We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveler rating
181
49
18
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
49
18
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft roomcosta ricashared kitchenswimming poolquiet locationgreat kitchenbreakfast includedcommon areasgreat adviceair conditioningmal paismartinbarbarahostelsupermarketsurfbeach
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 254 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Hi.. nice spot by the beach, always clean... good quality beds and a pool... But seriously this german chick who runs the place needs to loosen up... she was being so uptight complaining about us using an extra pillow when no one else was using the room we were in, complaining about us using the kitchen beyond 9pm... when I was talking to her in the pool she was whinging about how hard her work was at Cuesta Arriba that she had to empty a few beer cans out after a small drinking session the night before... then when I rented a board for 24 hrs starting the previous day,, the next morning she was like "remember its 24hrs, you must bring it back at 12" so freaking specific no room for some pura vida... you know what though... to top it off she would not give the key deposit to our friend because we used too much of the coffee sugar without buying our own... I mean are you freaking serious?!?! we did not use $4 worth of sugar and for starters we did not drink any coffee only chucked a bit into our cooking... what a freaking uptight... seriously this girl needs to find paradise because she such an uptight chick who has no idea what is pura vida

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abediddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

We are so sorry to hear that you weren't entirely happy with our service. When our guests check-in we take the time to explain to them our rules and times for the usage of our facilities. When paying for a dorm bed you normally stick to your bed and pillow. The room is not private, you share it with other travelers, this is why you only pay $13 p/night (low season). Of course, if you are paying for a private room you are entitled to use all the beds and pillows in that room, but this was not the case. Regarding our kitchen hours, it is open from 7AM until 9PM, and our quiet time begins at 11PM to respect the other travelers that wish to get a good night sleep. To be offended by our rules and times seems unusual. When you can read other reviews and compare how other travelers feel very different. And last but not the least, "Pura Vida" for us is respect to our wild life, respect to our mother earth, respect to one another in a perfect harmony, something that this traveler did not understand, but that hopefully was able to find by the end of his trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I had the best time of my life here. Want to thank the Cuesta Arriba staff for this great experience. By the way, I need to mention that this reviewer from Karlsruhe, Germany couldn't be more wrong. Cuesta Arriba is the place to be and the LP pick is very well deserved. Everything about this place brings a smile to my face. See you soon....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I stayed in Cuesta Arriba for about a week this year and it has been totally perfect. The owners are very friendly and their place is absolutely beautiful! The ocean is just across the street, there's everything you need around and it's easy to reach the "centre". Just very peaceful, incredibly clean, very well looked after and all this for a good realistic price. You have access to a practical kitchen area that makes you feel at home where you are just free to do whatever you feel like. It is very quiet, friendly, and the other clients I met were all in this cool mood. Seriously, I would recommend it to anyone who's feeling like chilling in a very nice quiet surf town of Costa Rica. Amélie (Canada)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amelie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We've just been there and we're really annoyed by all the "to do" and "not to do" signs and the fact that you would have to pay (quite a lot) for every bit of extra service.

Just to mention some examples:
- 8$ for a bike rental, even if you would just need it to get to next ATM which is 1 hour one-way walking distance
- 2$ extra charge if you want to stay until 2 p.m. (thats when the afternoon San Jose bus leaves)
- exchange to colones is done with a 20 colones spread, so they make a profit whenever you cannot pay in their desired currency.
When we we're there the "todays exchange rate" was at 520 cols per $, which wasn't updated daily nor anywhere near the real exchange of 506.
- they have a credit card machine but will only accept payments for reservation (this is relevant because the ATM is really far away) Martin mentioned the extraordinarily high fees (he quoted 15%-20%) as the reason, i checked this on tripadvisor and it states 7-9%.
- breakfast is supposedly „included“, but then again limited to 2 slices of toast and coffee per person.. !?

All in all you can see thats its little things that sum up to a not really welcoming atmosphere.
For 50$ a night for a double room with a bed and a fan, we would've expected more and know that there are better spots.

P.S. Another fact which is worth mentioning is that there are no computers, the wifi doesn't work in the rooms and you won't have reception on your phone!
So you are basically offgrid (which can be good sometimes, so you can decide if you want it or not).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ufcdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papadopulus, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

We appreciate your feedback. We are very sorry if our signs offended you, sometimes they are necessary to give people information.
We offer a 24 hour bike rental service for $8usd; unfortunately we don’t do hourly rentals. This reviewer mentioned that needed to go to the bank, if he/she would have taken a taxi it would have cost $16, if he/she would have taken the local bus it would have cost $4. Most of the bike shops in town charge $8-$10 for a 24 hour rental; we believe we have very competitive prices.
Our check out time is at 11am as a courtesy to our guests we added the afterhours pass for only $2. It allows you to use all the facilities of our hotel, like: our kitchen, wifi, swimming pool, showers, storage, parking, safety boxes, etc. The idea behind this is so our guests after 11am don’t have to get roasted in the scorching sun until 2pm at the bus stop, or have to spend more money in a restaurant waiting for the time to come.
Our rates are quoted in US dollars, that being said if you wish to pay your bill in a different currency you are going to pay the “Today’s exchange rate”. The US dollar in Costa Rica changes everyday so it is really hard for businesses to have their prices in the local currency (colones), we would have to change our prices every day. It is therefore rather unfair to describe our exchange rate as making a profit when every hotel in town, as well, has their rates posted in US dollars.
We recently added a new service for our guests; you can now make reservations with your credit card over the phone. The reason behind this was because of the increasingly number of travelers wishing to reserve a room and not risking getting here and not finding any availability. Payments are always made in cash upon arrival. Regarding this reviewer’s remarks about credit card fees and a credit card machine it is totally incorrect and false.
We never mislead our guests about our breakfast; it is quoted everywhere that it is coffee and toast.
Our wifi works very well in the hotel as other reviewers have commented before. It is for mainly usage in our public areas, we have noticed that the quality of the reception that you will get also depends on the age and brand of your electronic device or if it is a laptop or a phone. This reviewer’s phone didn’t work because he/she stayed under our trees, moving a few meters away from the trees would have solved the problem.
It is rather unfortunate that this reviewer didn’t mention any of this to us; we would have gladly tried our best to make his/her stay more enjoyable. We strive for excellent service and believe we provide great value at a very affordable price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Unexpectedly ended up staying 2 and a half weeks here. A combination of a great clean hostel with nice rooms and social areas, lovely accommodating hosts and nice people staying made this a great place to hang out and get in some great surf time. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattymarvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews