We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The house I wish I owned!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griss Lodge and Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griss Lodge and Villas
Ranked #11 of 32 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The house I wish I owned!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Had great interactions with the owners / managers. Very friendly, kind, and responsive. Location is right across the beach about a 3 min walk. Houses are lovely, accommodating, and decorated well. I went with two of my girlfriends and we had an absolute blast. I highly recommend staying at Griss. My stay was only four nights but I could have easily lived there for months.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mccarthy805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
27
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

What an amazing home away from home. Fabulous location, beautifully decorated in a serene environment. Owners are extremely friendly ans very helpful. Highly recommend this place as it has exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurferGirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Beautiful property with a nice private pool and relaxing area. A little noisy sleeping in the jungle but that is part of the fun! Great for going in the group or as a couple. Villas were good value and service was great.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The place is great, just a 2 minute walk to the beach, also the staff is very friendly and helpful. Apartments have fully equip kitchen, near super market, the pool is very nice too. Totally worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Fribourg, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent almost 3 months in this small corner of paradise! It is the place to stay in Santa Teresa!
Close to the beach and La Lorra surfspot (2min walk) and in a quiet spot surrounded by the jungle.

Selma and Gabri will make you feel at home and part of the family!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orely_swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have stayed at griss for first time in September 2008 in the first house upstairs. A beautiful wood cabin with everything you need in it. A bedroom upstairs and then the kitchen, dinning area and livingroom area and a lanai with a hammock to hang out. Then in 2010 I stayed in house Nr.2 upstairs and Nr.3. Each house is tastefully decorated and unique, and very functional and clean. Every year the owners make these houses look like new, there is always a little improvement. A couple of years back the added the pool and the barbaque/outdoor hang out- area away from the road and in the privacy of the beautiful tropical garden. It is a perfect place for families and adults alike, beautiful and quiet. It is also located right across the path that leads to one of the best surf spots in town, so you can be in the water several times a day and then just go home for a snack and a refreshing swimm at the pool. It is possible to schedule massages, surf lessons or surfboard rentals in the reception area. The owners are fantastic! They were there to assist me with every question or need I had, but at the same time they gave me all the privacy in the world to enjoy the house as my little private home by the beach. Griss is always a treat! enjoy!!!

Room Tip: I like the houses near the pool the best. Also they have 2 beautiful suites by the pool w/ private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara93108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I arrived with my family in early August. We stayed in the upper unit which includes two double beds, equipped kitchen, dining and living area. The building and rooms are tastefully done constructed from natural wood. The above unit has two floors in a loft style--the 2nd floor having two rooms each with a bed and air conditioner. Everything is very clean and well kept and feels very new. The beds and couches were super comfortable and the room had almost no bugs even with the windows kept open. Whats great is the location to the beach-directly across from the lodge is a public access. This is the nicest beach area as it is all sand where further down it becomes very rocky with little space to sit. There are good restaurants located nearby and the main center is only a 20 minute walk. The room itself was the nicest we stayed in Costa Rica at the cheapest price! Very good for budget travelers

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chibisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#4 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meli Melo
Hotel Meli Melo
#4 of 32 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pacifica Surf Studios
Pacifica Surf Studios
#21 of 32 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Surf Sanctuary
Blue Surf Sanctuary
#2 of 32 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griss Lodge and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griss Lodge and Villas

Property: Griss Lodge and Villas
Address: Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Griss Lodge and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griss Lodge And Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing