We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing Trip!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buenisimo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Buenisimo
Save
You added Hotel Buenisimo to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
“Amazing Trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My boyfriend took me here for my birthday at the end of August last year. We had the most amazing time, and are planning another trip back! The weather was beautiful and there was only one stormy night. We stayed in one of the casitas at the top of the hill that had an indescribable view. Every morning we hiked down the hill and had Claudia's breakfast to start the day. Ryan was the best host and made us feel like locals. I feel like we really did it all.... We went zip-lining, horse-back riding, surfing, fishing, and hiking. We spent the evenings listening to live music, eating fresh ceviche and drinking imperials. It was a truly special trip and Santa Teresa is like nowhere else. Thank you so much Ryan!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
39
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

4 adults and 1 child Thanksgiving 2012. There's nothing like it. All the other places just cannot compare to the hospitality and welcoming that the staff show the guests. It is paradise on earth, the colors were out of this world! Ryan rolls out the red carpet and can show you hidden treasures off the beaten path.

Room Tip: All rooms offer remarkable views
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank diana g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to Hotel Buenisimo. We stayed in a casita this year and loved it!! Spacious, great view, and reasonably priced. The breakfast is outstanding, especially after a good surf session. Built in workout if you do not rent a car or 4 wheeler, which we did not mind at all. We felt very safe and comfortable. Ryan is a great host, he'll help you to make the most of your stay in Santa Teresa. This is a fantastic place to stay and we will return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Good little B&B. We stayed in the garden rooms which were very good value for a budget traveller. You have your own private room and bathroom and right next to the big living space where there is a pool table, chairs, hammocks and kitchen. It would cost the same to stay in a hostel but staying here its much nicer, cleaner, safer and more of a hotel/B&B experience. People are very nice too. Beach is only a 3 minute walk across the main road

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katebossaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I just got back from Santa Teresa and we stayed at Buenisimo. We stayed in the casita which basically has a 180 degree view and a perfect afternoon/evening breeze that puts to you sleep in the two available hammocks. The hotel offers a healthy and filling breakfast which pretty much gets you through to dinner. You can opt for cooking in the casita or a number of great restaurants close by. We opted for the daily hike up the trail to the casita which is rewarded by an outdoor shower and then the hammocks! The casita is also accessible by a driveway which an atv quad would be perfect for. That seemed to be the preferred method of transport for the area. I was glad to be off the main road b/c it was very dusty on the road during the dry season. At the hotel, we were not affected by the dust at all. The owners were super friendly with local knowledge and the staff was very accommodating. Lots of places to go in the world for vacation. This is a sure thing. Thanks Charlie! Hope to get back on some of those awesome waves again.
Nick and Johanna

Room Tip: I think they all have an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George's, Grenada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

A few weeks ago, my husband, brother and sister-in-law took a trip to Santa Teresa from California. We stayed at the Hotel Buenisimo after multiple recommendations. It was my brother and sister-in-law's second stay at Hotel Buenisimo and my husband and my first. We absolutely LOVED everything about it! The rooms were a perfect size with gorgeous views of the ocean. Every night we would sit on our patio and watch the sunset (green flash) from the best view in Santa Teresa! The service was amazing as well; the owners go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful time. We went fishing one day with one of the owners, Ryan, and although we only brought in one fish, he went spearfishing to bring in a couple more for us. After fishing we had a family style dinner with the other owners, Charlie, Denise, and a few other patrons. When you stay at Hotel Buenisimo you definitely feel like a local! I could not recommend Hotel Buenisimo enough, it was a vacation that we will be sure to repeat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed for a few weeks and it was just awesome, Charlie and his crew are very helpful and know the area and were very willing to help if we needed it, clean rooms. Good times! As a matter of fact we are going back to CR tomorrow and plan on staying at Hotel Buenisimo again!

-Dan and Sheryl

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weekenddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luz de Luna
Hotel Luz de Luna
#10 of 31 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rustico Santa Teresa
Hotel Rustico Santa Teresa
#14 of 31 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Canaima Chill House
Canaima Chill House
#3 of 31 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meli Melo
Hotel Meli Melo
#5 of 31 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Surf Sanctuary
Blue Surf Sanctuary
#2 of 31 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buenisimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buenisimo

Property: Hotel Buenisimo
Address: Mts South Of the Church 100, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated by surfers, Hotel Buenisimo is set in the low hills of Santa Teresa on the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica.We offer private casitas with beautiful white-water ocean vistas or rooms set in our lush gardens down below. All accommodations include complimentary breakfast. A short walk down the hill from Hotel Buenisimo takes you to the Pacific Ocean where you can still find secluded, pristine beaches with consistently first-rate surfing conditions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Buenisimo Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing