We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This place is like a dream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This place is like a dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Lovely rooms with balconys right on the beach. I could not ask for more in terms of personal service, nice rooms, location and not to mention the possibility to cook your own food in their big kitchen. That was helpful the day I pulled up a 12 kg Amber Bass from the pacific. =)

Probably the best place I stayed at during my two weeks in Costa Rica. Thank You Atrapasuenos! / Tomas from Sweden

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    30
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
35
47
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My boyfriend and me found that hotel very randomly in Santa Teresa upon our arrival late at night. We felt really lucky to find this place.
We got a really nice room with AC and nice TV, spacious and nicely decorated. There was a beautiful private balcony with the view on the garden and a hamac.
There is also a very nice pool and jacuzzi in the garden as well as a nice terasse with tables and chairs. The breakfast is served on that terrace.
Our stay in Atrapasuenos has been amazing, the family atmosphere of that hotel is really relaxing and pleasant. All the staff and family have been so helpful and nice and helped us with finding excursions and enjoying our days in Santa Teresa. We also could use the kitchen and the barbecue and cook our own meals.
I really recommand this place which is also very well located and close from the beach. For the people who come by car, they have a private parking.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony is very nice and good standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our group of 7 stayed in 5 separate rooms and absolutely loved our experience at Atrapasuenos. Huge kitchen, big rooms, hot water, and walking distance from everything in Santa Teresa. Excursions can be booked right at the front desk and the staff is friendly, helpful, delightful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Family run with lovely comfort and security. Atmosphere is amazing with pool, terrace, and hammocks. It also has a kitchen with a grocery store right across the street. The hotel is run by a mother and her daughter whom are extremely helpful and pleasant. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maldis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at Atrapasuenos in late July 2013, we reserved the upstairs unit with a large bedroom, loft area, small kitchen and large patio. The rooms were not fancy, but had all the things we needed to make for a nice stay. The location is good, although Santa Teresa is rather spread out along the main road, but there are several good restaurants within walking distance and a small store. The beach is a 1 minute walk from the hotel, but is rather rocky and rough...not ideal for swimming, but nice place to beach stroll. The best beach for swimming was Playa Hermosa, about 8 minutes up the road by car. The staff at the hotel are very nice when approached. The pool area is beautiful, kept clean and had a super cool tropical feel. My only negatives on the hotel was the poorly working glass patio door, which was our main entrance/exit point into our unit and occasional road noise, since the hotel is located right on the main road. Screens on the bathroom window would have been nice as well. This hotel is very nice, great relaxing atmosphere and fairly priced - would stay there again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lb_tidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saarbrücken
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A very hospitable hotel very well located, almost in front of the beach, in a spot of the beach, where if you go one way, you find good relaxing and swiming spots, if you go the other, big waves for surfing. The beach in this part is full of trees providing shadow durind the whole day. It is full of nature and wildlife, we saw monkeys, plenty of beach fauna and birds.

The swimming pool is great: it has the right temperature and allows for a relaxing and refreshing swim at any time.

Staff is very friendly and eager to help and please you.

A nice extra is the fully equiped kitchen they provide for guests to use. We could store plenty of refreshments and fruits in the fridge to enjoy them any time we wanted.

The garden and the building are in great shape. We definitely will come back and recommended Atrapasueños.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon-DE-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stumbled upon this amazing hotel by recommendation of a local. We intended to stay a night or two, but loved it so much we stayed all 5 nights. Great location- 30 seconds from the beach, across the street from a market, and restaurants- all while maintaining a secluded quaint atmosphere. You can relax in your rooms private hammock on the balcony, or socialize in the quaint covered patio overlooking the pool. Its equipped with a shared kitchen indoors, or an outdoor kitchen for grilling- superb amenenaties! The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. We loved the pool and the sheik comfortable sun chairs for afternoon (and morning) relaxation. The host was gracious, and friendly. He even invited us to to a fresh seafood cookout in the outdoor kitchen. We had a wonderful time and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#8 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
1.1 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#4 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#23 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel

Property: Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Address: North Of the Crossroad Of Santa Teresa On the Road That Goes Into Banana Beach 1km, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrapasuenos-Dreamcatcher is an eco–friendly boutique hotel located in the southern Nicoya Peninsula of Costa Rica, ideally situated a few meters from one of the best beaches in the country. The property is surrounded by a beautiful, luscious tropical garden offering guests a feeling of seclusion and relaxation, set in the heart of town with easy access to grocery stores, restaurants, entertainment and transportation. Inspired by the environment, the hotel includes six private air-conditioned rooms that may be rented individually or all together to create an amazing private villa for families, weddings, group events and retreats. Restaurants, supermarkets, spas, beaches only a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing