We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Private getaway and seclusion.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buenisimo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Buenisimo
Save
You added Hotel Buenisimo to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 32 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
SFO
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Private getaway and seclusion.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

This is a great place to stay if you want to avoid the crowds and have tranquility. Charlie and his wife were great hosts. We stayed at one of the casitas for 4 days. If you book the Casitas, I suggest a 4x4 or ATV because the private road is rather steep. After 2 weeks of resorts and hotels, this was a nice change for us. Again, this is a place to go if you want privacy, quite and solemn tranquility.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
39
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

We were meant to stay a couple of days in a casita, but stayed a week and even then it was hard to leave!!! The casitas were perfect, with a view of sea but 5 min walk to beach, very private with kitchen, bathroom and spacious bedroom. The best part was the balcony with hammock overlooking sea and tropical garden ..we spent all our time here.
Every morning we were treated to a great breakfast and complete with great coffee, fruits (from the property), pinto, eggs and the best banana pancakes!

What really made the week so special was Charile and Denise. They were the perfect hosts, organising anything we needed (quad bike), new books to read, advice on surfing or local restaurants to eat.

After 4 months travelling, this was our favourite place. We want to go back and would definitely recommend anyone stay here!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjones01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

exquisitely hand-crafted casitas;
magnificent ocean and sunset views;
surrounded by jungle flora and fauna;
close to all amenities;
highest possible calibre of hosts:
an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laviedoucement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

This place was awesome!!!! Clean, comfortable rooms with large shower, kitchenette, teak throughout, just beautiful. Hammocks on the porch with UNBELIEVABLE views all at VERY reasonable prices. However this does not properly describe the Hotel Buenisimo experience because the real prize here is the owners. They're fantastic people who will go out of their way to ensure your trip is the best it can be. From places to eat, surf lessons, jungle adventures, water falls, animal sanctuaries along any/everything you can imagine is made available to you. I will never forget the home style BBQ on the private terrace with sunset finale, thank you so much Charlie, Denise, & Ryan for your hospitality. Now that we have found this gem we will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CostaCrazy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

There are so many activities immediately accessible from this location and the very hospitable owners will happily help arrange things for you. With staying here I found the perfect day could simply involve waking up in the morning, enjoying coffee on the front porch looking down the mountain over the water, heading down to a breakfast that will fill you for the rest of the day, walking on the beach to watch the surfers, and then meandering back to the front porch to take in the sunset (casitas are strategically built to maximize your view of the ocean and the sunset). I loved spending a week in our pristine casita with nature right outside the front door. I'm already recommending this place to my friends!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soleilamiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

We chose to stay at Hotel Buenisimo for a few days during Semana Santa 2008. The red casita and Hotel Buenisimo were a perfect location for our early morning surf sessions. The hotel even had surfboard rentals conveniently for rent on the property. The red casita had a surfboard safe for the boards we had brought, which is a great safety feature. The view from the casita allowed for us to see the waves and where they were breaking, but more memorable were the incredible sunsets experienced on a nightly basis. The food was delicious and fresh and the property was park-like with beautiful landscaping. We would absolutely return to Hotel Buenisimo during our next visit to Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsmith1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

This is the best place to stay in Santa Teresa. A short walk to the beach. No dust in your eyes from the road and the two nicest, cool, down to earth people are your hosts. You are a block away from the Super Costa( Market) and also many shops and food areas. The beach is just a short walk and the view from the property is amazing.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank britaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banana Beach Bungalows
Banana Beach Bungalows
#18 of 32 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Rey Patricio
El Rey Patricio
#6 of 32 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meli Melo
Hotel Meli Melo
#3 of 32 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buenisimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buenisimo

Property: Hotel Buenisimo
Address: Mts South Of the Church 100, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated by surfers, Hotel Buenisimo is set in the low hills of Santa Teresa on the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica.We offer private casitas with beautiful white-water ocean vistas or rooms set in our lush gardens down below. All accommodations include complimentary breakfast. A short walk down the hill from Hotel Buenisimo takes you to the Pacific Ocean where you can still find secluded, pristine beaches with consistently first-rate surfing conditions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Buenisimo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing