We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place, excellent service, great people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariposa Vacation Homes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mariposa Vacation Homes
Certificate of Excellence
alajuela
1 review
“Beautiful place, excellent service, great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

We traveled for an Ocean Conservancy clean-up program over Santa Teresa and Hermosa beaches. This was my third experience in this location because it´s one of the best places to go in Costa Rica. About the hotel I think it´s a great place, with all the commodities to travel with friends or family, the rooms are big and really confortable and also the pool and well the whole place is great. The main thing here is that the place offers security for the people and cars but also San Teresa its a peacefull and nice ¨pueblo¨. Thanks a lot to Stefan and Nicole for your excellent service and attention and for your great job in the community.
Casas Pura Vida are really Pura Vida !!! Muchas gracias, muchas bendiciones, sigan adelante !!! Tienen un lugar maravilloso !

Buena nota !!!

Michael Castillo

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenpeacenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
102
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

This trip was with 3adults 55+ 3 .niece & nephews in late 20's.The house was great,location perfect.Everything was all you could want it to be.could not have been more satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasasPuraVida, owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, October 31, 2009
Thank you so much. It's people like you that make our business a pleasure to operate !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chepe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

I spend one night there because I was on a work trip, was perfect for me and my team to find a place so cozy, natural and charming like this. For us that where traveling for a couple of days was the perfect experience.
The sound and the ocean breeze make the perefect combination!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ginatica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

Plenty of room for 6 guests in the casa Tortuga. Great location, quick 1 minute walk to the beach. You can here the waves from the yard! Perfect beach, great surf waves and plenty of sand. Pretty good market also 1 minute walk from the property, had all the essentials. Property is Right on the edge of town in Santa Teresa. Bar and dance club is a 5 minute walk and a great place to hang with some locals. Rent some ATV's to easily get around the dirt roads around town. Nicole the owner of the house was very helpful and made the stay that much better. I would recommend any of the houses on this property to anyone who wants a vacation off the beaten path.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHHSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

Whether you are in the mood for simply a beautiful, leisurely, well appointed vacation or more into energetic sports, casaspuravida fits the bill. Your hosts make the stay memorable with their enthusiastic knowledgable recommendations and skills as a hospitality couple. Being less accessable adds to the charm and beauty of this more remote Costa Rican spot.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canasAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

best spot, best beach, the most amazing place to stay in costa rica, is a paradise, i recomend to every one, thanks Nicole and Stefan for the great time i had there, i' ll be back, for sure!!!

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nrmtico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

When we arrived ,there was no lock bock and after some yelling/ beating on the gate the caretaker opened the gate. We found the owners brother in the house we rented, we were moved to the other house for the night. The next day the owner apologized for the mistake and told us our house would be ready later ( but offered nor provided any help in moving our luggage and board bags).

The property is advertised as ocean front, but only the owners house is oceanfront. The rentals in the back of the property, have to walk out a locked gate and down the dirt public access road, it was just weird that they did not have a path through the property and made the guests walk twice as far to get to the beach. The house was nice and the air worked great, but it did not have any condiments, coffee or water in the dispenser, it just seemed to lack things that made you feel welcome.

We never saw the owner except the day before we were scheduled to leave, his missed this by a day also, at least they were consistent. It is a nice house, but very little pura vida..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fields1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasasPuraVida, owner at Mariposa Vacation Homes, responded to this review, October 9, 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment & voicing your concerns. Your opinion is very important to us & we strive to achieve 100% customer satisfaction, as we have done many hundreds of times since opening. We apologize for any shortcomings which you may have perceived or experienced during your recent visit. We must have had an off-week & have taken your suggestions under serious review. We have made numerous improvements to insure that this type of situation will never occur again for any of our future guests. We would like to encourage future guests to visit our new website which has pertinent info regarding our unique beachfront project & the Southern Nicoya Peninsula. In addition, our FAQ's and rental agreement are clearly written, in order to avoid any miscommunication or false expectations on either end. If something is not clear, please ask. It is our pleasure to serve you. We strive to represent fairly all of our properties by constantly amending & updating this information including guest comments & suggestions, such as yours whenever possible. Finally, if something is amiss while you are here, please let us know during your stay, not afterwards, thus we will have the opportunity & be happy to address the issue immediately. Thank you very much for bringing your concerns to our attention.
Sincerely CasasPuraVida owners & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.2 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Surf Sanctuary
Blue Surf Sanctuary
#2 of 33 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Vacation Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Vacation Homes

Property: Mariposa Vacation Homes
Address: 1.3 Km North of the Soccer Field in Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 6153, Costa Rica (Formerly Casas Pura Vida)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariposa Private Beach homes began as little more than a dream and a vacant parcel of land in 2003. Our mission is to offer private, well built, clean and comfortable houses with everything necessary to enjoy quality vacation time with your family and friends. This is an ongoing project, and every year we continue to make improvements to our infrastructure, houses and gardens. We are committed to becoming as sustainable and community friendly as possible. Our employees are 100% local (born and raised) help and we use local products and suppliers whenever possible. We are also founding members of our neighborhood association, know as AVSTN for it’s Spanish acronym, volunteer at the local public school and have served on the board of directors of the local water board and AVSTN. Mariposa Private Beach Home’s commitment to improve the quality of life of our employees and growing town extends beyond our gates, as we are involved in various community projects as the recycle program, monthly beach clean-ups, education programs in the public school, public water, roads and security issues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mariposa Vacation Homes Hotel Santa Teresa
Mariposa Vacation Homes Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing