We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and well located”
Review of Tropical Pasta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropical Pasta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed there for a whole month around Xmas. The owners Andrea and Valentina are a wonderful couple, welcoming, and helpful and their baby Thiago is the happiest I've ever met.
They often make barbecues in the garden and cook italian food for the guests.
It is also very conveniently located: the beach is basically across the street and there a big supermarket a couple of blocks away. The rates are very good for the area and it's a good place to meet people. There's no way you're not going to make friends there!

Room Tip: The best room is the one in the back, facing the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matteo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 82 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

We showed up at night with no reservation and Andrea gave us a break on the larger room for a few days. Kitchen is nice and stocked with all the equipment you need to cook. When I was there the guests were a diverse group of friendly people just enjoying their trip to Costa Rica.

No problems with noise or security and overall an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Up to five people can share the suite downstairs from the owners, a great value if you have a bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinpstout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

If you want a good place to stay, where you can meet interesting people, you have to chose tropical pasta, good room and fantastic owner, i have spent 3 weeks and it was amazing, the beach is really near and Andrea the owner is a really good surfer and he can give you a lot of advice, I come back for sure.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank EdencafeTreviso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

I spent few weeks here and I highly recommend it to anyone which is looking for a place with a cosy vibe , where you can talk surf and chill out with other travelers following the early morning lifestyle. I loved it and really felt like a home away from home .
The rooms are comfortable and good value for money , probably one of the most affordable places in town.
You have a shared kitchen and also discount in Tori the restaurant in front .
The hosts are really nice, always available and helpful .
The green backyard and the hammocks scattered around the place makes blending into the local lifestyle really easy .
The beach is across the road and if you are into yoga you have two places really close by and all the amenities .
Enjoy it:)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauraanjali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Really close to beach, very cheap private rooms which are quality, very helpful and friendly owners. Highly recommend to anyone coming to enjoy the beaches/surf that dont want to splash out on anything too fancy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Incoqnito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at this small hostel for two nights in Mid-December. Andrea, the owner, is helpful and friendly. He cares a lot about his property and keeps it very clean, which is important to us when traveling. He also has a new restaurant where you a discount for staying in the hostel. The hostel is also half a block away from two markets, shops, and beach access. The only downfall is that the rooms get very hot at night because the windows don't open much (prob to keep the place safe). Overall, a really good spot in a really cool town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phishnets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

This place has a great location but lacked a few necessities (such as toilet paper). I'm used to staying in hostels and surf camps but this place is a little more basic than that. BYO toilet paper! The bathroom was not very clean when we were there. I preferred to use the outdoor shower instead and dreaded going to the toilet. We checked out ahead of time to go somewhere else. We scoped a few other places along the beaches in and around Santa Teresa - there are plenty more budget hostels in great locations but with nicer rooms and cleaner bathrooms.

Room Tip: If you're going at the end of the dry season, try to avoid the front rooms because they get very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fi-kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
584 reviews
1.1 mi away
Selina Santa Teresa
Selina Santa Teresa
#2 of 61 in Santa Teresa
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Calocita
Cabinas Calocita
#12 of 61 in Santa Teresa
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
202 reviews
2.3 mi away
Florblanca Resort
Florblanca Resort
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Pasta

Address: 50 Mt. Nord Supermercado Ronny's #1, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $30 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Pasta is a Guest House run by a Italian family, is small and simple but clean and comfortable too. Nice and quite ambient dedicated to who travel with backpacker budget but want to enjoy the privacy of private rooms. Fifty meters to the beach, fifty meters to the supermarket and hundred meters from the banks and mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tropical Pasta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Pasta Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing