We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Tropical sanctuary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Batik Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Batik Beach Villas
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tropical sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Batik for 10 days with our 14 and 17 years old teens. We were all enchanted by the open air living space, the beautiful private pool the overall ambiance so conducive to achieving our goal: relaxation. The surf classes were great, the access to a fabulous local chef made our dinners informal yet sophisticated. Santa Theresa itself is quite cool...very cool...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I had the most amazing stay at Casa Mali! The open-air villa was so serene and gorgeous. The hospitality at Batik was fantastic - from the groundskeeper and housekeeping staff to Dahlia, their super cool concierge. The kitchen was fully-equipped - though the only one who took complete advantage of that was the private chef who cooked an incredible meal on our final night - throughout the week we enjoyed amazing meals at local restaurants (on Dahlia's recommendations). The bathroom is indoor/outdoor but completely private and a cool experience. The bedrooms are the only completely enclosed rooms but have plenty of windows and option for tons of sunlight. The living area has fun furniture options and a great private pool for cooling off or just relaxing. We coordinated all of the activities of our stay with Dahlia, who was extremely helpful and easy to reach. We rented a quad for the week - which was much better (and more fun) to drive through the town than our rented SUV (but beware of dust). Batik is a very well-maintained hidden gem and the town is a charming slice of paradise. We enjoyed awesome meals and lots of local activities (surf lessons, horse riding on the beach, zip lining and nature walk tour). The beach is a very short walk from Batik - but a nice one through a tree-lined path. We can't recommend Batik/Casa Mali highly enough!! We have the best memories of our trip and hope to get back to Batik again in the near future!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood City, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Casa Maconda was the perfect retreat to end our stay in Costa Rica. The villa was beautiful and the pool was a special treat to cool off in at the end of your day. Each villa has its own pool which is so nice, the villa is very well equiped and has the feel of the Costa Rican lifestyle. Dahia was amazing stopping in every day to make sure our stay was perfect! She was very helpful with her recommendations to the local restaurants and activities. We also felt very safe at Batik, the security guard would wait for us at night by the beach gate to let us in and was up very early at 4am the day we had to leave to catch the ferry. The only thing that was really missing for me was to be ocean front. I love the ocean and beach, you do have to walk to the beach which is okay but not the same as being ocean front. The villas are quite close together and open so that too can be a problem if you would like more privacy. Overall I really enjoyed Batik. Class A people and very nice villas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stunning location. Batik is set just a short walk through the jungle from the beach with a peaceful atmosphere. A real tropical paradise and the perfect place to wind down after surfing the local beach or point break (2min walk through the jungle). I couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We returned from our Costa Rican vacation a couple of weeks ago, and we rented Batik Blue and Casa Mali for a group of seven of us, all adults, and from two different families. The arrangement was perfect for our group, because it gave each family their own space, and privacy, while being steps away from each other should we wish to dine/swim/hang out together. My husband and I had stayed at Batik Blue two years ago, and liked it so much that we came back, and brought more people with us! The property has a very Zen, minimalist feel...bamboo partition walls, open air living, except for the bedrooms, which are fully air conditioned. Even the bathrooms are open to the stars at night, while still maintaining complete privacy. The kitchens are well stocked, c/w an oven a the Batik, which we actually even made use of this time. Some of us enjoyed the pool in the hot afternoons, and spent a lot of time just hanging out and keeping cool. There is a beautiful yoga (is it called an asana?) on the property, complete with beautiful Balinese buddhas. Actually Balinese furnishings are a theme with the properties. Very peaceful feeling.
It is only a short walk to the very expansive, clean beach, through a short jungle path.
Cristina and Dante are lovely people and very conscientious owners, and Dahlia, the concierge, is a wealth of information and extremely helpful. She would stop by in the mornings to see what we wanted to do for the day. She would then line up surf boards, massages, horseback riding, restaurant reservations, yoga classes, various tours, or whatever your fancy! She is also very knowledgeable about directions to airports, restaurants, etc. and the time it takes to get places. By the time you leave, you feel you've found a new friend. With so much to see in the world, I am not usually one to want to go to the same place more than once, but even though we've already been there twice, I don't think we're done with it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beejsherwoodpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We could not be happier with our trip. This year we wanted a low-key family vacation, where we could do as much or as little as we wanted, after last year staying in full service Eco hotels in the Cloud Forest and Quepos. Santa Teresa is still enough off the beaten path that you don't feel overrun with tourist and tourist infrastructure. The good and the bad is the dirt road connecting everything. The good part about it is that it's still rural enough to keep the masses away, but the bad is that you get tired of driving it, along with everyone else.

Batik itself is, quite simply, amazing. We stayed in Batik Blue, which for our family of 5 was perfect. Our 11 year old boy must have spent 20+ hours in the small private pool in the center of the residence. Our 17 year old daughter got the tan she wanted. Our 14 year old daughter got the tan and the pool. Open air, unbelievably beautiful layout, with 3 air conditioned bedrooms.

The beach is a 5 minute walk through the jungle, where you will often see white faced monkeys (capuchin), and maybe howlers. Playa Hermosa is as beautiful, relaxing, and (if you so choose), challenging for surfers as anywhere in the world. Sand is powder soft. Surf is challenging. Australian expat Mick is an amazing surfing instructor. Ask Manager Dahlia to arrange a lesson with him. A certain Super Bowl winning, future hall of fame QB has a home about 1km up the hill, and had surf instruction with Mick on the day after us, on the same beach. It really can not be better. Make sure to book an Eco tour with Jeppo of Olingo Surf and Nature Experiences. Dahlia can book it for you. The nature walk/kayak tour of Curú is highly recommended.

Manager Dahlia (UK expat) is sweet, professional, and did everything to make our trip easy and fun. She checked on us daily, and took care of anything we needed. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The accommodations are first class, clean, 1st world. The wifi is greatly appreciated and bug-free, as cell signals are weak at the property (you need to go up the hill or to the beach to make a cell call--I have 3 different international phones/carriers and none worked on the property itself). The pool is serviced 2X a week, and the linens, bathrooms, and general cleaning is excellent and daily.

Make sure to bring plenty of cash, as most restaurants and activities do not accept credit cards, and the ATM in town was down 2 of the 7 days we were here. It is a vacation rental, not a full service hotel, so be prepared to buy groceries and cook, combined with eating out. Koji Sushi, a 5 minute drive, is the best sushi I have ever had, having extensive international travel on multiple continents. Restaurant options are fantastic, and much better than one would expect given the remoteness. The Bakery at the crossroads in town is excellent, clean, professional, and air conditioned.

Overall, we loved it, and almost certainly will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank P O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This property was just amazing! I dream about going back soon:) The home we stayed in was beautifully designed and so peaceful with a hammock for relaxing and outside living that was just what a vacation in Costa Rica should be about. the beach is only a small walk away on a path beneath the coconut trees. It is one of the best beaches around. NO rocks, perfect for relaxing or surfing! A+ no doubt!

Room Tip: homes are available with or without a pool:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#23 of 27 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#3 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#8 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batik Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batik Beach Villas

Property: Batik Beach Villas
Address: | Playa Hermosa de Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 00000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BATIK ESTATE offers four luxurious and elegantly designed villas in a very private tropical setting with a beach access on Playa Hermosa at the north end of Santa Teresa. They can be rented separately or together for larger groups, wedding, events or family vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Batik Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batik Beach Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing