We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nautilus Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at Nautilus with our 3 years old daughter and had a wonderful time. Even before we got there our impression was good, thanks to helpful emails.
We were really happy with the rooms, always clean and a with a huge bed. But most of all we appreciated the dialogue with the always helpful owners, the amazing restaurant Olam and the best part of the beach 'next door'.
We all had a great stay here! Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmmrsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnautlius, Owner at Nautilus Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thanks Guys for a great stay ! kisses to from everyone here @the Nautilus with TLC blessings !
Pura Vida

Gal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Nautilus Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 260 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

This retreat is truly one of a kind. Two friends and I just spent a week staying here and cannot wait to come back. Not only is Santa Teresa a great spot for a getaway, Nautilus was an amazing place to stay. This being our first time in Costa Rica, we really did not know what to expect. The hotel is extremely clean and comfertable and I really enjoyed the privacy. The staff are all wonderful, efficient and extremely helpful. The hotel coordinated our transportation from San Jose and were very helpful with any questions we had. The Olam restaurant is a treat, the food is worth the money and is well thought out. Nautilus really made us feel safe and welcome. I suggest anyone looking to relax and have some adventure to stay here. If you are interested in keeping a healthy active lifestyle, this is the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slcar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnautlius, Owner at Nautilus Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you ladies for a great stay, it was such a pleasent time seeing you enjoying the beach and our establishment , we ohpe to see you guys once more at least !

Much love from the Nautilus !

Adi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

After 12 days at Nautilus Santa Teresa we have only good things to say about this place. From the first day we arrived we felt welcome and was taken good care of. The beautiful family of Adi, Arik and Gaia sure knows how to take care of their guests. The rooms are very nice and clean, and have a little kitchen if you would like to cook your own dinner (but I guess you will only eat at Olam, which is the hotel restaurant with healthy and super good food) The staff was informative and made sure that our stay was nothing but great. We will warmly recommend this hotel to every one that want to make the most of their stay in Santa Teresa. If you get tired of the surf, they offer excellent yoga classes two times a day. Thank you so much for the beautiful stay, it would not be the same without Adi, Arik and Gaia. Not to mention Eddie and his wife who gave us a lot of info and great tips. We would love to revisit!

Benedicte & Petter

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benetorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnautlius, Owner at Nautilus Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thanks guys you are just wonderfull !!!! , it was our pleasure having you here , hope the Recommendations were as good as i think they are !
Pura Vida !
Arik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The family who owns this private little retreat are darling. They are warm and make you feel right at home. The cafe has an amazing selection of healthy and delicious food and the yoga is top notch - some of the best yoga I've ever done, even beats India! Clean and spacious rooms and a quite and very private pool. There is a goat who lives across the street who eats all of the compost form the hotel... and he has a really great hair do. We had to cut our trip short and Adi and Arik were extremely accommodating. I am so thankful to have had the experience to meet such wonderful people.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnautlius, Manager at Nautilus Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing .

We hope you had great time with us .

We are very happy to hear you had good experience with our yoga teachers.

Looking forward to seeing you

LOVE

The Nautilus Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The location is great, walking distance from the beach, stores and rental places. The restaurant is very good - plenty of healthy food choices for breakfast and lunch. And the owners are truly lovely people - very friendly and caring. Overall a great place to stay, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnautlius, Manager at Nautilus Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for your review

We are trying our best to make you feel at home.

You are most welcome to come back

Hope to see you soon

LOVE

The Nautilus Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were so lucky to have chosen Nautilus. It was safe, close to restaurants, shops and the beach. The food at Olam was so yummy and fresh. Make sure to try the smoked fish sandwich. The pool is refreshing and clean. Our Villa was modern, clean and the bed was super comfy. Not a ton of kitchen supplies but enough to get by on basic meals.
The best part of our stay was sharing a daily yoga practice with Karen. She is a joy and a true kindred spirit. You will enjoy deepening your yoga practice with her. One day we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YogiCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnautlius, Owner at Nautilus Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for visiting us here at the Nautilus

We are happy to hear you great time.

Its makes our work worth the effort.

We would love to see you again.

LOVE

The Nautilus Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I were interested in escaping the hustle and bustle of the city for some sunshine and relaxation. The Nicoya Peninsula was always the destination, but where to stay? When I came across Hotel Nautilus, I realized that we found something unique. An upscale boutique hotel, but not at an upscale price.

Hotel Nautilus is tucked away from a busy dirt road, yet is only a 5-minute walk from one of the most incredible beaches in Costa Rica. The hotel is surrounded by lush palms, which makes you feel like you're part of nature. Each villa is equipped with a kitchenette (fridge/freezer, full-size sink, burners, coffee machine, blender, toaster) -- this was a plus for us as we could make coffee in the morning, or even a light dinner if we decided not to go out. And, although the hotel makes incredible smoothies (you must try the pineapple and mint!), you could also make them in your villa.

Olam restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. The food is fresh and delicious, and the menu offers a wide-range of options for you to choose from. Dinner options can be discussed with the owners as they are more than willing to make suggestions, and even arrange for a taxi to pick you up!

Which leads me to my next point, the owners of Hotel Nautilus are the most kind and accommodating hotel owners I have ever met. They truly love what they do, and are there to make sure you have the best time. When you arrive, you are welcomed with open arms. During your stay, Edi, one of the owners, will sit down with you to determine what you would like to do on your stay - from a trip to Montezuma waterfalls, fishing trips, canopy tours, surf lessons, or to finding a secret beach to relax at for the day.

My husband likes to surf, and was able to rent a surfboard at Kina surf shop, a 3-minute walk from the hotel. Prices may vary, however, he was able to rent a long board for $15 a day, or a short board fro $12. Surfing this time of year is perfect for beginners as the waves aren't too big.

I took two yoga classes during our stay, which were offered at the hotel. The classes are located in an open-air studio above the restaurant. It was amazing to take a class and hear the birds and the howler monkey's in the trees!

The great thing about Costa Rica, and this area in particular, is that if you're looking to relax on the beach and that is all, you can do that here. But, if you are also interested in a bit of adventure there is so much to see and do!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KistnerKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
577 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
293 reviews
1.4 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
254 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautilus Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Boutique Hotel

Address: East Of Brunellas 75 M | 75 meters east of Brunella Hostel, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $86 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nautilus Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nautilus Boutique Hotel. Our villas capture the exotic character of Costa Rica, surrounded by lush tropical jungle, seamlessly blends into beautiful open-air terraces. Fully equipped kitchen. Large bedrooms, spoiling showers. Flat screen with Cable TV. King size mattress. 100% organic bath amenities. Daily housekeeping service. Refrigerator. Personal safe. Air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nautilus Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing