We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Awesome!”
Review of The Jungle House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Jungle House
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“Unique and Awesome!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I just went to the jungle house with a group of friends and we all really enjoyed our stay. The jungle house has many options to accommodate groups of different sizes and the location is convenient and centrally located. Its across the street from restaurants and grocery and mere minutes from the beach. It is a great place for small groups because it has a common area upstairs and also a cabana outside with lots of hammocks. We spent a lot of time out there just kicking it and taking it easy when it was raining. The caretaker, Joe, was very hospitable. He did an excellent job of hooking us up with awesome taxi drivers and always had info on the places we were thinking about checking out. I would definitely recommend the Jungle House to anyone and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJungleHouse, General Manager at The Jungle House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hey, Mandy, thanks so much for the kind words! It was really a pleasure to have you all at The Jungle House; you and your friends are wonderful! Let me know if you want to come down next winter. Pura vida, Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Really cool house with a variety of rooms and accommodation options in a great location in Santa Teresa just a few minutes from the beach. The manager (Joe) is a great guy and will help you out with whatever you need (restaurant recommendations, surf lessons, ordering fresh fish, etc!!!). Well maintained, spacious and well designed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJungleHouse, Manager at The Jungle House, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks Paul! It was great to meet you here, and I look forward to seeing you on your next Costa Rica surf trip. Pura vida, Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Real nice, big place. Only spent a couple nights with my brother and cousin, and enjoyed our stay. House is in a great location, just a short walk from the waves and the market. Carlos is the man!! He drove us back and forth from Libera airport and shared a lot of local knowledge. We stopped for mangos and maranones, and pulled over just to check out the view a few times. Carlos was real cool, he offered any help or rides we needed. Can't wait to go back! Pura vida!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobbyauriemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week in late April; the entire experience was AWESOME! We were picked up at the Airport by Carlos and Antonio and made the drive from Liberia to Santa Teresa. Carlos expanded on the drive by adding local knowledge and a great personality; we stopped for mangos, cashews, a local "tree wine", and melons along the way. After getting to the Jungle House things only got better; we were greeted with a very comfortable and clean room (actually we had the entire second level of the house to ourselves) and even better waves which were consistently in the 5-9 foot range for the entire trip. Macking!! Did I mention those waves were within a 5 minute walk of the Jungle House? We also had Preston who was designated to bring us to see and do other activities such as a Cabo Blanco Rainforrest Hike, a Waterfall tour in Montezuma, and to other near by surf spots (Mar Azul, Playa Hermosa, etc.). The local food was great and most places accepted US currency; although many did not accept credit cards, which turned out ok as there are two banks with ATM's in Mal Pais by Frank's Place. Santa Teresa is a very cool and laid back town; it's quiet at night and we walked everywhere day and night and had no issues. Our favorite places to eat were "Burger Rancho" (get the Ceviche as a starter), "Chicken Joe's" (get the Fish Tacos), and "Alma" (we had the Tuna and Steak, great wine list, pricier but well worth it for a good "date night" spot; it's off the road a ways from their brown sign. This place was our favorite as the food is delicious). Overall, a great trip for those looking to log a lot of laid back beach and rainforrest time and experience nature and the natural beauty in the area instead of the "touristy" stuff most people are looking for. We are going back and can't wait to do so.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I was visiting my girlfriend for 2 weeks in late March 2012.
The jungle house is a great place to stay - I can say so,
since I ended up spending way more time in the house,
than originally planed. Just like _most_ folks in Santa Teresa,
I wanted to go surfing twice a day, but at the 2nd day of my vacation
my foot got cut by another guy's surfboard - I needed to get stitches -
so much for surfing...
But "being trapped" at the JH turned out to be a really cool experience...

First of all: the place is - (compared to other hostels in S.T.) all nice and CLEAN,
all the time. Sure, there are always some lizards around and one or the other ant,
but come on - it's a Jungle House...
The bathroom and floors get cleaned every day and also the bed
sheets get changed after a couple of days.
There are two fridges, so you never run out of cooling space and even those fridges
get cleaned at least once a week. There's is free _very good_ coffee in the morning
and the kitchen is also nicely equipped with blenders, a toaster, water dispenser and
of course a big stove - preparing meals was really fun here.

All rooms and the floors have fans (that actually work) so it never gets
too hot (even in the dry season) - finding sleep was not a problem at all.
(If you are sensitive to noise you should probably avoid the room at the
end of the ground floor, since it is pretty close to the street. This was our room,
but we didn't mind at all).

Right next to the house is some kind of covered stage where one can practicing
yoga and as far as I could see the guests made quite use of it.

The beach and the supermarket are just a 5 Minute walk away, which is _very_
handy.

If you need to have hot water - be warned - there is no hot water in the JH, but
IMHO this is absolutely not necessary, at least not in the dry season. There's
a shower in the bathroom inside, one outside the house and one in the "garden",
which is very impressive to use, at night under a clear starry sky.

What I liked the most, was the nice little garden in front of the house. There where
two hammocks hung between stakes (rammed into the ground) and nice
beach-sand underneath (which was obviously brought here, just to please the user's
eyes and feet (Even the sand got raked every day).
Man, I loved to lie in those hammocks and read from my kindle all
day long. It was all nice and shady because of the surrounding trees, which got only
shaked by a family of howler monkeys once in a while (needed to take cover from falling
monkey poo ;-)...

Yet, the "main attraction" of the place is Carlos the "house keeper" (actually he's one of the
owners). The heart and soul of that place. He takes so much care of his guests in a way that is
far, far above-average. This guy is so helpful, hearty and always cheerful.
He shared his meals with us, helped instantly to get the ambulance (when I got my feet cut),
gave us an extra lift to "down town" in his fancy green jeep, called the ferry company - I could
go on... Man, the guy even went to Cóbano and bought my girlfriend a two birthday cakes...

Carlos, bro - thank you so much!
Staying at your house was such a great pleasure for me.
I really hope to come back one day soon...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank polkatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Very nice place! Very Quiet, nice people, nice food, clean... Made my trip exeptional for surfing and other!!! Here a tips: ask Preston for surfing and others stuff to do... He will made your trip awesome in Santa Teresa!!!

matte...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Olivos, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Jungle House for the first leg of our two week honeymoon. We absolutely loved it. Justin was extremely helpful & steered us to some better breaks than the one only 100 meters away and recommended some excellent resturants. We enjoyed surfing, hanging out at the beach, walking around town, and drinking coffee in the kitchen with the other guests. we had a lot of laughs & really appreciated everything the Justin did for us & would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MackieFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
563 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 26 in Santa Teresa
506 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#19 of 26 in Santa Teresa
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
0.0 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jungle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jungle House

Property: The Jungle House
Address: 111 Carreterra 160, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your group is big and adventurous. Together, you like to try new local dishes, surf the best breaks, zip-line through the jungle, and wake up to the sound of howler monkeys in the trees just outside your window. Standard hotel accommodations or resorts with pre-planned activities may work for some groups, but yours would rather have flexible schedules to fill with your own excursions. The Jungle House is close to all the action, making this easy & convenient. If this sounds like you guys, then The Jungle House in Santa Teresa Costa Rica, is your place. Located smack in the middle of a stunning trifecta of ocean, jungle, and the town’s main street, The Jungle House simultaneously offers easy access to local attractions and a sense of privacy and seclusion.At The Jungle House you'll find bold, rustic décor—including dining tables shaped like surfboards and hand crafted hardwood beams & furniture throughout—in a comfortable, relaxed setting with Zen-like peace. At 3400 square feet, with seven bedrooms and space for up to 14 guests, we are one of the largest vacation rental houses right in the heart of town. And, one of the most affordable.Unlike other area accommodations, there’s no hill to contend with when you want to get some sun or test the surf. Just take a relaxing 5 minute walk on a flat path. We’re so close to the Pacific, you can hear it crashing just behind the row of towering jungle trees at the back of the property. If you’re unsure where to start with your adventures and activities, we can help. We’ll happily set you up with fishing trips, zip-line canopy tours, a kayak adventure, or a yoga instructor who will come out to the property and guide you through a series of poses on your private, open-air yoga studio. Or, learn to surf with a talented instructor. One of Costa Rica’s best breaks is in the Jungle House’s backyard! After spending all day working up an appetite, you can either step right onto the main road for a variety of restaurants, or cross the street to the frutería for fresh veggies, fruits and eggs. Prepare a meal in the house’s large open kitchen, which is fully equipped with quality cookware and appliances. There’s also a supermarket, just a 3-minute walk, for everything else you might need. We can arrange delivery of delicious fresh fish to you as well, which you can grill on the outdoor barbecue while everyone cools off in the private pool.Forbes Magazine calls Santa Teresa one of the world’s top ten most breathtaking beaches—with its volcanic formations, lush tropical scenery, and diverse wildlife—and we know you’ll agree. Why not give your family something to look forward to, starting right now? Book your escape to Santa Teresa’s Jungle House today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Jungle House Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing