We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canaima Chill House
Ranked #1 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We loved our stay at the chill house. It was a very unique, very relaxing experience. Being a little bit up the hill from town was a disadvantage for beach access, but it really helps the property stay quiet and peaceful. The furnishing was amazing and we loved the property. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We loved the fish tacos at Joe's Chicken down in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corywright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    29
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
32
180
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Canaima is a great place to stay, cool interiors, surrounded by nature ran by a lovely guy who is also the surf instructor. We stayed here for a full week with the surf and yoga package. He was a great and patient teacher by the end of the we got to a good beginner level. Would definitely stay here agin.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenwake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent the 2013 Thanksgiving week with my wife at Canaima Chill House. We'd heard incredible reviews from some friends but we could have never imagined what our eyes saw upon our arrival.

This secret spot that Juan Carlos brought to life some years ago is the perfect place you wanna find yourself just to RELAX (capital letters!), enjoy central-american wildlife (surrounded by monkeys, iguanas, turtles,... every day!) and practice your favorite water sports. We personally love to go surfing so you'd never find a better spot than Playa Santa Teresa, in the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica.

And Canaima Chill House is right in the middle of everything you need. Among the wide jungle, but walking distance to the beach, which has probably the best waves in the country.

Check this place out, you won't go wrong!

We had awesome food, witnessed great sunsets and met amazing hosts that are now our friends.

Thank you Juan Carlos, Alexia and everyone that made our stay so special!

We can't wait to go back next year!!!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which room you book. All of them are amazing, spacious and comfortable. Real s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleix V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Everything about the Chill House is amazing. Wildlife surrounds you, even in the shower with glass walls looking into the jungle! The pool is perfect for cooling off after the hike up the large hill, which is really the only downside if you don't have a vehicle. The staff were incredibly helpful and fun, we ended up hanging out with two of the receptionists quite a few days. The owner knows everything there is to know about the surrounding area, what to do, where to go, and how to make you're trip overexceptional. He is a great surf instructor as well and is very reasonably priced.
After staying here, and looking around at all the other places in Santa Theresa, I'm confident I made the best accommodation choice I could have possibly made. This place will blow you away

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gymmom_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I normally stay in slightly less posh places than Canaima Chill House, but still had a fantastic, and very relaxing time there. (I should add the caveat that Canaima is posh for Santa Teresa, so it's still got plenty of charmingly rough edges.) The room I stayed in was on the top floor right by the stair well, so we only had one neighbour. The generous balcony had comfy seating and a bed suspended from the rafters. Inside our room, was quiet, private, spacious, and clean. The main bed is presented beautifully, and I can only imagine how exciting the loft beds would have been, had we brought kids along with us (kids responsible enough to be safe on ladders, that is).

While the atmosphere was definitely chill, as advertised, I found it just a bit frosty at times. If you're looking to be left alone, consider this a five-star review; if you're looking to be social with staff and fellow travellers, Canaima is just a bit less than ideal (hence 4/5 rather than 5/5). Communal spaces sat mostly empty while I was there, and while the staff was professional and courteous if approached they otherwise didn't really check in on us. Regardless, if you're looking for luxury on a budget, this is your place. I couldn't believe what our money got us - in the high season, no less.

Comfortable, spacious, clean, and professional, Canaima is worth every penny, and you get some great cardio going up and down the hill it sits on.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms seemed a bit more private, whereas the downstairs rooms were more open to traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Such a beautiful peaceful location up in the trees. The room we have is so beautiful, and Juan Carlos and the staff have been so helpful. The decor is stunning and so unique for this area. It has all the comforts and style of a high end boutique hotel in New York where Im from but situated in the jungle above the best beach in Costa Rica. I felt completely at home and never wanted to leave. Very relaxing, comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: You may want to have the staff arrange a car or quad for you, its up the hill, walkable but carrying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thxgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights with my 3 adult children. Well designed with location in the trees & shaded. The approach is probably the most stressful aspect of the stay. You do need 4x4 & a bit of nerve but the worth it & you get used to it.
Staff are nice & manager really helpful & approachable without being at all intrusive. Arranged surfing lessons with him for my kids & they really enjoyed it. They were novices.
Small burner in our loft suite for cooking breakfast-think you can order breakfast but we didn't. The public areas looked nice but would be used by by people in smaller apartments. Small swimming pool & cold hot tub.
Internet not very fast & would often go off. This is problematic as reception is shut at night (8-8) & you are requested not to touch the router-we ended up resetting it despite that otherwise we would have had no access for several hours. Owner was fair in saying that he was sorting out resolving the wi fi issues.
We stayed in the 4 person suite. It has balcony. Upper beds are up quite steep ladder so no good for younger kids.
You are about 10 mins down to beach by foot. Nice beaches. Decent supermarkets locally. Some good restaurants nearby-see other reviews.
Bottom of the track down there is yoga centre- good yoga sessions in the morning-about 9am-$10 per 90 mins. Recommended.
Overall really happy with our choice. Nice owner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerLeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
329 reviews
1.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fuego Lodge
Fuego Lodge
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaima Chill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaima Chill House

Property: Canaima Chill House
Address: 400 metros al este del Hostal Brunelas, hacia el monte | Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canaima Chill House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "Eco Chic hotel" is a jungle oasis, only 500 meters away from one of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica.In Canaima Chill House, luxury is experienced in harmony with nature and simple sensations such as, relaxing on a bamboo hanging bed, listening to the amazing sounds of the jungle or chilling in our "pillow swimming pool".Sensations which are hard to explain, sensations which are simple to feel.- 4 Suites (for 2 people)- 4 suites-loft (up to 4 people)- Swimming Pool- Chill Deck- Outdoor Jacuzzi- WI-FI- Personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Canaima Chill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaima Chill House Hotel Santa Teresa
Canaima Chill House Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing