We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Santa Teresa!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canaima Chill House
Ranked #1 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2011

The Canaima Chill House was a great place to stay our entire 10 days in Costa Rica. It was luxurious and peaceful, yet still social when I wanted it to be. I traveled with my best friend and we are in our early thirties--too old to party all night but too young to not want some social interactions. The Canaima was perfect for this because you can hang out on your own private deck if you want some privacy (even pull the curtains yet still feel the breeze) or go out on the public deck with the pool to meet some people or have a beer. It gets quiet around 9pm there, so its easy to get up early and have a surf session just down the road. The kitchens are perfect, because we saved a lot of money cooking some of our own meals, but were close enough to go out to eat as well. The staff are amazing...they help you out in planning a day, giving restaurant advice or telling you where to go have fun. The pool is the best when you walk up the dusty hill to get to the Canaima--so relaxing and cool! The jungle atmosphere is perfect when wanting to get off the strip of Santa Teresa and into some shade and comfort. The hill up to the hotel is steep, so if you aren't ready for that, rent a 4-Wheeler. We didn't have the breakfast that is optional and served by the hotel, but friends we meet said it was great! Also, I took surf lessons from Juan Carlos and he is fantastic--whether you are a beginner or more advanced, he can help. In general, I can't say enough good things about this place...I will be coming again and again because it really is the best place in Santa Teresa!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBC8011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 398 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2011

Every detail of this hotel is beautiful and well tended to... the solid wood floors and beams, the gauzy curtains, the amazing new pool, the uber friendly and helpful staff and management... we spent two wonderful weeks at Canaima Chill House and definitely would recommend it!

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank nyclotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stared our Costa Rica adventure in Santa Teresa - definitely the right decision. The Canaima Chill House more than exceeded our expectations, it was beautifully designed and very in keeping with the environment - a real luxury retreat. The staff are very helpful and Juan Carlos is clearly passionate about what he has created. Yes there is a hill and yes you do have to walk up it (or get a taxi) but it really isn´t a problem. The breakfast is lovely and delivered to your patio area which has a very relaxing ´hanging bed´. Santa Teresa itself is a relaxed surfers place but the beach is beautiful also to non-surfers. Juan Carlos is also a surf instructor and we sampled a lesson - great fun. We would certainly recommend the Zwart Cafe for breakfast and lunch it´s very close to the hotel.
Finally, if you´re looking for a late night party this is not the place to go. It´s all about surfing, beach life and healthy eating (although you can of course get a delicous pizza!).

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Sunna_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Canaima Chill House is a beautiful tropical hideaway and a wonderful Costa Rica experience. Beautiful rooms and each with a big outdoor porch/patio that's great for "chilling." Juan Carlos and Carolina are delightful hosts and most helpful. The hotel is located up a steep, bumpy road -- definitely need a 4-wheel-drive -- but being off the main road means less noise and dust. And bring your own provisions -- no breakfast is served but there is a kitchenette in each room with fridge and coffeemaker.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebrainDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

The rooms and grounds of this place are really incredible—spotless, stylish, luxurious, integrated into the jungle environment yet sufficiently bug-proof. For the price you can't beat it. It is somewhat of a laborious uphill walk to the place, especially at night. Bring a flashlight and enjoy the mountain breeze at night. The $7 continental breakfast, brought to your room, is great (yogurt, fruit, toast, coffee, fresh squeezed juice). Owner Juan Carlos is awesome—I took a $35 introductory private surf lesson from him and he is a superb teacher. A five minute walk up the hill from here is Gumbo Limbo, an incredible Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

You hear a lot of stigmas about Central America, about Costa Rica, about having, as a tourist, to remain vigilant and keep an eye on your stuff. All these stigmas tend to take away from your expectations as it did mine. When I got to the Canaima Chill House, I was completely put at ease. The house is a bungalow in the jungle with communal hot tub and Juan Carlos and staff run the place like the Hyatt in Paris (where he used to work according to the 'about the house' book at the foot of the bed). You want an ATV? they'll arrange it for you. Restaurant recommendations? You got it. How about a surf lesson? Juan Carlos can hook you up, maybe even teach you one himself. Eventhough you're not separated by much more than a wall of bamboo and a roll down blanket, the place remains fairly quiet and does the trick for that jungle getaway.

Some folks may not dig the uphill climb it takes to get to the house, but its totally walkable to and from the beach/town/restaurants, etc. Just be sure to do it before or a bit after noon as not to catch the sneaky harsh sun.

PURA VIDA!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jruben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Canaima Chill House is a hidden Costa Rican treasure. Fantastic owners and excellent service. We stayed for 5 days, and it was the most relaxing vacation of our life. We plan to go back this year, Canaima Chill House will be our choice once again! Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hlane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#14 of 27 in Santa Teresa
294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#13 of 27 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fuego Lodge
Fuego Lodge
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaima Chill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaima Chill House

Address: 400 metros al este del Hostal Brunelas, hacia el monte | Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $91 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canaima Chill House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "Eco Chic hotel" is a jungle oasis, only 500 meters away from one of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica.In Canaima Chill House, luxury is experienced in harmony with nature and simple sensations such as, relaxing on a bamboo hanging bed, listening to the amazing sounds of the jungle or chilling in our "pillow swimming pool".Sensations which are hard to explain, sensations which are simple to feel.- 4 Suites (for 2 people)- 4 suites-loft (up to 4 people)- Swimming Pool- Chill Deck- Outdoor Jacuzzi- WI-FI- Personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Canaima Chill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaima Chill House Hotel Santa Teresa
Canaima Chill House Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing