We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week at Beautiful Atrapasuenos in Playa Santa Teresa!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Roswell, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful week at Beautiful Atrapasuenos in Playa Santa Teresa!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at Atrapasuenos Hotel on Playa Santa Teresa for one wonderful week. What a spot! The hotel itself is a beautiful home with solid Central American heavy wooden doors, community kitchen, gorgeous dining area overlooking the pool and spa, and lovely rooms with garden views and private baths. We wandered through the backyard, with its hammocks and flowers, to the short path leading to the beach. Santa Teresa beach is wonderful, with warm water and terrific surf. Occasionally, horses run by! As you walk down the beach, you’ll see great restaurants you can walk right up to, and many of them have bonfires and music after sunset. Atrapasuenos attracts travelers from all over. When we were there, we met others from Sweden, Canada, Italy, Columbia, and the U.S. Above all, what really made this stay memorable was Margot, her daughter Catalina, and the other family members who help out. Margot is a gem - friendly, personable, and always helpful with ideas for activities and taking care of arrangements for you. Atrapuesanos means “dream catcher” and it more than lives up to its name! We’ll definitely be back, hopefully soon than later!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettyjean2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    33
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
53
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had been traveling through Costa Rica for a few weeks before arriving at Atrapasuenos Hotel, which is run by Margot and her family. I can say that without a doubt, this has been the best combination for location, facility and staff out of all the places we have stayed. The hotel is located just a short walk to the beaches where you'll find a great place to get some rest and relaxation. Along the way, you'll see anything from horses randomly walking down the beach to bonfires sparking up just after sunset. The rooms and kitchen are kept very neat & clean and you'll find the pool warm and refreshing at any time of the day. Margot is very accommodating and helpful with any questions, needs, travel arrangements or requests you might have. So book your stay, and whether you're looking to kick-back, relax and unwind or venture out for the many beautiful attractions in the area, you're sure to enjoy your stay at the lovely and charming Atrapasuenos! Pura Vida!

Room Tip: There's not a bad room on the entire property, but Margot will be helpful with any special reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My wife and I have just spent another wonderful experience at Atrapasuenos in Playa Carmen! Every time we visit with Margot and Carolina is like going home again. They are always extremely welcoming and attentive to our needs both when booking and while there. The location of Atrapasuenos is absolutely perfect for any activities in the area, including beach going, dining, nightlife and shopping. We absolutely love the privacy of the property and its convenience to everything in the Mal Pais / Playa Carmen area; and the pool is just the greatest spot to relax and unwind after a stellar day. Thanks again Toro family and we will see you again soon.
Pura Vida,
Russell and Jessica

Room Tip: Choose and upstairs room with a balcony and hammock
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russell s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Our group stayed in the 3 rooms downstairs for 9 days this January. The hospitality and surroundings were incredible. Three of the 6 of us were early morning risers to surf and Diego always had coffee ready for us. When you stay here, make sure to ask Diego to cook dinner for you....his chicken is outstanding. But the last night we were there, he made mahi mahi complete with a table cloth and candlelight - super great. Don't miss this incredible find in Santa Teresa!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alueker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Lovely rooms with balconys right on the beach. I could not ask for more in terms of personal service, nice rooms, location and not to mention the possibility to cook your own food in their big kitchen. That was helpful the day I pulled up a 12 kg Amber Bass from the pacific. =)

Probably the best place I stayed at during my two weeks in Costa Rica. Thank You Atrapasuenos! / Tomas from Sweden

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My boyfriend and me found that hotel very randomly in Santa Teresa upon our arrival late at night. We felt really lucky to find this place.
We got a really nice room with AC and nice TV, spacious and nicely decorated. There was a beautiful private balcony with the view on the garden and a hamac.
There is also a very nice pool and jacuzzi in the garden as well as a nice terasse with tables and chairs. The breakfast is served on that terrace.
Our stay in Atrapasuenos has been amazing, the family atmosphere of that hotel is really relaxing and pleasant. All the staff and family have been so helpful and nice and helped us with finding excursions and enjoying our days in Santa Teresa. We also could use the kitchen and the barbecue and cook our own meals.
I really recommand this place which is also very well located and close from the beach. For the people who come by car, they have a private parking.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony is very nice and good standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our group of 7 stayed in 5 separate rooms and absolutely loved our experience at Atrapasuenos. Huge kitchen, big rooms, hot water, and walking distance from everything in Santa Teresa. Excursions can be booked right at the front desk and the staff is friendly, helpful, delightful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
556 reviews
1.1 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
327 reviews
1.5 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#19 of 26 in Santa Teresa
124 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel

Property: Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Address: North Of the Crossroad Of Santa Teresa On the Road That Goes Into Banana Beach 1km, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrapasuenos-Dreamcatcher is an eco–friendly boutique hotel located in the southern Nicoya Peninsula of Costa Rica, ideally situated a few meters from one of the best beaches in the country. The property is surrounded by a beautiful, luscious tropical garden offering guests a feeling of seclusion and relaxation, set in the heart of town with easy access to grocery stores, restaurants, entertainment and transportation. Inspired by the environment, the hotel includes six private air-conditioned rooms that may be rented individually or all together to create an amazing private villa for families, weddings, group events and retreats. Restaurants, supermarkets, spas, beaches only a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing