We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Acceptable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rumbo Surf Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rumbo Surf Lodge
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Acceptable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Clean and friendly. Nico, the owner/manager, was helpful, solving the few problems we came across in our three day stay. The rooms are basic but had everything we needed. Ask about the status of the construction project behind the house. For the price, I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThunderRolls2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at Rumbo Surf Lodge for a week in Feb, 2012. We couldn't of asked for more. It was PERFECT! Nico and his family were so accommodating and helpful with anything we needed. They are great people that we will hopefully cross paths with again. The apartment has a great location, furnished great and comfortable. I would Highly recommend it !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrinamarie824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limhamn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed at Rumbo Surf Lodge for 10 days in January-February 2012. Two families with, in between us, 5 kids aged 1-6 yrs, and we had the whole house (2 apartement, one on each floor). The apartments are great, clean, comfortable, with A/C, big balcony/porch plus a little garden. Just outside the main township of Santa Teresa, nice and quiet despite the night clud just across the street. A great surfing spot 100 yards away. 5 minutes to a decent grocery store, a surf rental place and a nice restaurant just across the street. The owners are really nice and knowledgable about surf spots, other activities etc. We stayed with our 2 preschoolers + a baby in the apt and it didn't feel crowded, largely thanks to the fact that the large porch could be used for meals etc. The price is ok given the ridiculous pricing in Santa Teresa. The apts come with bed linen and towels and are cleaned every second day. Perfect place to enjoy Costa Rica. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babba-Luu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Spent one month here with my girlfriend from the 22nd of November to the 22nd of December 2011. The air-conditioned apartment is beautiful and really comfy, ours had one large comfortable double bed and a sleeper couch. The apartment is really comfortable for two people, would probably be a little tight for four people, but still feasible. The kitchen is well equipped and clean. The location is perfect, it is a very short walk to the beach and one of the best surf breaks in the area (La Lora). Two grocery stores are a short walk away (5 minutes tops) and there is a good restaurant called Kika across the road. There is also a surf shop called Denga right opposite the apartment. I would say that the apartment is suitable for surfers, families, couples or friends. The pricing of the accommodation is fair if compared with some of the ridiculously high prices at other accommodation in Santa Teresa or Mal Pais. Santa Teresa is very relaxing, very laid back. There is a club across the road from the apartment, however it never bothered me (and I am a light sleeper). The surf in November-December was really good, about chest to head high most days, suited to beginners and experts.

The owners Nico and Mar live on the premises and are great people that made me feel very welcome. They will go out of their way to make you feel at home, without invading on your privacy. Sujei did a fantastic job cleaning our apartment every second day. Towels are provided.
You might want to consider renting a jeep from Alamo upon arrival for a couple of days at least in order to explore the surrounding area... (Montezuma waterfalls are great) but if you just want to chill on the beach or surf there is no need for it (however note that the taxi ride from Tambor airport to rumbo is 40-50USD, I don't know how much the bus from San José to Malpais costs).

Great place to enjoy the Pura Vida!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jppari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

This was a beautiful apartment to stay at. Everything was very clean the location was nice and quite. We were right across the street from the beach and a great surf spot.

This location is about a 5 minute walk from the main town area where all the shops were, which was great since there wasn't always a crowd walking past. If you surf it is an easy walk with your board to the beach.

Nico, which manages the property, lives right in one of the apartments and will really take care of any needs you have.

The only small negatives I could find is that it is across the street from a club...but you couldn't hear anything at night unless you really listened for it. Also, you have to realize this is more of an apartment so most toiletries are not included/replenished. Bring your own soap, shampoo, and toilet paper if staying more than a week.

I would definitely go back and recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chungy1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Rumbo Surf for a month in May - June 2010. The apartment we had was new and comfortably furnished (with A/C). There is a porch with a hammock and some chairs, if you want to spend time outside of the appartment. The location is on the north end of Santa Teresa, which is quiet and what we were looking for. (Although there was some construction going on in a neighbouring plot but they were almost finished by the time we left.) During our stay there we walked a couple of times to Playa Carmen (the next ATM and only fish shop in the area are there). A leisurely stroll took us about 30 minutes. Apart from that there are supermarkets and restaurants nearby. At nights it could get loud, when the bars around start playing music. But that never bothered us or robbed us of our sleep. The public beach access it very close by. Less than 5 minutes walk away. The owners are extremely friendly and are ready to be of help whenever necessary. Since we were there for a month, we had arranged for cleaning twice a week. Maria made a good job of cleaning our appartments. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_M_AWAY_COM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tico Lindo Hotel
Tico Lindo Hotel
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
1.6 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#23 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumbo Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumbo Surf Lodge

Property: Rumbo Surf Lodge
Address: Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At only 100 meters from a breathtaking sandy beach and from the best surf spot of the area "La Lora" we offer to our guests four cozy apartments each composed by a large open space with a double bed and sofa bed, fully furnished kitchen, bathroom, safety, cable tv, air conditioning, internet wi-fi, cleaning service, mosquito net and a private and comfortable terrace surrounded by nature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rumbo Surf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumbo Surf Lodge Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing