We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay and eat in Santa Teresa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rey Patricio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Rey Patricio
Ranked #7 of 32 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pismo Beach, California, United States
2 reviews
“Great place to stay and eat in Santa Teresa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The owners of El Rey were great from the moment we walked up the steps. They were very welcoming and ready to serve. We arrived there after a 5+ hour drive and were pretty beat. Immediately we had refreshing drinks and wonderful food ready for us. The cook at El Rey is great. From something as simple as a margarita pizza to spicy Thai beef; it was all not just good, but great. Our room was simple, but nice and clean. We could see the waves from our hammock. Just walk across the road and you're on the beach. Just a short walk from great surf. Gustavo, who doubles as their bartender (makes a great cuba libre) is also an awesome surfer. He can give you lessons if you like, or if you already know how to surf, just ask him for advice on where to find waves at the right tide. We were lucky and had head-high swell our whole trip. Got to surf with Gustavo and he just straight shreds. The cook at El Rey was so gracious that he even prepared fish for us, at no cost, that we caught on a fishing expedition. On the fly he prepared us some wonderful mahi ceviche and another mahi main course since we scored 30+ pounds of mahi that same afternoon. They also cooked us mahi for breakfast the next morning. If we ever find ourselves back in Santa Teresa, we will definitely go back to El Rey. Also, if you really want to get in good with the owners, bring them beer. The husband loves IPAs and the wife really digs oatmeal/chocolate stouts. Beer in Costa Rica isn't so great and if you arrive with a couple bottles of quality beer for the hosts, you will no doubt be overwhelmingly compensated as a good IPA or stout in CR is almost impossible to find.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    11
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
79
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We didn't stay here but we ended up here on quite a few occasions- to eat and drink. It was the closest place to where we were staying at hermosal rentals and our hosts were friends of theirs. Lee and Jane are soo kind and hospitable. They are great fun and are very very welcoming. Their food is great and they put every effort into making you feel at home. We were treated to a lovely Christmas Dinner and enjoyed New Years there also. Thanks for being such friendly people Jane and Lee, you really added to our stay in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went there with my family, we all loved it! My Mom and Dad was relaxing on the beautiful beach and me and my sister where surfing. We recomend you to take a surflesson with Gustavo who is also working in the bar!
Lee and Jane was fantastic, great survice and made it feel lika home!
We all wanna go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I don't think I can put into words the experience that my family and I had during our week at El Rey Patricio, but I'll try. We are a family of five with children 12, 10 and six. We stayed in the two bedroom, one bath cabina behind the main property. It was perfect for us. My husband and I had a queen bed and the children had bunk beds and a single in the adjoining room. We were lucky as that particular cabina has AC so we were very comfortable while sleeping. The front porch has perfect views of the ocean and a hammock for relaxing. On to the meals - everything was fantastic and so affordable compared to other restaurants in town. We should have eaten every meal there! Breakfast is perfect and Jane and Lee would basically make anything you wanted. Lee also handles lunch and the hummus sandwich was delish. My boys declared his cheeseburger the best they've ever had! All in all, everything we ate was great. About Jane and Lee - hands down the reason our trip was awesome. I don't know if it was the combination of the particular people staying that week or the amazing weather or the gorgeous setting or what but take all that, add Jane and Lee and we felt like we were at the most special place on earth. When we left I was struck that I may never see any of those people again as long as I live and, and while that was sad, I also felt so fortunate to have had that experience, for my kids to have had that experience. We could have stayed somewhere fancier (and much more expensive), but that's not what matters. What matters are the people you surround yourself with and Jane and Lee are two of the best. Maybe it's their job to take care of your every need (great conversation, meals, ziplining, surfboard and boogie boards, yoga, local culture, etc.), but they made us feel like we were their family. An unforgettable trip and unforgettable people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We wished we could have stayed longer, because El Rey Patricio was the best vacation spot we have ever been able to experience! Lee and Jane are absolutely amazing and helped us have the best experiences in just the 4 1/2 days we were there! They were incredibly accommodating! From making us breakfast in the morning, to helping us get set up with surf boards, mnt. bikes, quads (to go to the waterfalls in Montezuma!) and they offer really good food for lunch and dinner as well.
The sunsets are bar none the prettiest on earth and you have the opportunity to have the best view from a little bench right in front of El Rey. There is nothing better than falling asleep to the sound of the ocean! This place is rustic, rugged and completely serene! We could go on and on about how great this place is, but just know it is absolutely awesome.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_TrainBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I ended up staying almost a week, starting with the intention of only a day or two. No more could have been asked from this lovely family. Outside of the obvious luxuries (a/c!) we woke to a home cooked meal every morning and when we caught fish, a home cooked dinner with the family. If you are looking for good laughs, a comfortable stay, and smiles all day this is the place. Great job Jane and Lee, you guys have the makings for something great!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WanderVision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was my second stay at El Rey Patricio and it has gotten even better since I was there 2 years ago.  Lee and Jane are the new owners and they have made so many improvements since the last time I stayed there.  The daily breakfast that came with my room was awesome, and they even gave me choices each day.  The hotel has the best view for sunset.  We went out to the tide pools and enjoyed a beverage from the bar at the end of each day.  So relaxing!  They helped with a fishing tour where I caught a bunch of mahi-mahi.  I'm glad that I went back to El Rey Patricio!  

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLannister212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
1.5 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
2.6 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Surf Sanctuary
Blue Surf Sanctuary
#2 of 32 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Patricio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Patricio

Property: El Rey Patricio
Address: 5km. Norte del Cruce Con Mal Pais, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your El Rey Patricio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Patricio Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing