustle of Santa Teresa. The cabinas are very clean and comfortable. The lanais are large with chairs and a table, a wonderful place to sit and watch and listen to the monkeys passing by and still have room for your surfcoards. There are 3 cabinas so it is very private. Each unit has a ceiling fan, a standing fan, small frig and hot water, there is also maid service.
In less than a minute with a short walk down the path you are right on the beach.
The restaurant on property is wonderful and the food is delicious and while we were there they had a different special every day.
Really great place to stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRNTDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Been there 5 times and it gets better every time. Can't wait to get back over there. The waves are good every day.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iwanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.6 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fuego Lodge
Fuego Lodge
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacifica Surf Studios
Pacifica Surf Studios
#24 of 27 in Santa Teresa
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanas

Address: Santa Teresa Beach | 200m North of Florblanca Resort, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $48 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Makanas 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanas offers three discreet and quaint cabins by the ocean. Step out of your room and watch the monkeys swing by in the canopy above or listen to the tropical birds in the morning as you enjoy a cup of delicious Costa Rican coffee. We are located well away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Santa Teresa, yet steps away from the prized beaches Santa Teresa is known for. Come experience Santa Teresa at its best, with world class surfing, fishing, excellent cuisine and some of the best sunsets the world has to offer. Whether you are a couple looking for something more private or a larger group looking to all stay together, we can accommodate your needs. We look forward to seeing you at Makanas! Pura vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Makanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing