We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of The Jungle House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Jungle House
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Very nice place! Very Quiet, nice people, nice food, clean... Made my trip exeptional for surfing and other!!! Here a tips: ask Preston for surfing and others stuff to do... He will made your trip awesome in Santa Teresa!!!

matte...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Olivos, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Jungle House for the first leg of our two week honeymoon. We absolutely loved it. Justin was extremely helpful & steered us to some better breaks than the one only 100 meters away and recommended some excellent resturants. We enjoyed surfing, hanging out at the beach, walking around town, and drinking coffee in the kitchen with the other guests. we had a lot of laughs & really appreciated everything the Justin did for us & would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MackieFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I was looking for a quiet surfing trip with friends and I definitely found it at the Jungle House. The house was so much more than I expected with its laid back, charming, artistic decor and totally comfortable. Andy and Justin were fantastic hosts, they made sure we had all we needed to be comfortable. Justin took us on an excursion to the jungle where we hiked and jumped 40 foot waterfalls, it was fantastic.......highly recommended. There were lots of good places to eat walking distance and the little town is absolutely adorable. Not much night life but that's not what we were looking for so it was perfect for us. The beach and the surf is just a 5 minute walk through the jungle and we always had friendly dogs follow us, tons of dogs on the beach and they all think everyone is there master lol. Justin will keep you informed about the surf and the tides. Breakfast was yummy and very convenient as you can eat and straight to the beach, well worth the money.
Waking up to the sound of the howling momkeys and exotic birds was fabulous. I can't forget to mention that there were no MOSQUITOES.........now that was awsome.
I will definitely return to the Jungle House and would recommend it to anyone who's looking for the same type of vacation. Thanks Andy and Justin

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2010

My sister and I were staying in Santa Teresa with our boyfriends, and on one of our walks we saw the Jungle house gate opened. We were not 100% happy with the hostel we were in, so we decided to check it out. We were met by this adorable, smiley surfer girl who quickly became our friend, and she showed us inside the beautiful new place her and her partner had built. It was clean, stylish and affordable. We were their first guests at the time! We all can't wait to go back someday, and hope the word is getting out about how great this place is.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Can-Can026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2010

I spent two months in costa rica traveling and surfing from north to south. I arrived in santa teresa towards the end of my trip and stumbled upon the jungle house. It is not as brightly advertised as other hotels in the area since it is brand new. Not many people know about it. Had their gate not been open for a vehicle to come in I would never have known about it. Its right across the street from the overbooked beach break hotel.

The couple running the Jungle House; Lowell and Ashley are both super friendly and do an excellent job keeping things in order. The rooms are air conditioned and the shower is hot (which is a luxury in costa rica). The place is very clean and safe. I surfed everyday, went spear fishing, and even cooked a pig out back wit some australian boys. I have nothing but great things to say about the place. Santa Teresa is a cool spot as well.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krivas805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San DIego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2010

If you are going to Santa Teresa and looking for a place to stay that maybe not is like all the "regular hotels/hostels" in Costa Rica this is your place. It is like entering a family house but with all the good benefits of a hotel. If you are going to Santa Teresa, this is the place where you should stay!

Johan

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2010

I had the opportunity to travel to The Jungle House 3 times over the past year (March, June and October 2009)! I have been exploring all parts of Costa Rica since 1995 and after my 1st trip to The Jungle House in March '09, I knew I had found the perfect Costa Rica vacation! Large groups, small groups, couples' getaways or family vacations, The Jungle House has it all!
The accomodations at The Jungle House are simply amazing! Clean and comfortable rooms with maid service, a/c, internet, dvd, ping pong, yoga, pool, BBQ pit and private beach access! To top it all off, The Jungle House is run by 2 of the nicest people you can hope to meet!
There are TONS of activities to experience in the area! Epic surf (beach, reef and point breaks all very close), fishing, horseback riding, canopy and waterfall tours and shopping are just the beginning! In addition to all the activities, great restaurants are everywhere around The Jungle House! Whether you're craving 5-star cuisine with an amazing setting, pizza/burgers or traditional Costa Rican cuisine, it's available within a short distance!
The Jungle House is definitely the place to stay if you're looking for the perfect Costa Rica vacation! I look forward to coming back soon!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDubb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 26 in Santa Teresa
490 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#19 of 26 in Santa Teresa
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jungle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jungle House

Property: The Jungle House
Address: 111 Carreterra 160, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your group is big and adventurous. Together, you like to try new local dishes, surf the best breaks, zip-line through the jungle, and wake up to the sound of howler monkeys in the trees just outside your window. Standard hotel accommodations or resorts with pre-planned activities may work for some groups, but yours would rather have flexible schedules to fill with your own excursions. The Jungle House is close to all the action, making this easy & convenient. If this sounds like you guys, then The Jungle House in Santa Teresa Costa Rica, is your place. Located smack in the middle of a stunning trifecta of ocean, jungle, and the town’s main street, The Jungle House simultaneously offers easy access to local attractions and a sense of privacy and seclusion.At The Jungle House you'll find bold, rustic décor—including dining tables shaped like surfboards and hand crafted hardwood beams & furniture throughout—in a comfortable, relaxed setting with Zen-like peace. At 3400 square feet, with seven bedrooms and space for up to 14 guests, we are one of the largest vacation rental houses right in the heart of town. And, one of the most affordable.Unlike other area accommodations, there’s no hill to contend with when you want to get some sun or test the surf. Just take a relaxing 5 minute walk on a flat path. We’re so close to the Pacific, you can hear it crashing just behind the row of towering jungle trees at the back of the property. If you’re unsure where to start with your adventures and activities, we can help. We’ll happily set you up with fishing trips, zip-line canopy tours, a kayak adventure, or a yoga instructor who will come out to the property and guide you through a series of poses on your private, open-air yoga studio. Or, learn to surf with a talented instructor. One of Costa Rica’s best breaks is in the Jungle House’s backyard! After spending all day working up an appetite, you can either step right onto the main road for a variety of restaurants, or cross the street to the frutería for fresh veggies, fruits and eggs. Prepare a meal in the house’s large open kitchen, which is fully equipped with quality cookware and appliances. There’s also a supermarket, just a 3-minute walk, for everything else you might need. We can arrange delivery of delicious fresh fish to you as well, which you can grill on the outdoor barbecue while everyone cools off in the private pool.Forbes Magazine calls Santa Teresa one of the world’s top ten most breathtaking beaches—with its volcanic formations, lush tropical scenery, and diverse wildlife—and we know you’ll agree. Why not give your family something to look forward to, starting right now? Book your escape to Santa Teresa’s Jungle House today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Jungle House Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing