We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“absolutely awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rey Patricio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Rey Patricio
Ranked #7 of 32 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“absolutely awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We wished we could have stayed longer, because El Rey Patricio was the best vacation spot we have ever been able to experience! Lee and Jane are absolutely amazing and helped us have the best experiences in just the 4 1/2 days we were there! They were incredibly accommodating! From making us breakfast in the morning, to helping us get set up with surf boards, mnt. bikes, quads (to go to the waterfalls in Montezuma!) and they offer really good food for lunch and dinner as well.
The sunsets are bar none the prettiest on earth and you have the opportunity to have the best view from a little bench right in front of El Rey. There is nothing better than falling asleep to the sound of the ocean! This place is rustic, rugged and completely serene! We could go on and on about how great this place is, but just know it is absolutely awesome.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_TrainBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    11
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
80
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I ended up staying almost a week, starting with the intention of only a day or two. No more could have been asked from this lovely family. Outside of the obvious luxuries (a/c!) we woke to a home cooked meal every morning and when we caught fish, a home cooked dinner with the family. If you are looking for good laughs, a comfortable stay, and smiles all day this is the place. Great job Jane and Lee, you guys have the makings for something great!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WanderVision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was my second stay at El Rey Patricio and it has gotten even better since I was there 2 years ago.  Lee and Jane are the new owners and they have made so many improvements since the last time I stayed there.  The daily breakfast that came with my room was awesome, and they even gave me choices each day.  The hotel has the best view for sunset.  We went out to the tide pools and enjoyed a beverage from the bar at the end of each day.  So relaxing!  They helped with a fishing tour where I caught a bunch of mahi-mahi.  I'm glad that I went back to El Rey Patricio!  

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLannister212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at El Rey Patricio and had an amazing time. Jane and Lee were great hosts. The free breakfast that we got each morning was delicious and they even offered a few choices to choose from each morning. One morning Jane made us banana pancakes with fresh bananas from the property. The view that we had from the beachfront bungalow is amazing. El Rey Patricio is where you want to stay to get a real feel for Costa Rica. It is located on the north end of Santa Teresa which is great for a nice quiet stay. I will be back again next year!

Room Tip: try to get the bungalow if it is available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoFlo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Bays, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently stayed with Jane and Lee, at El Rey! They were terrific!! The view from their restaurant is incredible! They sit up off the road and away from the dust, private beaches and a short walk to the surf beaches!! They were also most helpful when it came to recommending different activities to do and where to rent quads.. If you want that perfect get away check this place out!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTattookid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Lee and Jane, who now own and operate this A++ resort have turned it into a perfect combination of where Kieth Richards would have taken The Stones for "Exile on Mainstreet" if Costa Rica was their destination instead of France... and just the absolute best destination resort on the Nicoya Peninsula. They are all at once providing a family atmosphere (or a comfortable wholesome hedonistic one) where a bohemian, surfer, rocker or just a hip family looking for a secluded, sprawling, GORGEOUS resort destination in paradise can find their dream vacation spot. Part of your heart will never leave this place once you stay here with them. -world traveler 15 plus years p.s. - lee(a famous Florida ex-pat radio man) even operates a pirate radio broadcast from the resort!!! How amazing!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloftis12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed at El Rey for 6 weeks and loved it.
Gustavo, Javier, Raquel and Kimberli made us feel so welcome. The location of this place is probably the best in the whole Santa Teresa area as the beach is literally 2 seconds from your bungalow/room door and we had the beach to ourselves every single day.
At each low tide there is a massive tide pool right in front of El Rey where we swam and snorkelled with so many different fish, it was beautiful.
Breakfast is included in the room charge and we always had a choice of Gallo Pinto or fruit and toast and eggs and unlimited, delicious coffee. Lunch and dinner is also available and the choice and quality was very good. If you eat here for lunch or dinner then you must try the onion pizza, it is the best pizza we have ever eaten.
Gustavo also runs the Perfect Sunset School where you can learn Spanish or surfing or both. Being surfers ourselves we appreciated seeing Gustavo in action as an instructor and his knowledge and patience were second to none and the emphasis was always on having fun.....just as it should be.
We highly recommend staying at El Rey and will definitely be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelenB073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.5 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#8 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fuego Lodge
Fuego Lodge
#1 of 32 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Surf Sanctuary
Blue Surf Sanctuary
#2 of 32 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Patricio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Patricio

Property: El Rey Patricio
Address: 5km. Norte del Cruce Con Mal Pais, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Rey Patricio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Patricio Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing