We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful and peaceful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Turrialba, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful and peaceful place to stay!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I stayed in Cuesta Arriba for about a week this year and it has been totally perfect. The owners are very friendly and their place is absolutely beautiful! The ocean is just across the street, there's everything you need around and it's easy to reach the "centre". Just very peaceful, incredibly clean, very well looked after and all this for a good realistic price. You have access to a practical kitchen area that makes you feel at home where you are just free to do whatever you feel like. It is very quiet, friendly, and the other clients I met were all in this cool mood. Seriously, I would recommend it to anyone who's feeling like chilling in a very nice quiet surf town of Costa Rica. Amélie (Canada)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    47
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
64
80
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We've just been there and we're really annoyed by all the "to do" and "not to do" signs and the fact that you would have to pay (quite a lot) for every bit of extra service.

Just to mention some examples:
- 8$ for a bike rental, even if you would just need it to get to next ATM which is 1 hour one-way walking distance
- 2$ extra charge if you want to stay until 2 p.m. (thats when the afternoon San Jose bus leaves)
- exchange to colones is done with a 20 colones spread, so they make a profit whenever you cannot pay in their desired currency.
When we we're there the "todays exchange rate" was at 520 cols per $, which wasn't updated daily nor anywhere near the real exchange of 506.
- they have a credit card machine but will only accept payments for reservation (this is relevant because the ATM is really far away) Martin mentioned the extraordinarily high fees (he quoted 15%-20%) as the reason, i checked this on tripadvisor and it states 7-9%.
- breakfast is supposedly „included“, but then again limited to 2 slices of toast and coffee per person.. !?

All in all you can see thats its little things that sum up to a not really welcoming atmosphere.
For 50$ a night for a double room with a bed and a fan, we would've expected more and know that there are better spots.

P.S. Another fact which is worth mentioning is that there are no computers, the wifi doesn't work in the rooms and you won't have reception on your phone!
So you are basically offgrid (which can be good sometimes, so you can decide if you want it or not).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ufcdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papadopulus, Owner at Cuesta Arriba Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
We appreciate your feedback. We are very sorry if our signs offended you, sometimes they are necessary to give people information.
We offer a 24 hour bike rental service for $8usd; unfortunately we don’t do hourly rentals. This reviewer mentioned that needed to go to the bank, if he/she would have taken a taxi it would have cost $16, if he/she would have taken the local bus it would have cost $4. Most of the bike shops in town charge $8-$10 for a 24 hour rental; we believe we have very competitive prices.
Our check out time is at 11am as a courtesy to our guests we added the afterhours pass for only $2. It allows you to use all the facilities of our hotel, like: our kitchen, wifi, swimming pool, showers, storage, parking, safety boxes, etc. The idea behind this is so our guests after 11am don’t have to get roasted in the scorching sun until 2pm at the bus stop, or have to spend more money in a restaurant waiting for the time to come.
Our rates are quoted in US dollars, that being said if you wish to pay your bill in a different currency you are going to pay the “Today’s exchange rate”. The US dollar in Costa Rica changes everyday so it is really hard for businesses to have their prices in the local currency (colones), we would have to change our prices every day. It is therefore rather unfair to describe our exchange rate as making a profit when every hotel in town, as well, has their rates posted in US dollars.
We recently added a new service for our guests; you can now make reservations with your credit card over the phone. The reason behind this was because of the increasingly number of travelers wishing to reserve a room and not risking getting here and not finding any availability. Payments are always made in cash upon arrival. Regarding this reviewer’s remarks about credit card fees and a credit card machine it is totally incorrect and false.
We never mislead our guests about our breakfast; it is quoted everywhere that it is coffee and toast.
Our wifi works very well in the hotel as other reviewers have commented before. It is for mainly usage in our public areas, we have noticed that the quality of the reception that you will get also depends on the age and brand of your electronic device or if it is a laptop or a phone. This reviewer’s phone didn’t work because he/she stayed under our trees, moving a few meters away from the trees would have solved the problem.
It is rather unfortunate that this reviewer didn’t mention any of this to us; we would have gladly tried our best to make his/her stay more enjoyable. We strive for excellent service and believe we provide great value at a very affordable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Unexpectedly ended up staying 2 and a half weeks here. A combination of a great clean hostel with nice rooms and social areas, lovely accommodating hosts and nice people staying made this a great place to hang out and get in some great surf time. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattymarvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The best hostel in s.t next to a supermarket & a soda place, 100m. From the beach, very clean, the best stuff, planned to stay 3 days, stayed 14 :) great pool, nice beds, crazy clean, big & open kitchen, in 2 words: go there :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erezyosef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Cuesta Arriba is a good place especially for backpackers and surfers. It is located right opposite the beach access and one of the main surf spots of the area. The rooms were basic but clean and it had a common kitchen and a wifi, even though the wifi was not always available in the rooms. To my liking the rooms were a bit dark with small windows which you couldn't really open as they were coming out to the populated area of the property, but I guess it might depend on the room you are in. My room also did not have hot water which is not such a necessity for warm place like Santa Teresa but it would have been nice to have considering the room price. The common areas were very nice - there is a TV room upstairs where you can find good wifi signal and the pool which is large enough to swim with some lounge chairs around it. It is a perfect place to hang out and chat to the other tourists and the atmosphere was always very pleasant. You do find a lot of signs around the property with rules and regulations which was a bit over the top to my liking, kind of like school :) All in all a nice place to stay especially if you are there to surf and meet a lot of people.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chear_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I read about the hostel in Lonely Planet, so my wife and I stopped in and planned on staying for 3 nights (2 week vacation in CR). After the first day, we extended our reservation to 5 nights, because we absolutely loved it. The place is amazing, it's a close walk to the beach, the owners (Barbara and Martin) were super nice, and everyone there just had a great attitude. Martin even helped me plan a run to a beautiful view point (it was intense, some serious elevation gain). Breakfast was light - toast, jam, and coffee, but we always found ourselves content afterwards. We would surf in the morning (rented boards from the hostel), relax in the shade by the pool during the day, and go surfing again in the evening. Our fellow guests were great company, everyone was respectful, and we spent a few nights chatting over some beers (and I'm not the outgoing type). Don't forget to say high to Vica, one of the cutest puppies you will meet!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Tisbury, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Planned on a month long trip around Costa, but once we landed at this hostel, we never left. Easily spent 2+ weeks here, Barbra & Martin have worked tremendously hard to make this spot an oasis. Don't have to wander far from the hostel to find groceries- always a fun gathering in the kitchen after sunset, and after dinner movie & beverage sessions in the loft (they have a selection of good, updated free DVD rentals, just leave your ID at the front desk and borrow a movie), board rentals right here, easy walk to surf. Sure, they've got rules, but it keeps the rowdy crowd in-town, making the whole campus super chill and safe. Bring a small lock, each shared room has small lockers which is awesome for locking up your wallet & passport and hitting the beach with no worries!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
#15 of 33 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hostel Dos Monos
Hostel Dos Monos
#5 of 65 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuesta Arriba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuesta Arriba Hotel

Property: Cuesta Arriba Hotel
Address: 150 meters North From La Lora Amarilla, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cuesta Arriba Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial-style hotel surrounded by trees and tropical gardens with unique affordable rooms. The hotel features a communal kitchen,resting areas, hammocks and a sparkling pool in the landscaped garden. Complimentary coffee served at 8AM, free parking and Wireless is also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Cuesta Arriba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuesta Arriba Bed And Breakfast Hostel
Cuesta Arriba Hotel Santa Teresa
Cuesta Arriba Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing