We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have stayed more than one night...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Should have stayed more than one night...”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

So friendly owner and staff, that it felt sad to have to leave after only one night. Almost feeli'n guilty! The room, top floor in a two story bungalow were clean and cosy with white sheets and comfy beds. The room has enough place for four, but we were only two so it was a bit expensive for us, $60/n. The burritos for lunch were very tasty and the breakfast with fresh fruits, yoghurt and granola were exellent! Sandra & Johan

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samavela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    20
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
18
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I was visiting Santa Teresa from San Francisco and I stayed at Don Jon's through my entire 7 day visit. Not only was the lodging nice, clean, and comfortable - but the owners are extremely friendly and easy to hang out with. Steps away from the beautiful beach and awesome surf. Great food options at Don Jon's and nearby. Easy to rent a surfboard. The bus from San Jose drops off and picks up nearby. Everyday started with a Don Jon breakfast burrito, chillin in one of the many hammocks reading a book and talking, heading down to the beach to surf, back for lunch, more chillin, maybe an evening surf session, dinner, beers...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunt37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

The place is fantastic... Great rooms, cabinas and appartements. The propriety is very clean and all the room as well. You get a very comfortable stay on top noch furniture making you stay very enjoyable. The food is out of this world at the restaurent Venga... I could not stop praising the chef for his talent. The cerviche and tuna was one of our favorite. The price is right as well. I have since talk to all my friends and will not hesitate to speak highly of Don Jon and his place. You will not be disapointed. Great beache and surfing place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterandsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed here one night as a go between for hostels and didn't want to leave the next day! However we did end up coming back for our last night in Santa Teresa. The access to the beach was extremely close as well as surf shops and good inexpensive restaurants! We stayed in one of the new cabinas for $30 USD each night. The room was very clean, had a ceiling fan, fridge, private bath, our own little deck and hammock/chairs. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed while we were there due to the cook being sick. I would highly recommend Don Jon's for the very relaxed laid back traveler!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kukla78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Excellent safe place to stay. Food was delicious!! Craved it all day long! The staff was so great super helpful and great laid back pura Vida attitude! We stayed in a cabina 3Ppl for 35 a night!! Great location to beaches and surf!! Would go back again!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Don Jon's is located just across the street from the main surf break in Santa Teresa. Four minute walk to the beach. I stayed in a little treehouse style cabina with some friends. There we're 3 of us and we paid $12 US each. it had 3 beds bathroom, cold shower and fridge. No ac but the breeze that came through at night was quite cool. There was a fan but we rarely used it. Had a sweet little balcony with a hammock to chill on at night. The owners we're super chill and had lots of recommendations for places to shop and eat around town. There's also dorm style accommodation with ac for $10 US per night. If you want to chill and surf everyday this is the place

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfstyle09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

After touring around a few cities in costa rica we were ready to unwind at Santa Theresa beach and find a budget hotel that would be comfortable, relaxed, close to the beach and surrounded by nature all in one, and we did at Don Jon's hotel/hostel. The two owners who are also brothers, Jon and Jason and their 6 family watch dogs live on the proerty and are always there to help with whatever you need. They had everyone laughing for hours and we miss them already. Beautiful, clean private wooden cabins on stilts or shared dorms closer to the street, prices are more than fair. 35-40 for the cabins that sleep 3 or under 20 for share. All rooms are very basic, there's nothing frilly about this place, it's just about nature and relaxing. We saw families with young children to younger people staying here and everyone had good things to say. Jon and Jason are great company, the beach and surfing are amazing, the hotel is perfect; I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tegdirb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
0.1 mi away
Selina Santa Teresa
Selina Santa Teresa
#3 of 62 in Santa Teresa
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante

Property: Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante
Address: 150 meters north from soccer plaza, Santa Teresa 1, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Jon*s has a variety of accomodations, great restaurante, and is conviniently located. Dorm rooms for backpackers, modern apartments with AC for groups, and rustic cabins with private rooms all made from teak wood and very one of a kind. A restaurante serving the freshest fish tacos, burritos, sandwiches and salads all ways, always. Only 100 meters walk to Santa Teresa beach with consistent surf year round and in the center of the village near markets, reataurantes, and soccer plaza. A family run establishment where the service is personalized and with gusto. See you soon! Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Jon`s Hostel And Restaurante Hotel Santa Teresa
Don Jon's Lodge And Restaurante Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing