We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveler rating
181
49
18
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
49
18
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft roomcosta ricashared kitchenswimming poolquiet locationgreat kitchenbreakfast includedcommon areasgreat adviceair conditioningmal paismartinbarbarahostelsupermarketsurfbeach
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 254 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2017

I stayed about 3 weeks ago, and only just realised I'd left my passport and some money under the mattress in the room. Within 5 minutes Martin and Barbara had found them and kept them safe for me to pick up. As for the hotel, it's a great place with a small pool, shared kitchen, and immediately opposite the path to the beach, exactly where some of the best waves are consistently found. And great advice and help from all the staff. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms I stayed in (nearest to the reception desk) are currently being renovated, so may be a really good choice once completed.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ludders80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Thank you for your review.
Pura Vida!

Martin
Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

Stayed here for a week and it was perfect. The staff were beyond helpful and accommodating, assisting us with surf lesson booking, answering all our questions, and the owner even drew us a map of where to go with our rented ATV. The pool was great! Rooms are spacious and very clean.

Room Tip: The private room was great
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Thank you for your excellent review! We are happy to know that you had a great time. Hope to see you again on your visit to Costa Rica!!!
Pura Vida

Martin
Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

Extremely friendly and accommodating service, lovely well-kept rooms, a very nice small swimming pool, well-located along the main strip in Santa Elena (but not so close to the commercial center that it's noisy).

Room Tip: "loft" rooms with king-sized bed are great
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Hola! Thank you for your nice words and excellent review! Hope to see you again on your next visit to Costa Rica!
Pura Vida

Martin
Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017

We ended up staying much longer than planned. Not only because we enjoyed surfing right at our doorstep, but also because this hotel has it all. We particularly enjoyed the fact that we had so much space in our room (two floors) and it was convenient to have a well equipped kitchen that we used a lot. The pool is a huge plus as well. We also preferred the location a bit outside --> less traffic = less dust in the air. There's still plenty of restaurants nearby and two supermarkets in walking distance.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank In For T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Wow!!! Thank you for your nice review! We are glad to know that you had a great time with us! Hope to see you on your next visit to Costa Rica! Enjoy the ride.
Pura Vida

Martin
Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

We loved Cuesta Arriba so much that our planned two day stay turned into 16 days. The staff are super friendly and helpful. They went way beyond expectations to assist us with all our queries.

We stayed in a loft room, which was extremely comfortable, quiet and clean. The communal kitchen is great and the supermarket is very close to grab all you need.

The location is perfect. Only 100 metres to the beach and lots of fab restaurants and bars.

Im missing this place and the people who work there and am planning a return visit.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tanny71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuesta A, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017

Thank you Tanny for your nice review!
Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews