We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid if at all possible! WAY better places to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pacifica Surf Studios
Ranked #23 of 33 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid if at all possible! WAY better places to stay!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Unfortunately we were unable to avoid staying at this location because we showed up in santa teresa over New Years and every single bed, hammock, villa, house, hotel room, bed and breakfast, etc was reserved. The place was packed!!!

We thanked our lucky stars when there was a cancellation at this hotel. However, when speaking with the staff at check-in, we became a little leery when 2 guys were checking out because their bed had broken and the staff was not doing anything about it. Regardless, we walked around the place and it looked ok. The normal rate is meant to be around $60/night but the prices go up over high season to anywhere from $90-$110. We were ok with that - everyone needs to make their money, so we signed on for $120/night, getting an invoice and confirmation.

Having settled in to our 2nd floor room and about to hit the beach (yes!), the manager comes over and stands on the ground below us proceeding to tell us we must pay $180/night + taxes (equalling $206 US/night) or else we have to leave as his boss would be very upset because this is the busy season and he has other people willing to pay it.

(Keep in mind, he is standing on the ground below us so we are having this argument in front of all of the other guests. He is telling us it is our fault that his staff gave us the room for $120 so we have to pay or get out. However, I not only overheard the staff give this $120/night quote to others but also read it on a website - I'm not sure how this was our fault.)

We get in to a huge dispute where he forces us to pay or get out - knowing full well there is no other accommodation - we are at his mercy. So we pay. Only to later find out, he was in fact the owner, not the manager and completely lied to our faces.

And this basically ruins my time in santa teresa as I could not justify paying $206/night for a rundown room where the bathroom sink was broken, the wifi only worked if we sat out in a corner of the veranda, the ac barely put out any air, the mattress was hard, and the sheets/towels were never changed. For $60/night sure. For $206/night you better have something more to offer. Like something actually nice.

We stayed in a hammock the first night because there was no where else to stay and I would have preferred to do that again, than pay the owner the exorbitant amount he was asking for the associated quality. There are many other beautiful, luxurious, nice places in and around santa teresa (that we have since seen) that come with honest and welcoming hosts. Choose those!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank danita h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    25
    7
    1
    7
See reviews for
24
54
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I just got back from my stay in Santa Teresa Costa Rica. I stayed at Pacifica Surf Studios for the second time, and it just gets better and better. They have the most friendly staff, excellent local knowledge, and most important the best surf spot out RIGHT OUT FRONT! Perfect for a surfers vacations. We scored excellent waves the whole trip. The owner, Simone, is such a great guy to have around. He is so friendly and willing to accommodate any needs for his guests. The place has also has great security, with a guard every night watching over the place. We felt safe and looked after the whole time, which is important when traveling abroad. It's not a question if I'll stay there again, it's a question of how soon. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: If you want to surf and stay in Santa Teresa CR, stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was a beautiful spot to end our CR vacation. All 8 units face W each sharing a balcony with one adjacent room (though each room has its own screened off half). We practically lived on that balcony, which was nicely furnished with hammock, table and chairs. It looked out at the pool and the trees-- and the howler monkeys and iguanas. The pool is lovely for a cool plunge and always has a shady spot. The rooms were really nicely designed, spacious, spotlessly clean. The kitchenette had a 2-burner hot plate, toaster oven, coffee maker, and a few dishes and pots-- the pots and accessories were a bit sparse but adequate. No condiments of any kind, you have to buy them all (oil, salt/pepper, etc.) Our unit (#5, I think?) was upstairs and had a single plus a King bed, lots of storage space, a safe. Even though it was in the upper 90s, we didn't use the ac much; the rooms were designed to stay pretty cool. At first I was disappointed not to have an ocean view (the trees screen it) but actually you will be very glad of those trees for the shade from the very hot western sun! And it is just about a 2 minute walk down to one of the prettiest beaches I've ever seen. We at first felt a little out of place in this 'surfer town', but everyone is so friendly, and it is so beautiful that I am really glad we came here. (Still, it is not the ecotourism type vibe in this town, you should be aware). We did take 'beginner' surf lessons with Javier and had a great time. You should be aware it is a VERY long, hot and dusty and bumpy drive to get to Playa S.T. or to get from here to anywhere else. But the surf studios are a perfect 1/2 block away from the dusty road, meaning the shops and cafes are very accessible but the dust stays away. The surf studios rent ATVs, but we ended up being worn out with the surf lessons and just (happily) vegging out most of the time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Returned for much needed R&R to attack the December waves and sunny beaches. Relieved to see that the quality in accommodation was unchanged since last visit. Added to this trip was a slew of new and sleek boards, along with a bunch of gorgeous puppies. The staff, resident Coco, and surf school instructors were all smiles and happy to see us in our surf and Casado-seeking splendor. Some familiar faces were still in place, having made huge strides in surf excellence, as well as some new restaurants sprouting up very close by - rendering this destination what seems to be an ideal location for all things food, surf and hammock-lingering. Internet issues have improved as boosters seem to have been put into the peripheral studios, and amazing new ATVs now apparently available. We rented bikes so can't comment further :) Can't wait to return with my own board, family and friends.

Room Tip: Only 8 studios, one better than the next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefnfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed with my wife and 2 year old daughter for 3 weeks in January and I can safely say it was one of the best holidays we have ever had!

The building is stunningly built, set within a beautiful jungle back-drop and next to a very short (about 50 metre) path to the beach. There were regularly howler monkeys and iguanas in the trees and the jungle sounds in the morning were incredible.

The studio we stayed in was very large. A huge, super king size bed with 2 bunk bed units and a sofa bed; a good sized, fully equipped kitchen; decent storage space; a safe and a bathroom with warm water and a large shower. There was also a nice veranda outside, shaded by bamboo with a dining table and a great hammock! The air-con was good and was really nice to have for the baby's midday naps! The apartment was also cleaned every day with fresh sheets and towels. The WiFi was actually really good and easily enough to use Skype and check emails.

The pool is great to escape the midday heat - ideal for watching the wildlife in the surrounding jungle!

The surf is so close that it is really easy to check whenever you want, but you can mostly "check" it with surfboard in hand - during our 3 week stay, I surfed a shortboard every day. Being so close, you can pick and choose your surf times to get the best surf every day and avoid the crowds.

If you don't have a board, you can rent from the surfschool which is just next to the property. They have a very good selection of boards ranging from 9ft+ to 6ft shortboards - mostly brand new and NSP.

You can also rent an ATV next door and head over to Montezuma or Manzanillo etc. They have a selection of quads to choose from - very well kept and a lot of them were brand new.

The staff were all super friendly and were very helpful with advice and help during our stay. Simone (the owner) is a true gent - originally Italian but has lived in Costa Rica a long time - he knows how to get things done and make you really feel at home. Coco, Simone's dog was also a great companion to our daughter - she took it upon herself to follow her almost everywhere, just to help look after her- lovely dog.

It was truly the most relaxing holiday we have had as a family. We will be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilekott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four days and loved it! We got engaged here and santa Teresa is a the perfect place!

The cleaner is so thorough everyday with her cleaning and the studios are spotless and big.

The pool is great for a cool now and its about a 2 min walk to the beach so ideal!

The kitchen coming in handy and all the staff here are super and mega accommodating.

The price is a bit expensive for a couple but good value if there's three or four of you in particular.

We felt really safe here, the security goes around every 15 mins or so through the next checking the garden.

Would recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashabop1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013

If you are coming to surf.. pacifica surf studios is definatlely the place to stay! This was our first time to Costa Rica and we are so in love and will definitely be making this a yearly trip to pacifica and santa Teresa. Simone is so awesome, accommodating and makes you feel right at home. You could not ask for a better location. Surrounded by jungle, monkeys and iguanas really made for a relaxing atmosphere while we took our daily post surf nap on the hammock on our deck. The accommodations come with everything you need... Kitchenette which came in handy for making breakfast and lunch between surfing and lounging... Ac that really helped when it got warm.. And a super rad deck that made for a great place to relax. The pool was a great bonus to refresh in after hitting the beach

Beach access is so ideal... Just a quick 2 minute walk down a palm and tree lined path brings you right to the surf. My husband and I took advantage of the surf school while we were there and could not have asked for a better experience. Their instructors Guillermo and Ricardo were so helpful and gave us so many awesome tips that really helped us in the water. We were also able to have board rentals every day we were there which made it super convenient. Outside of the awesome surf the sunsets were absolutely breath taking. We would grab a 6 pack of imperial at the local market every night (just a short 5 minute walk away) and cruise down to the Beach. Pacifica also comes in handy for adventures off site with atv rentals and will get you hooked up with anything you want to do. Simone and pepe arranged the canopy tour for us and round trip transportation that made it so easy. The canopy tour was so fun and something I will never forget. The other tenants staying at pacifica were so awesome and we definitely made some new friends that we will for sure keep in touch with. All of the guests were there for the same reason to surf which made it so fun to see each other shredding out In the water

Besides the awesome location to the beach.... The location to town is sooo great.. You have some great restaurants nearby and little shops with in a 5 to 10 minute walk .. You can also walk down the beach if you don't want to walk down the road and get to some awesome places as well. Everyone there is so friendly. We went to some great places... Kojis for sushi kekas for great Argentinian food and live music .. Vistas de olas for drinks and awesome sunset in Mal Pais ... The fun goes on and on. having a bike and or car could also help with seeing more too if you don't want to cab or rent atvs

This place is so magical and we totally fell in love with santa Teresa. If you are looking to surf this laid back surfer village is definitely the place to escape reality and enjoy life. PURA VIDA

Room Tip: The panoramic rooms offer an awesome expansive view of the pool and surrounding foliage... Also brin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zula Inn Aparthotel
Zula Inn Aparthotel
#9 of 33 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meli Melo
Hotel Meli Melo
#5 of 33 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacifica Surf Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacifica Surf Studios

Property: Pacifica Surf Studios
Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacifica Surf Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Pacifica Surf Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifica Surf Studios Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing