We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect setting for an exceptional family...”
The Beach Estates - Head On Ocean View!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Beach Estates - Head On Ocean View!
Beachwood - Style + Design + Comfort Sandy Lane's Private Beach Access
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The Beach Estates - Head On Ocean View!
Beachwood - Style + Design + Comfort
Sandy Lane's Private Beach Access
Sandy Lane's Beachfront Gate
Beachwood - Master suite + view
Sandy Lane Beachfront
Beachwood's Sunset View!
Catching Air at The Beach Estates
Sandy Lane Estate - design elements
Sunset directly in front of The Beach Estates
The Beach Estates Lifestyle!
Beachwood - Guestroom
Local organic fruit!
Sandy Lane - Stylish lounge areas!
Sandy Lane - Master guestroom suite!
Sandy Lane - Pool Cabana guestroom
Sandy Lane - Light and bright guest bathrooms
Beachwood House - Ocean view kitchen!
Sandy Lane's head on ocean views!
Beachwood House - Ocean view dining !
Sandy Lane's ocean view dining!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
postrente...
Glendora, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect setting for an exceptional family vacation”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing vacation! I was using TripAdvisor to plan a summer vacation in Playa Santa Teresa for my family of 4, parents and in-laws, and I wanted to find a place that had the same feeling as the Florblanca resort in a house. I'm so glad that we found Sandy Lane and decided to stay here. The house was perfection on the beach. Clean, comfortable, secure, good for young kids (ours are 4 and 6) and on a perfect beach. Dan, the owner, handled every detail before we left including arranging charter flights from San Jose to Tambor, getting a rental SUV and stocking the fridge. He also answered all the questions we all had so we arrived prepared for the week at his home. And he must be some sort of celebrity down here because everyone knows him and the houses and spring into action when they hear you are staying there! The staff (Christian, Herman and Lubis) were courteous and attentive to our every need and are the nicest people I've ever met. Christian (the concierge) came to check on us every day, booked surf lessons and tours, made dinner reservations and he even arranged to get a birthday cake delivered for my son's 6th birthday. Steps from the house is a surfers paradise and a great place for kids to play and explore. Soft sand, lots of shells and sea creatures and only a few people spread out over miles.

I have to admit that the food at the restaurants in Santa Teresa is outstanding. Our favorite spots were Burger Rancho, Brisas del Mar (go for sunset), Koji and Chicken Joe's. Amici had surprisingly large portions and The Bakery was great for breakfast. Product C has beautiful fresh fish that you can eat there or take back to Sandy Lane to cook (we made fish tacos out of Amber Jack). We walked up the beach to FlorBlanca for drinks and massages (20% discount for staying at Sandy Lane) and bought food to cook at the local markets.

I can see my family returning to Sandy Lane time and time again. It was truly an amazing experience and provided a perfect setting for memories that will last a lifetime.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewed August 8, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Date of stay: August 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Schovs
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
“Gorgeous house on a perfect beach”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My family of 7 stayed at Sandy Lane for a week. Our vacation was perfect in every way. The house, grounds, and pool are beautiful and well maintained. The perfect beach is steps away from the house. Lubis came in every day and left the house spotless, and Herman kept the grounds immaculate. Sofi and Dan (the owner) arranged all of our excursions and gave us recommendations for fantastic restaurants. In the evenings we would play frisbee on the beach and watch the breathtaking sunsets. Sunsets in one direction, rainbows in the other, it was like a movie. Days we spent zip-lining, riding horses on the beach, riding 4-wheelers, and soaking up the sun. Paradise. Pure paradise. Do yourself a favor and stay here. You will not regret it.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house and the very accommodating staff and owner
Liked least: Mosquitos
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Reviewed February 21, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Date of stay: January 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SC
Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Date of stay: June 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles
Reviewed May 15, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gwells5
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“For Those Seeking the Best House on the Beach!”
Reviewed April 17, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
6
people found this review helpful

Let us first say that we are not generally the trip review types, however after experiencing the joys of Sandy Lane, we felt we needed to share our observations with others who may be thinking of visiting Santa Teresa / Mal Pais.

As we began our search for “the best beach house in the village”, we started by asking some friends who happen to live in Santa Teresa. They told us to stop the search with “Sandy Lane Estate”. After spending a week here and looking at the other options, we can’t thank them enough for their advice!

We wanted direct private beach access, open views to the waves, contemporary architecture, a pool and most importantly…we wanted to walk in front of our house and swim without having to worry about rocks. Sandy Lane provided all of this and so much more.

The “more” came with how Sandy Lane’s amazing staff took such good care of us. Ugo (the concierge) went above and beyond to help us experience every possible adventure. Every request was delivered upon with a warm “beach casual” professionalism. The caretakers (Herman & Lubis) maintained the home and grounds beautifully and were always there to help with anything (Herman’s daily deliveries of fresh coconut juice were a family favorite!).

Without a doubt, the best advice we can share is that location is everything in this little beach village. The soft white sand beach in front of Sandy Lane is the most coveted by far. Mal Pais has a very rocky shoreline and Hermosa has darker / harder sand and requires long walks to the rock free swim zones.

There are many nice looking houses up in the hills, but getting to the beach and trying to find parking and access is a hassle we did not want to deal with.

Another big bonus was the number of great restaurants near Sandy Lane. We went out most every night and had incredible fresh & exotic meals prepared by “surfer chefs” from around the world. Everything was delicious and healthy!

The hunt for a great rental place can be confusing and not everyone has a local friend who they can go to for advice. We hope this helps those in search of a beach house that is truly special!

Date of stay: April 2011
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing