We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, coctails and view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brisas del Mar

Brisas del Mar
Ranked #13 of 90 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: French, Seafood, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Our restaurant Brisas del Mar is rated as one of the finest restaurants of all Santa Teresa and Mal Pais. Cosy and friendly atmosphere await for you with amazing international dishes that can only be outraged by the incredible ocean view... Open to the general public with ever-changing menu using the freshest local ingredients. The best Cockteleria withe the best ocean view under a sky full of stars... we welcome Large groups, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions!! Open for Breakfast/ Dinner, Reservation.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, coctails and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had a lovely meal on our first night here. Everything was great. if you want the best view then ask for the left had terrace table. Cocktails were yum. The waiter was also very helpful, nice Canadian guy. Going back again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alanknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    105
    38
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

A wonderful place to dine out for a sunset or under the stars. The food here is tremendous and you will be greeted by a first class waitstaff.

If you go make sure you gun your ATV up the hill, it is very steep. And bring cash. And don't skip desert.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
232 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent in some ways”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Service, views, atmosphere is all perfect. That is anything but the food. Food is just OK, so with everything else, it works. But don't expect too much from what you eat. It is not a gourmet place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Feyzi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
128 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great food, great service, can't beat the view! Our party of three ordered 3 different seafood entrees, all were excellent. I wish we had room for dessert. For us this was a treat, it's on the pricier side for Santa Teresa, but well worth it.

PS - Don't miss the namesake cocktail!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank eleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
264 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Food is excellent, but bring CASH”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This restaurant is located up the hill from the main street and has a nice view of the ocean. They also have a pool. Not sure if it’s for kids during the day so their parents can relax and have lunch. We came for dinner. The sunset too far to the north for us to see, but it was still a nice view. They provided us with 3 appetizers and corn chips. There was a hummus dish, red cabbage slaw, and an eggplant dish. They were all excellent. We ordered each of the 3 special appetizers, fried calamari, coconut fried shrimp and a fish tartar with mangos and avocado. The fish tartar was excellent and my son liked the shrimp more than the calamari. For my Entrée, my son and I ordered the Mixed Seafood. It came with a side salad, roasted potatoes and sea bass, shrimp and mahi mahi. The fish was cooked to perfection and was tender and extremely tasty. I was surprised how wonderful it was. Usually I like the seafood better, but in this case, the fish was the best part of the dish. Two sons and a daughter ordered the chicken dish. The boys loved it, but my daughter felt it was over seasoned. Another daughter ordered the linguini with shrimp in a marinara and cream sauce. Everyone who tried it said it was excellent. Another daughter ordered the beef tenderloin and said it was excellent. I didn’t like the chocolate dessert with the orange liquor, but I don’t like orange liquor. The brownie and ice cream was great. Our waitress wasn’t super friendly, but adequate. We had to get up each time we wanted another large water bottle. They only take CASH (US Dollars or Costa Rican Colones, so make sure you have it. I would definitely come back and highly suggest this restaurant for excellent food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brisas del Mar also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Brisas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing