We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Massive Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Playa Santa Teresa

Playa Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Massive Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The beach was amazing. Waves too big for swimming however if you stayed inside the surf it was fine and there were areas with pools. Almost too big as it took a lot of walking to find places. Only were a few restaurants on the beach. Most of them were on the road which we found too dusty due to the unpaved road.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    165
    32
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful beach, but watch your bag!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Loved the sunsets on the beach here, and my friend and I had a good time renting a surfboard to just mess around on our own. Only thing was while my friend was in the water and I was napping on the beach my bag gotten stolen from right next to me. Very sneaky little thief! So keep your eyes open!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Drawbacks spoil beach appeal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have been to a few places in Costa Rica and wanted to give this place a try after recommendations from friends. My bf and I took Nature Air from San Jose in order to maximize our beach time. Airport at Tambor is an hour drive from the town, which is ok but the lack of transportation options make it pretty much mandatory to pay $50 for a taxi. Town itself is pretty undeveloped which may be what you are looking for however we found it less charming. Not that we were hoping for manicured streets full of gringos but the town itself is sorely lacking in infrastructure. Roads are not paved and thus extremely dusty as cars, motos, and ATV's whiz by kicking up hot dust to breathe and get in your eyes. Rarely a taxi to be seen except at night so daytime is often a long, dusty, sweaty trek to get to a restaurant or store. Speaking of shopping there is pretty much none, with the exception of the necessary supermarkets and handful of grimy clothing store selling new and often used beach stuff. Like its inhabitants, the town itself is more of a sweaty bedraggled hippie than a cool chill surf hangout. The big thing here is surfing so of course it's all about the beach, which is raw and unspoiled however there are few beach front bars for cold drinks, no places to rent umbrellas/chairs etc. however we packed a cooler and enjoyed the nature. Otherwise, the prices here everywhere are very high and we are from here in C America and speak Spanish fluently so I can only assume that the obvious foreigners are charged even more much of the time. Bottom line is the surf is decent and the beach is nice but for the amount of effort to get here and the lack of services/infrastructure we would not choose to spend our money here when you can find many better options in the region for the same cost or better.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mistylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We Loved It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The beach was beautiful. Warm water and clean, white sand. Beautiful sunsets every night. Long stretches for walking. The town was fun too. Everyone we had contact with was nice. Lots of great places to eat. We loved the atmosphere and will be back next year. It was pretty dusty on the main road, but we got used to that and really loved our time here. After reading reviews before we got there warning of crime, we were a little concerned, but we had no trouble. We were careful to never leave anything unattended on the beach or in our vehicle and used our safe in our room. We were fortunate to have a great place to stay that was secure and didn't worry at all.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The one of the best and lest pure places on hearth .
So relax , chill place real diamond.
It's is beautiful and the beaches are amazing ,grate food and nice people if you want to live in haven Santa Teresa is the place .

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elirazk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Santa Teresa also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing